We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Crubenbeg House

Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Crubenbeg House
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

168 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Crubenbeg House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 160: English reviews
Coalville, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We were making the long trip from the Midlands to Skye and broke the journey here. My brother in law had stayed there before and sang its praises so we decided to meet up there, before continuing our journey together. We could not have asked for a warmer welcome or more spacious accommodation--the shower room alone was bigger than many...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dave B
CrubenbegHouse, Owner at Crubenbeg House, responded to this review

Dave, it is good to hear from you and to read that you enjoyed your brief stay with us as much as you did. Thank you. We very much look forward to you keeping your promise. Cheers.

Dingwall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Had a lovey weekend break at the Crubenbeg house with John and Irene. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. Every area of the B&B was spotless and well kept. We stayed in the Osprey room, it was a nice size, very bright with lovely views over the hills. The bathroom was large and very...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LAMcIver
CrubenbegHouse, Owner at Crubenbeg House, responded to this review

LA, you're a darling, writing those kind words about your stay with us - thanks so much. We're delighted that you enjoyed it and thanks, too, for your words of advice to any folk thinking of staying with us who are not, perhaps, so comfortable as you are at having a dog or two around.

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Only stayed for the 1 night as we were meeting family elsewhere on the way back from a longer trip around Scotland. The different format I refer to is the "all guests eat round the 1 large table rather than individual smaller tables" and to be honest John and Irene get it work very well as it generates friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank gcdales
CrubenbegHouse, Owner at Crubenbeg House, responded to this review

G, you are too kind, thank you. It was great to get to look after Bobster and, of course, the two of you as well!! You know our motto - "Dogs we welcome, their well-behaved owners too!!"

Pembrokeshire
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We recently stayed with Irene and John and had a wonderful time. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. We had our two cocker spaniels with us,who were as welcome as we were, and we all felt thoroughly spoiled. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts and the breakfasts were superb! John kept us entertained with his many puns...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DragonSki
CrubenbegHouse, Owner at Crubenbeg House, responded to this review

Greetings dear Dragonski and thanks very much for taking the time to pen such kind words on our behalf. Rest assured, we very much enjoy looking after the 4 of you and the dog-sitting was an absolute pleasure. No apologies about the ouns, though - some of them were nearly (but not quite) as bad as yours!! Diolch.

Edinburgh
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed for two nights and the welcome we got from John and Irene was brilliant. They run a lovely b and b, the rooms and facilities are excellent. And the breakfasts are absolutely amazing, the best start for a day of exploring the Highlands. Will certainly be back!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gil293
CrubenbegHouse, Owner at Crubenbeg House, responded to this review

Gil, Grazzi. (The only Maltese word that I know!)

Itasca, Illinois
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Dear John and Irene: your kindness, your generosity, your enthusiasm . . . the lovely room (Stag), and the delicious breakfasts . . . and the excitement of being home to Scotland once more, made this the best adventure ever! Thank you! And thank you for the special touches: the loaner of the Wellies and thick, warm, tall socks on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DeeMcPherson
CrubenbegHouse, Owner at Crubenbeg House, responded to this review

Dee, may we express our gratitude that you've taken the time to transcribe on to Trip Advisor the lovely words you wrote in the card you left us. We are touched, thank you. Until next year.......

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We cannot say enough goods things about Crubenbeg and John & Irene. Hospitality was outstanding and Irene's cooking was the best! Crubenbeg is in a beautiful setting with magnificent views. We truly enjoyed our stay and hope to make it back one day.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bammls04
CrubenbegHouse, Owner at Crubenbeg House, responded to this review

You are too generous, kind sir. Thank you. Suffice to say that we hope you'll make it back here again too. Until that day, do keep well, won't you.

South Cumbria
Reviewed 12 July 2013

This was our 4th stay at Crubenbeg House and as always, everything was just perfect. The room, the peaceful environment, the wonderful food and of course, the friendliness and helpfulness of John and Irene (not forgetting their finishing touches which are so important and appreciated). Thanks again both!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JVSSouthCumbria
CrubenbegHouse, Owner at Crubenbeg House, responded to this review

How every kind of you to put "pen to paper" - with such nice words too. Thank you so much. Until your 5th visit, kindest regards.

Yorkshire
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Having stayed in a place before and marked it ten out of ten, you sometimes wonder if a repeat visit will be a disappointment. Not so with John and Irene - standards are still impeccably high and the food is excellent from the breakfast specials to the dinner. One of the things I really appreciate is that Crubenbeg has four...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RyedaleRambler
CrubenbegHouse, Owner at Crubenbeg House, responded to this review

Mr Ryedale, Thanks for taking the time to pen another review for us, we do appreciate it, I assure you. We do like to try to keep standards up to the level that our guests have come to expect, indeed, to improve them here and there too. It is reassuring to see that we seem to be doing just that....

Lutterworth
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This is a "must stay" B & B. The hosts John & Irene go out of their way to ensure every single aspect of your stay is 100%. The bedrooms are immaculate, beautifully furnished and very comfortable. The bathrooms are well equipped and spotless. The public rooms are superb. Irene's cooking is first rate. Dinner was excellent spent around the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pedrolutterworth
CrubenbegHouse, Owner at Crubenbeg House, responded to this review

Pedro, it may have taken you over 13 years since I took my leave of Lutterworth to get yourself up here but I am delighted that you did and that you enjoyed your stay too. Well done on your Lands End to John o'Groats Bike Ride - a magnificent achievement, may I say. Until next we meet, all the best.

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
7.0 km away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
286 reviews
7.9 km away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
654 reviews
10.9 km away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Highland Holiday Cottages
Highland Holiday Cottages
#1 of 6 in Newtonmore
355 reviews
4.5 km away
Tigh an Each
Tigh an Each
#9 of 13 in Newtonmore
15 reviews
6.6 km away
Coig Na Shee
Coig Na Shee
#3 of 13 in Newtonmore
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set amid stunning scenery, Crubenbeg House is a relaxing haven, ideally located for the many activities here in the Highlands of Scotland. Delightful, spacious bedrooms, a splendid lounge with crackling fire & fine wines, beers & malts all combine with a warm welcome to ensure that you enjoy your stay to the full. Lastly, our breakfasts. Home-baked bread, our own free-range eggs, kippers, local sausage, haggis & black pudding. Mmm! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crubenbeg House

Address: Crubenbeg House Falls of Truim, Newtonmore PH20 1BE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Newtonmore
Price Range: €73 - €90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Crubenbeg House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crubenbeg House Newtonmore, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Crubenbeg House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had the Stag room which was spacious and had a four poster bed and lovely views.”
john_selkirk, 12 May 2017 | Read review
“Four poster at front of house has large window to sit & watch red squirrels!”
Ralphsmum2014, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“all rooms are superb”
tiggi2shoes, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“There are different room options, suggest you discuss before arriving - eg: four-poster for a special treat”
danielcS9426XM, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There is a room on ground floor with disabled access”
M874DIhelenh, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
LateRooms.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates