We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Glen Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Glen Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

267 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Glen Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 245: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Unless you like good service, good beer, good food, big comfy beds, an interesting place to wander around (look out for the wildcat trail) and mugs in the room and for your breakfast tea don't stay here! The kind of place we dream about staying, but seldom find.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BigH67
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

The Glen Hotel what a gem. Very good choice on the menu as well as a specials board, all tastes catered for. Meals we had were delicious and fulfilling. The bar was busy and we were able to walk in off the street. The hosts were attentive obviously had years of experience in this field. Tried their Cairngorms lager and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bedwyr L
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Stayed here for one night whilst travelling the west coast. Nice traditional hotel. The room was good, very clean and all facilities. The highlight was our visit to the bar. The place was very busy, full of locals eating, a good sign! The food was delicious. Lots of variety and seemed to be fresh local produce. The staff were friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin M
england
Reviewed 24 August 2016

We stayed here overnight in a room overlooking the main street and the hills beyond. The room was nicely furnished and the bed comfortable. The owners were very hospitable. We ate our evening meal in the restaurant and were pleased with the standard of food. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kariayam
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2016

This is a very friendly small hotel. Our room was very nice, if a little small for the furniture that had been squeezed in. The bed was large (two singles joined together) and really comfortable, with soft pillows and high-quality linen. The bedroom and bathroom had clearly been refitted quite recently and were well appointed. The bar doubles as the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gavin O
Reviewed 17 August 2016

we had booked (via booking.com) a room at this hotel three weeks before our trip in england and scotland. At 8:00 pm the night before our arrival to this hotel they sent us a message of cancellation because our credit card was not valid (It was indeed wrong). They have rebooked our room and the hotel was full ! Just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean Louis G
Badenochtraveller, Owner at The Glen Hotel, responded to this review

This reviewer is indeed correct - almost! They provided incorrect card details in order to secure the booking, they have confirmed this in their review. Booking.com tried twice and we tried twice to obtain correct card details - ONE WEEK prior to their arrival - including a phone call which the reviewer confirmed she received but ignored, without any success....

Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 August 2016

We had booked this hotel for one night and having read the reviews were fairly happy with our choice, however on arriving we were a little disappointed. The room was clean and the water was hot but it lacked something extra making it just an average room in an average hotel. We had our evening meal there. The menu was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alison k
Badenochtraveller, Owner at The Glen Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that this reviewer did not enjoy their stay at The Glen. The whole team strive very hard to provide all our guests with a comfortable stay but we cannot be 'all things to all people'. As can be seen by most of the reviews on this site, other reviewers have a different opinion of our...

Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 2 August 2016

touring the north family recommended this place and we were not disappointed. A small highland hotel with great character and service. our room was comforatble spotless and well appointed. the bar was well stocked and I was tempted to try one of the new boutique gins I know nothing about ( the trend has not reached Australia yet!) the barman...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2Eliza_12
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 July 2016

Very comfortable and friendly hotel. The staff were all extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The room was beautifully appointed and the bathroom had an excellent shower. The breakfast was cooked freshly each morning from a good choice of items and was accompanied by plenty of tea! We ate two evening meals in the bar and both were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank crayolp
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

We stopped here without nothing anything of the place. Nice hotel, very nice people working in. The room was nice and clean. We had some drinks in the terrace outside, nice meeting place for travellers. Very good beers, food no so special. Close to the hotel there is the folk museum, really nice for children.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ziofrenky

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
1.3 km away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 4 in Newtonmore
616 reviews
0.7 km away
Balavil Hotel
Balavil Hotel
#1 of 4 in Newtonmore
208 reviews
5.3 km away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.4 km away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,187 reviews
4.4 km away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
22.9 km away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
The Glen Hotel Restaurant
The Glen Hotel Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This elegant Edwardian Hotel is located at the heart of the Scottish Highlands, the magnificent setting for the popular BBC series, 'Monarch of the Glen' which was filmed only a few miles away. Quite apart from the breathtaking scenery, lovers of outdoor pursuits are spoiled for choice the Monadhliath & Cairngorm Mountain Ranges lie nearby golfers can enjoy the diverse challenges at Newtonmore, Kingussie, Grantown-on-Spey & Boat of Garten and opportunities for walking, cycling, fishing and other activities are just too numerous to mention.All rooms offer satellite TV with 12 channels, tea/coffee making & are non-smoking. BT Sports is available in the games room downstairs.The Glen Hotel is a family run hotel which benefits from a high level of repeat business from both the tourist and commercial sectors.Our informal dining is 'good honest pub grub' and is widely accepted as being good value for money. In addition, we are one of the few establishments in Scotland to hold the prestigious 'Eat Safe' Award - your guarantee of safely prepared food served in an efficient manner.We have featured in the CAMRA Good Beer Guide for the past 9 years and we have been voted CAMRA 'Regional Pub of The Year' 5 times in the past 9 years.And you won't loose sleep either! Our beds have been replaced recently with those similar to what you would expect to find in a 4 or 5 star hotel and are complimented by luxurious Egyptian cotton sheets and superior quality duvets.If you want out door activities the we can help! Given a little notice then we can assist with organizing golf, shooting, fishing, mountain biking, riding and much, much more! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Glen Hotel

Address: Main Street, Newtonmore PH20 1DD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Newtonmore
Price Range: €60 - €97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Glen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Hotel Newtonmore
The Glen Hotel Newtonmore, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Glen Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Did not stay at the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles paulbrodie, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We were in room 9 which was lovely, but it overlooks the main street and had a few lorries going through in the early morning.”
 of 5 bubbles kariayam, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 3 is a bit noisy with the window open when the kitchen extractor is running.”
 of 5 bubbles GavinO275, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Avoid or be carefull”
 of 5 bubbles jeanlouisg379, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room at the front has a good view but is noisy due to traffic.”
 of 5 bubbles crayolp, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay