We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Crubenbeg House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Crubenbeg House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Crubenbeg House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 158: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Most of the other reviews here say it all, but I must add our recommendation to stay with John and Irene. They are lovely people who obviously get a real buzz out of what they do and I can't thank them enough for a brilliant 2 night break. So good in fact we ended up staying 2 nights after only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BoaandBrenda
CrubenbegHouse, Owner at Crubenbeg House, responded to this review

" B and B", Your very kiind words about your recent stay with us are much appreciated, thank you. Such sentiments make what we do here at Crubenbeg so much more worthwhile. We very much enjoyed your company and are well pleased that you enjoyed your stay as much as you did. Until next we meet, thanks again for taking...

Reviewed 20 April 2014

From arrival to departure John and Irene made us feel truly welcome and looked after! They took us in with open arms and we got a great introduction to the area and the surroundings as of what to do and see. The B&B was very clean and great furnished. The hosts offered great breakfast options that suited our taste (me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette R
CrubenbegHouse, Owner at Crubenbeg House, responded to this review

Jeanette & Mick, many thanks indeed, for taking the time to pen your review about your stay with us. We enjoyed having you here and we are well pleased that the skiing went well too. We look forward to seeing you again soon and, of course, wish you both good luck for your Big Day in August. Thanks again, John.

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 24 February 2014

What a fantastic b&b! John and Irene are really nice people and make you feel so welcome. From the minute we arrived we were greeted with a smile and a laugh. Everything was excellent. The room was lovely and spacious. The bed was so comfortable if it wasn't for my alarm I would probably still be there!! Breakfast was amazing...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank champkis
CrubenbegHouse, Owner at Crubenbeg House, responded to this review

Dear Champkis, I have to say that we, too, enjoyed your stay with us, for which many thanks. It is very kind of you, taking the time to write this review. We would like to say that we couldn't agree more nor could we have put it better ourselves. But that would be very, very immodest of us wouldn't it?...

East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Just returned from 2 nights staying with John and Irene at their B & near Newtonmore. We had a lovely stay, great sized ensuite room with fab views (osprey). We brought Coco, our little Lhasso pup, who also enjoyed the grounds and all the attention. Great breakfasts, wide choice, certainly sets you up for the day. John and Irene are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
CrubenbegHouse, Owner at Crubenbeg House, responded to this review

Gary, Thanks for taking the time to pen your kind words - much appreciated. We enjoyed looking after the 3 of you, of that there is no doubt. You'll be pleased to know that new bed linen is on order - it will be in situ for our new season. All the very best.

Newport
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Once again John and Irene didn't disappoint. Last year we stayed 4 days but we had a 5 day stint this time. Again our room never had an ounce of dust present and it was so quiet, even though you can see the A9 in the distance. Our brekkie's were truly amazing, if you can manage a four course breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jason H
CrubenbegHouse, Owner at Crubenbeg House, responded to this review

J & A, Many thanks, as ever, for your extremely kind words, much appreciated. We are delighted that it is your good selves who had the "honour" of writing our 100th review on here. We suspect that you were hanging on - and hanging on!!! Looking forward to seeing you later this year. Until then, all the best & good...

Aalen, Germany
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The Crubenbeg House is spectacular. It was our last stop on a whirlwind roadtripping tour of Scotland and what a way to end it! John greeted us so sweetly and showed us (I traveled with my husband and another couple) around the building, joking with us and letting us know more information about our rooms and the area. He recommended...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Saniya423
CrubenbegHouse, Owner at Crubenbeg House, responded to this review

I have to say that we wish you'd been able to stay a little longer too, so much did we enjoy your comapny, thank you. Until next time.

Sutton coldfield
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and could not have been more pleased. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, John & Irene could not have been better hosts! Breakfasts were amazing with a menu list of 3 pages.....everything from porridge to a full Scottish breakfast via pancake stacks were on offer along with some quips from...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank recallrich
CrubenbegHouse, Owner at Crubenbeg House, responded to this review

Rich, It was such a pleasure helping West Bromwich beat Man Utd - a resukt that I don't think you were expecting!! If only I could put that magic power to good use o a regular basis, I could be a rich guy!! We're more than pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and it is so kind of...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 19 September 2013

the rooms are very nice, the couple that are the host are great!!! Will talk to you all night about everything. They care so much about their guest. Breakfast was very good each morning! Loved the large eating table and create conversation between everyone sitting at the table.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bolewis55
CrubenbegHouse, Owner at Crubenbeg House, responded to this review

Bo, you're a gent and a scholar, but I knew that even before I read your review, for which many thanks. Keep well, mon ami.

Coalville, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We were making the long trip from the Midlands to Skye and broke the journey here. My brother in law had stayed there before and sang its praises so we decided to meet up there, before continuing our journey together. We could not have asked for a warmer welcome or more spacious accommodation--the shower room alone was bigger than many...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dave B
CrubenbegHouse, Owner at Crubenbeg House, responded to this review

Dave, it is good to hear from you and to read that you enjoyed your brief stay with us as much as you did. Thank you. We very much look forward to you keeping your promise. Cheers.

Dingwall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Had a lovey weekend break at the Crubenbeg house with John and Irene. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. Every area of the B&B was spotless and well kept. We stayed in the Osprey room, it was a nice size, very bright with lovely views over the hills. The bathroom was large and very...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LAMcIver
CrubenbegHouse, Owner at Crubenbeg House, responded to this review

LA, you're a darling, writing those kind words about your stay with us - thanks so much. We're delighted that you enjoyed it and thanks, too, for your words of advice to any folk thinking of staying with us who are not, perhaps, so comfortable as you are at having a dog or two around.

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
7.0 km away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 4 in Newtonmore
280 reviews
7.9 km away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 4 in Newtonmore
643 reviews
10.9 km away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Highland Holiday Cottages
Highland Holiday Cottages
#1 of 6 in Newtonmore
350 reviews
4.5 km away
Tigh an Each
Tigh an Each
#9 of 14 in Newtonmore
15 reviews
6.6 km away
Coig Na Shee
Coig Na Shee
#2 of 14 in Newtonmore
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set amid stunning scenery, Crubenbeg House is a relaxing haven, ideally located for the many activities here in the Highlands of Scotland. Delightful, spacious bedrooms, a splendid lounge with crackling fire & fine wines, beers & malts all combine with a warm welcome to ensure that you enjoy your stay to the full. Lastly, our breakfasts. Home-baked bread, our own free-range eggs, kippers, local sausage, haggis & black pudding. Mmm! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crubenbeg House

Address: Crubenbeg House Falls of Truim, Newtonmore PH20 1BE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Newtonmore
Price Range: €68 - €87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Crubenbeg House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crubenbeg House Newtonmore, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Crubenbeg House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all rooms are superb”
tiggi2shoes, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“There are different room options, suggest you discuss before arriving - eg: four-poster for a special treat”
danielcS9426XM, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There is a room on ground floor with disabled access”
M874DIhelenh, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The ground floor room is ideal for disabled, and has an Accessable Bathroom”
hungrymidgetE, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Osprey was very roomy and had a lovely ensuite that included a soaking tub.”
gregoryn340, 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5