We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Glen Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Glen Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

261 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Glen Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 240: English reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2016

we had booked (via booking.com) a room at this hotel three weeks before our trip in england and scotland. At 8:00 pm the night before our arrival to this hotel they sent us a message of cancellation because our credit card was not valid (It was indeed wrong). They have rebooked our room and the hotel was full ! Just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean Louis G
Badenochtraveller, Owner at The Glen Hotel, responded to this review

This reviewer is indeed correct - almost! They provided incorrect card details in order to secure the booking, they have confirmed this in their review. Booking.com tried twice and we tried twice to obtain correct card details - ONE WEEK prior to their arrival - including a phone call which the reviewer confirmed she received but ignored, without any success....

Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 August 2016

We had booked this hotel for one night and having read the reviews were fairly happy with our choice, however on arriving we were a little disappointed. The room was clean and the water was hot but it lacked something extra making it just an average room in an average hotel. We had our evening meal there. The menu was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alison k
Badenochtraveller, Owner at The Glen Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that this reviewer did not enjoy their stay at The Glen. The whole team strive very hard to provide all our guests with a comfortable stay but we cannot be 'all things to all people'. As can be seen by most of the reviews on this site, other reviewers have a different opinion of our...

Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 2 August 2016

touring the north family recommended this place and we were not disappointed. A small highland hotel with great character and service. our room was comforatble spotless and well appointed. the bar was well stocked and I was tempted to try one of the new boutique gins I know nothing about ( the trend has not reached Australia yet!) the barman...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2Eliza_12
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 July 2016

Very comfortable and friendly hotel. The staff were all extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The room was beautifully appointed and the bathroom had an excellent shower. The breakfast was cooked freshly each morning from a good choice of items and was accompanied by plenty of tea! We ate two evening meals in the bar and both were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank crayolp
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

We stopped here without nothing anything of the place. Nice hotel, very nice people working in. The room was nice and clean. We had some drinks in the terrace outside, nice meeting place for travellers. Very good beers, food no so special. Close to the hotel there is the folk museum, really nice for children.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ziofrenky
Reviewed 23 July 2016

my husband and I had a meal here it was absolutely beautiful the landlady landlord and staff were lovely too we stayed for the pub quiz and won 1st prize which was a bonus we only did it as a laugh also we were allowed to stay overnight in their car park with our motorhome faultless!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joyce P
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

We were en route to an AirBnB further north before it fell through at the last minute. Luckily we scored a room at the Glen Hotel. The room was on the smaller side, but the bed was huge and very comfortable. The pub below serves good hearty food and the drinks are reasonably priced. All in all, a pleasant stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Taelor P
Sydney
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights as a base for our highland sightseeing. Breakfast was included in the rate and had a lot of options. The staff were all lovely and very helpful, particularly in the bar where we ate dinner every night as it was both great food and convenient!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kam0706
Widnes
Reviewed 7 July 2016

This country hotel in Strathspey continues to maintain the high standards experienced in previous visits. Comfortable rooms, dining which is excellent value for money and a well stocked and friendly bar. The staff are pleasant and helpful. the hotel is ideally situated for touring the are around Aviemore and the Cairngorms

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charles M
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 July 2016

Staff at hotel were all very friendly. Our room (1) was clearly recently decorated and was very clean - the bed was very comfortable. Dinner, although took 45 minutes to arrive, was delicious (they were busy though). Breakfast was good and gluten free bread was provided without a problem. The only downside was the constant hum of an extractor fan...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ATrainer

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
1.3 km away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 4 in Newtonmore
605 reviews
5.3 km away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
300 reviews
4.5 km away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
409 reviews
30.4 km away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,179 reviews
22.6 km away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
The Glen Hotel Restaurant
The Glen Hotel Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This elegant Edwardian Hotel is located at the heart of the Scottish Highlands, the magnificent setting for the popular BBC series, 'Monarch of the Glen' which was filmed only a few miles away. Quite apart from the breathtaking scenery, lovers of outdoor pursuits are spoiled for choice the Monadhliath & Cairngorm Mountain Ranges lie nearby golfers can enjoy the diverse challenges at Newtonmore, Kingussie, Grantown-on-Spey & Boat of Garten and opportunities for walking, cycling, fishing and other activities are just too numerous to mention.All rooms offer satellite TV with 12 channels, tea/coffee making & are non-smoking. BT Sports is available in the games room downstairs.The Glen Hotel is a family run hotel which benefits from a high level of repeat business from both the tourist and commercial sectors.Our informal dining is 'good honest pub grub' and is widely accepted as being good value for money. In addition, we are one of the few establishments in Scotland to hold the prestigious 'Eat Safe' Award - your guarantee of safely prepared food served in an efficient manner.We have featured in the CAMRA Good Beer Guide for the past 9 years and we have been voted CAMRA 'Regional Pub of The Year' 5 times in the past 9 years.And you won't loose sleep either! Our beds have been replaced recently with those similar to what you would expect to find in a 4 or 5 star hotel and are complimented by luxurious Egyptian cotton sheets and superior quality duvets.If you want out door activities the we can help! Given a little notice then we can assist with organizing golf, shooting, fishing, mountain biking, riding and much, much more! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Glen Hotel

Address: Main Street, Newtonmore PH20 1DD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Newtonmore
Price Range: €60 - €90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Glen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Hotel Newtonmore
The Glen Hotel Newtonmore, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Glen Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Did not stay at the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles paulbrodie, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We were in room 9 which was lovely, but it overlooks the main street and had a few lorries going through in the early morning.”
 of 5 bubbles kariayam, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 3 is a bit noisy with the window open when the kitchen extractor is running.”
 of 5 bubbles GavinO275, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Avoid or be carefull”
 of 5 bubbles jeanlouisg379, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room at the front has a good view but is noisy due to traffic.”
 of 5 bubbles crayolp, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay