We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Black Swan Hotel

Booking.comUS$141*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Black Swan Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,469 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 1,467: English reviews
Start your review of The Black Swan Hotel
 Click to rate
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great hotel but a little tired and in need of some refurb in the lounge area. Food is excellent albeit a limited lunchtime menu in our view. In the evening the menu is more focused on fine dining , with tasting menu etc which unfortunately is not for us mainly because we have to watch our food but will certainly...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank _gd_affleck
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Love the hotel the room were beautiful and great location but the service in the restaurant was bad as it tuck so long to get courses wouldn't recommend going there because of the service. Our resavition was for 7:15 but we didn't get out till 11:30 ish. I also found it odd we were supposed to get canopies wile we...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank cass80
Huddersfield
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Really great hotel. Stayed at quite a few nice hotels and this is certainly one of the best. Great relaxing and comfortable atmosphere in the room. Brilliant view out onto the gardens. I think we got a last minute deal but for what we got the price was very reasonable.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raymond H
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Centrally located in Hemsley. The service offered by the 'team' who we dealt with was exemplary. We stayed for only one night plus evening meal in restaurant. Rooms a little smaller than in some modern hotels (it is a very old building but with much charm and very snug and did not bother us). That minor deficiency is more than...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jim W
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had a 2 night stay, which included the 7 course tasting menu. The food in the evenings, was the best we tasted, I would request a room at the back of the hotel, I found the noise from traffic, (in the morning was quite loud)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 470phillips
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great location however rooms rates are too far much for the rooms provided which are very dated. Bathroom tap didn't off and was very noisy. The rather plain corridors smelt like a sanitarium. All in all I won't be returning.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 113taniad
Crieff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

One night stop, lovely room, peaceful and comfortable. Didn't eat, due to other arrangements, but enjoyed a drink in the bar. Will stay longer next time! Staff were very helpful and attentive, which was appreciated, especially at the end of what had been a busy holiday weekend for them.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Z9196YFbriank
Black_Swan_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Z9196YFbriank, We're so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay at the hotel and thank you for your kind words regarding the staff - we shall look forward to seeing you again soon.

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Absolutely terrible staff attitude- booked a deal to include afternoon tea on the phone as per their website offer- staff confirmed and arranged time for tea & evening meal However reception staff and duty manager refused to include the afternoon tea and although we tried to agree a compromise they wouldn't honour and even debited my credit card with an...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steviep102
Black_Swan_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Steviep102, You state above that you booked over the phone, but you actually booked via Booking.com. You booked Dinner, Bed & Breakfast at a price of £259.00, and you received automatic confirmation from Booking.com stating this as well as from the hotel directly. You cannot book any special offers on Booking.com as we only offer standard Dinner, Bed &...

Cambs
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We recently stayed at the Black Swan for our first wedding anniversary, and were not disappointed. We were warmly welcomed on arrival with a personalised service, including a happy wedding anniversary card and gifts in the bedroom. Service in the restaurant was attentive while still being relaxed which created a perfect ambience to enjoy the quality food. Our bedroom was...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shieldsmp
Black_Swan_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Shieldsmp, Congratulations again on your 1st anniversary! Thank you so much for your lovely comments, we're delighted to hear you both had such an enjoyable stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Only a one nighter but everything was great. We were in a Classic room and it had recently been refurbished, to quite a high standard. The room was of a good size (a lot of steps to get to it though) it had all new furniture with plenty of drawers, cupboards, wardrobe space and lots of electric sockets. There is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MFD001
Black_Swan_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MFD001, We're so pleased that you had a great time and enjoyed all aspects of your stay, from the excellent room to the food and well trained staff. Thank you for taking the time to review your visit and we hope to see you again soon.

259 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (238)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (124)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.1 km away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
0.1 km away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
647 reviews
0.1 km away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 km away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
649 reviews
37.7 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,946 reviews
35.2 km away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in one of Yorkshire's prettiest market towns, The Black Swan in Helmsley is a superb historic inn, turned boutique hotel. Dating back to the C15th the hotel, rich in history and charm, blends antiques with classic contemporary design creating the perfect place for a relaxing break. With its own 3 AA rosette restaurant and award winning tearoom, The Black Swan Hotel provides the perfect backdrop for a romantic getaway and a chance to escape the everyday stresses and strains. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Black Swan Hotel

Address: Market Place, Helmsley YO62 5BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Price Range: €129 - €329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Black Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Black Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Swan Helmsley
Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel Helmsley, North Yorkshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Black Swan Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Saltaire, United Kingdom
8 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Black Swan Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Characteristic, charming, cosy, complete and spacious bathroom, all the necessary modern amenities, and helpful and friendly staff.”
E7012RCsarad, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't bother”
link2od, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The feature rooms have a lovely view of the market square.”
bribar72, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the front can be noisy if the hotel is busy”
792karen, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“never stayed so don't know just had the Afternoon Tea”
angjohnson, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$141* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$141
Expedia.comUS$141
Orbitz.comUS$141
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates