We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Estr. Ilídio Lourenço, Alvor, Portimao 8500-053 Portugal
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$91
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/02/23
Booking.com
US$82
View deal
Hotels.com
travelup.comUS$118
TravelocityUS$91
Vio.comUS$82
View all 18 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (301)
Room & Suite (206)
Pool & Beach (57)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#3 of 29 hotels in Alvor
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

See why so many travellers make Luna Alvor Village their hotel of choice when visiting Alvor. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a charming setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

Guest rooms offer a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and air conditioning, and Alvor Village Hotel makes getting online easy as free wifi is available.

You can also take advantage of some of the amenities offered by the hotel, including 24 hour front desk, beach chairs, and sun umbrellas. In addition, guests can enjoy a pool and free breakfast during their visit. As an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

Nearby landmarks such as Church of Misericordia of Alvor (0.5 mi) and Church of Divino Salvador (0.5 mi) make Luna Alvor Village a great place to stay when visiting Alvor.

While in Alvor, you may want to check out some of the restaurants that are a short walk away from Alvor Village Hotel, including Restaurante Ruccula (0.6 mi), A Lota (0.6 mi), and Restaurante O Arco Da Velha (0.6 mi).

During your visit, be sure to check out Alvor Boardwalk (1.0 mi), which is a popular attraction within walking distance of the hotel.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Luna Alvor Village as you experience all of the things Alvor has to offer.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Game room
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Street parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Water park offsite
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Dining area
Housekeeping
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Iron
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Portuguese
645Reviews101Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 330
  • 233
  • 58
  • 14
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Kazzyclarke wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
The Pelican Alvor is a very clean hotel with spacious modern apartments equipped with everything you could possibly need. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment and my father inlaw stayed in a studio apartment. Both were very clean and as shown in pictures on website. We were bed and breakfast. Breakfast is good with enough choice - hot cooked items sausage/bacon, fried eggs, scrambled eggs beans, mushrooms. Also cakes, pancakes, fruit and yoghurt, cold meat, cheese, toast, hot and cold drinks. It is about a 15 minute walk down hill to the main area of Alvor where there are lots of fantastic places to eat and drink. A taxi home was 5 euros (tended to do this late at night as uphill walk home. We had lunch at the Pelican a couple of times - toasties, burgers, chips etc. The pool area is nice. The hotel was quiet in October so it was not a problem getting a Sunbed although we had to wait every morning for the beds to dry from the dew - took until about 11am. The swimming pool water was also very cold and I was the only one in our party of 4 who could brave it. The main negative for us was that the pool bar often didn’t open and when it did it wasn’t well stocked with ice lollies etc. one day there was music playing and then the next two days it remained closed. This meant a lack of atmosphere and could become a bit boring. There is a great supermarket near by to stock up. Staff on the whole were friendly and helpful. Would definitely go back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HOTEL PELICAN ALVOR - Frontier, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at Pelican Alvor
Responded 28 Oct 2022
Dear Kazzyclarke, We received your comment which made us very happy and we thank you, we realized that you spent a wonderful holiday in our company, being the highlight for the fantastic apartments that Pelican has to be able to provide our guests with all the comfort and quality they deserve. All our staff works with a full heart to welcome our guests and it is a pleasure to welcome them all. We appreciate your kind words and reciprocate. We'll count on you next time. Follow our campaigns. See you soon. Pelican Alvor
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Aoife C wrote a review Oct 2022
Dublin, Ireland6 contributions5 helpful votes
My partner and I visited the Pelican in October for 8 days. We chose the Pelican over other hotels due to the kitchenette feature and the larger bedroom. The hotel was really clean and the bedroom very large. The rooms are a little dated with Rips in curtains and shabby walls etc but it didn't bother us as it was such good value for money. I would not pay extra for breakfast to be honest, the hot food is not the nicest but they had a good range of pastries. Overall really great value and lovely staff.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HOTEL PELICAN ALVOR - Frontier, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at Pelican Alvor
Responded 28 Oct 2022
Dear Aoifec we received your comment which we thanked and made us very happy because we realized that your stay was fantastic in our company with emphasis on our wonderful apartments super well equipped and large. Your suggestion to us is very important as it helps us grow and improve. We're going to get him back. Follow our campaigns and see you soon. Pelican Alvor
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Night-train88 wrote a review Oct 2022
Saintfield, United Kingdom108 contributions83 helpful votes
+1
My wife and I along with her Sister and husband stayed a week here at the end of September/October. We were all very impressed with Pelican Alvor … from the minute we arrived until we left we all felt this was an excellent place to stay. The rooms are very big, clean and really you couldn’t ask for more. Staff were all lovely. Breakfast was great too! Not beside the beach but pool and all amenities were not more than a short walk away. It was very quiet which suited us perfectly. I would have no hesitation in staying here again and indeed probably will as we all love the peace and tranquility of Alvor.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HOTEL PELICAN ALVOR - Frontier, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at Pelican Alvor
Responded 28 Oct 2022
Dear Night train 88 , It was with great pleasure that we received your comment, which we thank you for now. We found that you had a fantastic vacation in our company and that Pelican was up to your expectations. The Pelican excels for cleanliness and comfort in general so that our guests have a perfect stay with the quality they are deserving of. Our staff works daily with a heart and commitment to make guests feel at home. Our staff appreciates your kind words and reciprocates. We're going to get them back. Follow our offers and campaigns. See you soon. Pelican Alvor
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
EamsBarr wrote a review Oct 2022
Belfast, United Kingdom41 contributions16 helpful votes
Stayed in Pelican recently for 11 nights & would highly recommend this hotel! Staff were very friendly & helpful. The hotel is extremely clean. It’s a 10 minute walk into town. The pool area is a great size & well maintained. Would highly recommend this hotel & we will definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HOTEL PELICAN ALVOR - Frontier, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at Pelican Alvor
Responded 21 Oct 2022
Dear EamsBarr, we receive your comment which we thank and find that you had an excellent stay in our company with emphasis on our magnificent swimming pool and the excellent cleaning of the Pelican. Our staff work daily with a full heart to provide our guests with a welcoming atmosphere and to make them feel at home. We're going to get it back. Follow our campaigns and see you soon. Pelican Alvor
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The UK Zoo Keeper wrote a review Oct 2022
Rotherham, United Kingdom5 contributions4 helpful votes
Lovely property perfectly situated to be quiet, but close enough to the village, harbour and beaches. The rooms are amazing, as is the breakfast buffet. The pool is great, if a little cold! Although everybody gets a notice on checking in that reserving sun loungers at the pool is not permitted, there's always the selfish idiots down there at 8am dropping off a towel on an empty one. If the staff could maybe just manage that, it would be nicer for everybody. The room balconies are huge and the pool views are stunning, especially at night. Free wi-fi works very well and is a much appreciated service.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Our ground floor studio with pool view was amazing.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HOTEL PELICAN ALVOR - Frontier, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at Pelican Alvor
Responded 21 Oct 2022
Dear TheuKzookeeper, received your comment which we thanked and realized that you had a fabulous vacation in our company and that Pelican was meeting your expectations. Our wonderful apartments allow our guests to enjoy all the comfort and quality they deserve. Our delicious breakfast is always made with fresh and quality products. Your suggestion will be taken into account. We're going to get him back at the Pelican. Follow our offers and campaigns and see you soon. Pelican Alvor
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PM121 wrote a review Oct 2022
Dublin, Ireland33 contributions29 helpful votes
Stayed for 10 days in Sept with my wife. For the most part, very happy with our stay. Hotel is very nice and the staff are all very friendly & helpful. Only area, we were unhappy with was the pool. Pool itself, there is no issue with. However, There was not enough parasols around the pool area & I would also guess that there may not be enough sun loungers to meet demand if it was very busy. There was also the issue of people leaving towels on sun loungers from very early morning in order to secure heir spot for the day. There was signs up stating this was not permitted but as usual, they were ignored. This is very frustrating & we did bring it to the attention of staff. We were told towels are removed after half an hour but in our time there only saw towels removed twice & only after complaints. The parasol issue was also a major problem for us as we do like to have the option of shade when it gets hot. Reception did say they had some broken during the summer and were awaiting repairs or replacements. Fair enough but, not much good to us. Perhaps buying or renting some on a temporary basis while waiting would be a good idea. Unfortunately, I would have to say that the issues around the pool would stop us returning to what is an otherwise very good Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HOTEL PELICAN ALVOR - Frontier, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at Pelican Alvor
Responded 5 Oct 2022
Dear PM121, we received your comment which we thank and made us very happy because we realized that we had a fantastic stay in our company with emphasis on our wonderful apartments super well equipped and with all the comfort and quality that our guests deserve. We regret the fact that there are not enough sun loungers and appreciate your suggestion that we will take into consideration. We therefore expect this situation not to be an obstacle to visiting us next time which we would like very much and would be very welcome. Follow our offers and campaigns and see you soon. Pelican Alvor
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shiv wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
+1
Recently returned from a wonderful 8 night stay in the Pelican Alvor (Sept 22). It’s the perfect location if you like a relaxed, friendly environment away from hustle & bustle yet within walking distance (10 mins) or a short taxi (€4-€5) to Alvor. The staff were all extremely friendly and so helpful, always smiling & went out of their way to ensure we had a most enjoyable stay. I would like to give Suzanna and Iuri a special mention as they both really looked after us so well throughout our stay. We stayed in a superior 2 bed apt with pool view and it was excellent. Very spacious & well equipped with a massive outdoor terrace. Would recommend getting a room with pool view. We had lunch at the bar on a number of occasions - good quality & great value. There is a supermarket within 5 mins walk which we found very handy & well stocked. There was live music once a week which we really enjoyed. We would definitely recommend Pelican Alvor to family & friends and look forward to returning ourselves!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Book a room with pool view!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HOTEL PELICAN ALVOR - Frontier, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at Pelican Alvor
Responded 5 Oct 2022
DearShiv , It was with great pleasure that we received your comment, which we thank you for now. We found that you had a fantastic vacation in our company and that Pelican was up to your expectations. The Pelican excels for cleanliness and comfort in general so that our guests have a perfect stay with the quality they are deserving of. Our staff works daily with a heart and commitment to make guests feel at home. Our staff appreciates your kind words and reciprocates. We're going to get them back. Follow our offers and campaigns. See you soon. Pelican Alvor
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mrcolin2016 wrote a review Sep 2022
Glasgow, United Kingdom5 contributions4 helpful votes
We have previously stayed in this hotel when it was the Luna Alvor Village and thought that we would visit again this year as a stop off before moving on to an apartment that we had booked. Susanna on the desk made us feel very welcome and was at pains to make sure that our stay was pleasant. We were permitted access to our room about 4 hours early which was perfect for us and the room was immaculately clean with a lovely balcony overlooking the pool area and parts of Alvor. There have been some subtle changes around the hotel, notably the breakfast area which offered a wide selection of foods and also catered for my wife who is Coeliac and cannot eat wheat or gluten. The foyer is very minimal with couches here and there but my feeling is that the new owners are slowly working to bring this hotel up to a great standard and I wish them well. Only one small issue and that was what appeared to be a small leak of some kind under the bath and we reported it when leaving next day and the gentleman on the reception desk told us that he would have someone look at it. It's a little bit out of town but benefits from being very quiet in the evenings. I will definitely visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Worthwhile paying a little extra to get a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HOTEL PELICAN ALVOR - Frontier, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at Pelican Alvor
Responded 1 Oct 2022
Dear Mrcolin,, We received your comment and thank you, made us very happy because we found that we had a wonderful stay in our company with special emphasis on our fantastic apartments super well equipped and always with an exemplary cleaning. Our staff thanks and reciprocates your kind words.Our concern is always our guests, because they deserve the best. We will always be at your disposal and we count on receiving them again. Follow our offers and campaigns. See you soon. Pelican Alvor
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stephen B wrote a review Sep 2022
Chatham, United Kingdom19 contributions9 helpful votes
We had a wonderful stay at the Pelican Alvor. Our room was ready before the scheduled time which got our holiday off to a great start. Our room was very comfortable and had everything we needed to make our stay enjoyable. We had breakfast every morning which had a great variety and was a very relaxing start to our day. The staff at the hotel were very cheerful and helpful and are a credit to the hotel and were always happy to chat and make sure we were enjoying our stay. Thank you for an excellent holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HOTEL PELICAN ALVOR - Frontier, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at Pelican Alvor
Responded 22 Sep 2022
Dear Stephen received your comment which we thanked and realized that you had a fabulous vacation in our company and that Pelican was meeting your expectations. Our wonderful apartments allow our guests to enjoy all the comfort and quality they deserve. Our delicious breakfast is always made with fresh and quality products. Our staff appreciates your kind words and reciprocates. We all work with a heart and commitment to make our guests always feel welcome. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again. Follow our offers and campaigns and see you soon. Pelican Alvor
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Emma M wrote a review Aug 2022
Northampton, United Kingdom5 contributions2 helpful votes
Great accommodation. We stayed in a 2-bed room booked as also had a Hot Tub except when we arrived the Hot Tub was there but no longer was able to be used which was a total shame. The hotel was very apologetic and compensated us. The pool area is lovely and great as has a bar too playing music BUT there are not enough beds and fighting for them from very early in the morning happened every day. The beds when you could get one though were lovely! Such a shame as there was so much more room for sunbeds and the hotel had a huge cupboard with lots more stored in there! Only a 15-minute walk into Alvor which was great! The food in the hotel was really good and very reasonable too. Rooms need plugs near mirrors as there are not any!!! Rooms also need s dustpan and brush as very hard to do any tidying up as nothing to use which is a little odd for self-catering. All in all we had a great time though!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HOTEL PELICAN ALVOR - Frontier, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at Pelican Alvor
Responded 3 Sep 2022
Dear Emma, received your comment which we thank and found that pelican was meeting your expectations and that had a magn ificent vacation in our company with emphasis on the wonderful area of the pool where our guests can relax with the highest quality. Our food is always made with the best products and quality. Your suggestion to add beds in the pool as well as some details in the room will be taken into consideration. We're going to get it back. Follow our offers and campaigns and see you soon. Pelican Alvor
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$81 - US$130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
alvor village hotel alvor, village hotel alvor
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Luna Alvor Village
LOCATION
PortugalAlgarveFaro DistrictPortimaoAlvor
NUMBER OF ROOMS
46
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PELICAN ALVOR - Now €67 (Was €̶1̶0̶0̶) - UPDATED 2022 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Portugal) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Pelican Alvor
Which popular attractions are close to Pelican Alvor?
Nearby attractions include Sunset Bar (1.0 km), Golfland (0.6 km), and Mourisco Cocktail Bar (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Pelican Alvor?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Pelican Alvor?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Pelican Alvor?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Pelican Alvor?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Pelican Alvor?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ristorante Pizzeria Napoli, Tasty Cuisine, and Indian Garden.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Pelican Alvor?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Pelican Alvor located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Alvor.
Are any cleaning services offered at Pelican Alvor?
Yes, laundry service and a washing machine are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Pelican Alvor?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Pelican Alvor?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Castelo de Alvor (0.9 km).