We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Huntsman Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Huntsman Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

490 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Huntsman Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 490: English reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

Excellent afternoon meal and overnight stay. Rooms lovely and very clean food very good. The manager and staff faultless. Very helpful, warm and friendly. Prices so reasonable we can't wait to go back. Disappointed that I couldn't find anything to complain about except the choice of tea bags in the room. I have very high expectations which were met in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joanne L
Stewie79, General Manager at The Huntsman Inn, responded to this review

I'm thrilled you couldn't find anything to complain about because our expectations of the team are also very high when it comes to looking after our guests. Thanks for a brilliant review and we hope you will be back to soon to sample some northern hospitality.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 January 2017

We stopped here after taking our children out walking over the moors for a quick bite to eat and some refreshments. We ate in the garden around the back and it was so peaceful. The home-made cheese and onion pie was excellent and we will definitely be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
Stewie79, General Manager at The Huntsman Inn, responded to this review

that's brilliant, thank you for taking the time to leave such great feedback we don't get much sun up here but when we do its glorious in our garden.

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed at the inn in one of their superior family rooms. This was very nicely decorated and overlooked the moors. Staff very helpful. Breakfast was very nice and plentiful. Only one disappointment, felt that the bar area could have more homely touches and made more cosy. Looked tired and needing a bit of a makeover.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
Stewie79, General Manager at The Huntsman Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for this brilliant feedback, and we are undertaking a huge refurbishment in the next financial to update the bar and restaurant so hopefully on your next visit you will be suitably impressed.

Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

The last time i was here was june 2016 when i was slightly disappointed with the Huntsman. So we decided to go again and i can honestly say i was impressed with the food and staff especially Lewis who made us feel welcome and kept the fire blazing (it was snowing outside) nice lad. So glad i went will return...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise L
Stewie79, General Manager at The Huntsman Inn, responded to this review

That's brilliant, really glad we managed to turn you around after the disappointment of the previous visit, we are aware we sometimes get it wrong (thankfully it's a rarity) but it's great to be able to put thgings right.

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed for the wine and dine deal which included dinner, breakfast and the room. The room was absolutely gorgeous with the most amazing views, comfy bed and lovely touches like a cafetière instead of the usual small packets of instant coffee. We had a slight problem with our meal but was compensated by the team for it so can't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SophieJD2014
Stewie79, General Manager at The Huntsman Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving such a positive review, we will hopefully see you again soon.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2017

I stayed here last night and was impressed. The staff were great, nothing was too much trouble. Dinner was delicious too. Good home cooked food. The steak pie was amazing! My only complaint would be the lighting in the bedroom and bathroom. It was a bit dark, not ideal when you are trying to put make up on.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Slg81
Stewie79, General Manager at The Huntsman Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for a good review, I agree the steak pie is amazing !! I will definitely look into the lighting in the bedrooms for you.

Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2017

I paid £65 per head and £35 per child and to be fair wasn't very impressed. Prior to the meal (2 month), we noticed that the menu was too fancy for my 5 yr old nephew and 10yr old niece. When we asked for alternatives we were told that the starter would be garlic bread and dessert ice cream!! I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jamie L
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Visited on boxing day with my wife. Food was average, I had the fish and chips, my wife had the steak and ale pie, both were accompanied with mushy peas - burn't mushy peas to be more accurate. This was mentioned to a member of staff, I would normally expect some kind of gesture under these circumstance or at least...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul A
Stewie79, General Manager at The Huntsman Inn, responded to this review

Obviously I'm bitterly disappointed that this was your experience, we usually receive great reviews for our food and attentive service but we accept mistakes can happen and I can only apologise, if you would like to discuss further please don't hesitate to contact me at The huntsman.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2017

A real family atmosphere and a very friendly welcome for our first Christmas away from home. The family room was large with a separate area with a double bed and three singles in the outer room which was perfect. The en-suite and additional facilities made this perfect refuge. The food was excellent and Christmas dinner was superb. The staff did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Burnrake
Stewie79, General Manager at The Huntsman Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for this lovely review and thrilled you had a great Christmas with us. hopefully see you again soon.

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2017

Never did I expect this hotel to be so nice. The rooms are immaculate.the breakfast is excellent. The staff are very friendly. Will definitely be visiting this hotel again . The pub is also cosy and welcoming with a lovely variety of meals available.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank helenpockets
Stewie79, General Manager at The Huntsman Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this great review, hopefully we will se you again soon now that you have found us.

95 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (13)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmfirth
3.6 km away
Old Bridge Inn
Old Bridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Holmfirth
718 reviews
2.4 km away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
500 reviews
8.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
#11 of 17 in Huddersfield
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse
3.2 km away
Coddy's Farm
Coddy's Farm
#2 of 12 in Holmfirth
144 reviews
3.6 km away
The Rooms at the Nook
The Rooms at the Nook
#5 of 12 in Holmfirth
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about The Huntsman Inn

Address: Greenfield Road, Holmfirth HD9 3XF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Holmfirth
Price Range: €74 - €127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Huntsman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Huntsman Hotel Holmfirth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Huntsman Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Huntsman Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are very comfortable most have some stunning views across the moors”
 of 5 bubbles Burnrake, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms have nice views as hotel is not over looked front or back”
 of 5 bubbles 390anita, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“all rooms have a gorgeous view.”
 of 5 bubbles janes516, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Choose room with a view”
 of 5 bubbles 780amandac, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 9 at side of hotel, away from road, and had fantastic views.”
 of 5 bubbles 100gremlin, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5