We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Forest View Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Forest View Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

258 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 257: English reviews
Bargoed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed there recently for our pearl wedding in room 2 with a river view,it was warm welcoming and the owners couldn't do enough to help even sorting out a charger for my wife's electric wheelchair. The fresh breakfast every morning was brilliant. I had a full English each morning but my wife varied from poached haddock ,smoked salmon to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marshal1066
Essex UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A friend and I visited for 4 nights on a fishing trip. This was my second visit (stayed the previous year) to the guest we found it relaxed and friendly with a great breakfast. There are amazing views down the valley from the breakfast room. Local scenery is breath taking. We were fishing the river Wye and found several places... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hawkwellian
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stefan and Jose and all staff were extremely friendly and pleasant, making the last leg of our honeymoon simply lovely. Even when we struggled getting the front door/key code correct one evening, Stefan was very accomodating and came to our rescue swiftly! The room was clean and pretty, with a lovely hot shower/bath, and a very very comfy bed. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank 800whitey
North Wales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Very friendly staff & most helpful. Clean and comfortable room. Breakfast was very nice, have as much or as little as you want. The location of this guest house is on the River Wye and the edge of the Forest of Dean, beautiful views from our room and the dining room.

Helpful?
Thank DEN56
Steffan H, Owner at Forest View Guest House, responded to this review

thank you so much for your glowing review it makes all the hard work myself and jose put into running this business very worth while Stefan More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2016

I decided to book a 3 night short break and used (for the first time) Booking.com. I knew I wanted to stay near or in Symonds Yat but had no knowledge of the area at all apart from people saying the Forest Of Dean was lovely. I found this guest house through Booking.com and then checked Trip Advisor for reviews,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Juicedrinker
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2016

The wonderful views are this guest house's USP. But it is also clean, comfortable, welcoming and very good value for money. The breakfast was excellent too. There are places to eat nearby and lovely walks too. We will definitely go again

Helpful?
Thank 681chris
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

I'll start with the good. The views are incredible but the whole valley is beautiful so every b+b is graced with that. Nothing else is particularly good. The food is edible but below average. There are so many rules it feels like your stay is there to serve the owners. The owner is rude and inflexible. I found this stay... More 

Helpful?
Thank andychesterbeckingha
Steffan H, Owner at Forest View Guest House, responded to this review

im sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us it might have been the fact that you actually took the mickey by leaving your car parked in our car park from check out untill 6pm without a word of thanks you were just going to drive off this makes me cross i tell you what send me your... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

This B&B is at the end of a small lane right beside the river - the views are wonderful. We had room 12, a large room so cosily furnished and a gorgeous bathroom. Jose and Stefan are so friendly and welcoming. Their breakfasts are superb, beautifully presented with superb service. We would heartily recommend Forest View.

Helpful?
Thank Radish285
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2016

We stayed here for a couple of nights, it was the best decision we have made in a long time. The location is fantastic. Our room overlooked the river Wye. It was breathtaking. Steve and Jose made us feel very welcome. Breakfast was very good and our room was spotless. We couldn't fault it all. We have booked for the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Richdebs186411
Steffan H, Owner at Forest View Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks Richard we really love when our guests get what we are doing and respond positively like you have it makes all our hard work we put into running a good business all the more worthwhile we love what we are doing and strive to make the business bigger and better More 

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2016

The guest house has the best views of the river Wye. It is very friendly and the breakfasts were excellent. Rooms are comfortable and very clean. There are some lovely walks and the area is truly breathtaking. Can't wait to return.

Helpful?
1 Thank Denise0608

129 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (96)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Symonds Yat
6.8 km away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
445 reviews
6.8 km away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
628 reviews
2.0 km away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
982 reviews
7.7 km away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
560 reviews
0.1 km away
The Royal Lodge
The Royal Lodge
#2 of 6 in Symonds Yat
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to our four star guest-house. Visitors will be treated to a breakfast of their choice; much needed after the multitude of outdoor activities available on the doorstep. From short breaks to long stays, Gill and John do their best to cater for individual needs to make each stay unforgettable double and twin rooms offer panoramic river views, so for those who haven't managed the cycling, kayaking, hiking, fishing or climbing, they can still appreciate the famous Three Countries View (Gloucestershire, Herefordshire and Monmouthshire) from the comfort of their room. Stunning bed and breakfast accommodation with panoramic views of the River Wye. Set in over an acre of beautiful gardens with lawns, shrubs and ornamental fish-pond. Total of eleven double bedrooms, all with en-suites. Licensed Bar,Free Wi-Fi Internet available. Conveniently located for Cheltenham, Chepstow, Gloucester, Hereford, Monmouth and Ross-on-Wye. Excellent road links to Cardiff and South Wales.Private parking. Pubs and restaurants within easy walking distance. Check-in time from 2.30pm, Check-out time is no later than 10.30am. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Forest View Guest House

Address: Symonds Yat East, Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Symonds Yat
Price Range: €69 - €116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Forest View Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Forest View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest View Guest House Hotel Symonds Yat
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Forest View Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Beverley, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Forest View Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It wasn't actually a harbour view but a river view but that wasn't a choice”
 of 5 bubbles Marshal1066, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Most rooms have a river view”
 of 5 bubbles Richdebs186411, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“River rooms are excellent”
 of 5 bubbles Denise0608, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the front and side have lovely views of River Wye”
 of 5 bubbles hopalong6845, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 6, good size with views and well decorated”
 of 5 bubbles 568lynnef, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay