We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Heritage Hanmer Springs

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Heritage Hanmer Springs
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

647 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Heritage Hanmer Springs
See the most recent reviews
Showing 634: English reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is just a short walk from the pools and the shops.We stayed in one of the upstairs rooms and could hear people in the room next door sometimes, so next time we will stay in one of the garden rooms. Had to walk up lots of stairs as there is no lift. The rooms were okay and had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica D
duncanmackenzie-GM, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear Jessica D Thanks for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate your feedback because it helps us to maintain and improve the services we offer. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Duncan Mackenzie General Manager

Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the Heritage the week before Xmas for one night on our way up to Nelson. Beautiful 2 bedroom villa. Extremely spacious with everything you could need! Location is in a beautiful spot - amazing views of the on site pond and mountains in the distance. Property itself is starting to look a little dated but having said...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Queenstowngirl
duncanmackenzie-GM, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear Queenstowngirl Thanks for posting a review on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate your feedback because it helps us to maintain and improve the services we offer. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope you had a good trip home. Best regards, Duncan Mackenzie General Manager

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Was very excited to stay at this hotel and it was nice. However, the front desk staff were not very helpful and were somewhat rude. When we checked in we could not even find someone at the front desk. Flies in the room were also a problem as the windows seem to be opened during cleaning - letting flies in-...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
duncanmackenzie-GM, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear Susan S Thanks for posting a review on Tripadvisor. I apologise for the delay in replying. We really appreciate your feedback because it helps us to maintain and improve the services we offer. Thank you for bringing the issue with the flies in the room to our attention. We have amended our housekeeping procedures to make sure this does...

Fountain Hills, Arizona
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

great location, 2 minute walk from the hot spring bath. Hotel provides towels. Just walk over there and enjoy. Hotel is okay. No lift. Rooms were good, all well appointed. Restaurant apparently good, we didn't try it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dieteraz
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear dieteraz Thanks for posting a review on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate your feedback because it helps us to maintain and improve the services we offer. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Duncan Mackenzie General Manager

Christchurch
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The room was clean and staff great in the hotel. Thanks. However we opted to stay here because there was a restaurant on site however we couldn't get in because of a massive group. Very disappointing. We went for breakfast and the waitress could hardly understand us and the food was average. Would stay in the hotel again but avoid...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SamJohns J
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear SamJohns J Thanks for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate your feedback because it helps us to maintain and improve the services we offer. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay overall but are disappointed that we didn’t meet your expectations for restaurant service at breakfast. I have spoken to the Food...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having booked other accommodation in Hanmer for a weekend conference, only to find out 2 weeks prior to the event that they had double booked us, we scrambled to find other accommodation, as delegates had already paid for flights and rental cars from around NZ. The Heritage was absolutely fantastic in accommodating us at such short notice. They even sent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kiwicrusader2016
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear kiwicrusader2016 Thanks for posting a review on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate your feedback because it helps us to maintain and improve the services we offer. We are delighted that we were able to help you out of a difficult situation. Thanks so much for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Duncan Mackenzie General...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely hotel in the centre of the village; close to everything. Good check-in, check-out process; staff very friendly and helpful. The room was a little small, but had a king bed and other furniture so a bit hard to gauge the true size (they should remove one of the large armchairs and the table to free up space in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kazzb2016
duncanmackenzie-GM, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear kazzb2016 Thanks for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate your feedback because it helps us to maintain and improve the services we offer. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us overall. Thank you for your suggestions about how we can improve the layout in our rooms. We are currently looking...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We (4 adults) really enjoyed our overnight stay. Location is perfect and the rooms we had (2rooms) were both nicely appointed. Manager Kurt was extremely obliging and very friendly which we really appreciated. The Toblerone Cocktail is divine!! We would highly recommend the Heritage Hamner Springs and hope to return sometime! Many thanks Heritage!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnFrahols
duncanmackenzie-GM, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear AnFrahols Thanks for posting a review on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate your feedback because it helps us to maintain and improve the services we offer. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you so much for your positive feedback about Kurt's service - I will make sure that Kurt gets the proper recognition for his...

Australia
Reviewed 18 March 2017

The Heritage Hamner Springs is well located in walking distance to everything in town including the hot springs. Staff were friendly and helpful. Travelling with friends we had a 3 bedroom villa on the lake. Beautiful grounds and views. The villa was clean and tidy, mildly outdated but still very comfortable. Full kitchen, heating in the main living areas (which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DomAustralia
duncanmackenzie-GM, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear DomAustralia Thanks for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate your feedback because it helps us to maintain and improve the services we offer. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and Hanmer Springs in general. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope you had a good trip home. Best...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 18 March 2017

We made our booking over a year and and upon arrival were told there is a wedding on and we were advised by email. At first we thought fair enough its a hotel they can cater for the wedding and the tourists. We soon worked out that because of the wedding we basically no access to the hotel facilities. On...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TroyHartzer
duncanmackenzie-GM, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear TroyHartzer Thanks for posting a review on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate your feedback. We are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. In normal circumstances wedding ceremonies are held outside in fine weather and normal restaurant and bar service is available to all hotels. Due to the wet weather, the wedding ceremony had to be...

134 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (112)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.2 km away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
446 reviews
1.0 km away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
282 reviews
0.2 km away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
286 reviews
0.5 km away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
582 reviews
1.7 km away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Isobel's Hanmer Springs Restaurant
Isobel's Hanmer Springs Restaurant
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Tennis Court
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just 90 minutes from Christchurch, Hanmer Springs is the perfect place to escape the pressure of the city and relax in the natural beauty of the Southern Alps. The Heritage Hanmer Springs is a landmark hotel in the heart of Hanmer Springs Village, just a short stroll from the shops and the famous Thermal Pools. Nestled in 9 hectares of beautifully landscaped gardens, the historic Hanmer Lodge building offers the perfect retreat from the stress of modern life. Relax and enjoy the peaceful outdoor setting that the hotel provides, including our tennis court and outdoor swimming pool (seasonal). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Heritage Hanmer Springs

Address: 1 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Price Range: €97 - €182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Hanmer Springs 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritage Hanmer Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hanmer Springs Hotel Hanmer Springs
Hanmer Springs Heritage
Heritage Hotel Hanmer Springs
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Heritage Hanmer Springs staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Metro Manila, Philippines
Ballarat Victoria Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Heritage Hanmer Springs staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“For independence choose a garden room.”
orangeNewZealand, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Check that the room is not above the ballroom if you are staying over the weekend”
mirandas450, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Depends on whether one wants garden or street view and of course, superior or Deluxe.”
AnFrahols, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The villas have a lovely outlook.”
DomAustralia, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't come here, If they book a wedding you will have hardly any access to facilities and restaurants for 2 days.”
TroyHartzer, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5