We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,265 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,264: English reviews
York, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 November 2014 via mobile

I recently came here with my friend for the Takes Two spa day in the Verbena Spa. The hotel is absolutely gorgeous, and the staff at the Spa were brilliant. The hot stone massage, foot massage and facial were some off the best treatments I have ever had and all of the facilities in the spa were excellent. They don't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel7896
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Verbena Spa for your recent Spa Day, we are so pleased that you found the Spa team to be “brilliant” and that you enjoyed your treatments. We were sorry to read that you did not get attentive service with your lunch and your cocktail later in the bar. The hotel’s Operations Manager has been informed...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 November 2014

We have just returned from a nights stay at the Feversham as a birthday treat. We had the food lovers package which, although not cheap felt like good value for money. We had the taster menu in the restaurant with accompanying wines, which was great fun. The service from everyone we came into contact with was fantastic. When we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine H
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

This is a wonderful review, thank you! It is a delight to read comments such as yours and we can’t wait to see you again soon. With kind regards, From all at the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

stockton on tees
Reviewed 19 November 2014

Having spent many of our vacations in America in the past few years our expectations of hotels has increased somewhat. However, the Feversham Arms exceeded these expectations and even went that bit further. Sure, the Feversham is not cheap but for the extra you pay you get good value for money. First of all the room (number 10) was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paul d
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing such a wonderful review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your birthday celebrations, and hope that you might be able to visit us again in the future. With kind regards, From all at the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Reviewed 17 November 2014

Fantastic in every way! We stayed overnight on the sleep, stay and spa package. The hotel has got everything right, the rooms, the food, the staff, the spa and treatments. Highly recommend this hotel and spa.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz A
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for this lovely review! The Sleep, Stay & Spa offer (from £95 per person) is very popular so we are delighted that you enjoyed it! With kind regards, From all at the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Reviewed 11 November 2014 via mobile

What an amazing hotel. Staff, food and facilities were outstanding. There were 'little' touches that enhanced our stay. Loved the teddy bear idea! The hotel was recommended to us and we were not disappointed. We would definitely return to The Feversham Arms. Thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clarkson6
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for this lovely review! We think that that soft-toy “do not disturb” idea is a little nicer than a simple door hanger and we are pleased that you do too! With kind regards, From all the team at the Feversham Arms hotel & Verbena Spa

Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 November 2014

Fabulous weekend excellent food bubbly and canapés lovely staff enjoyed spa treatments and outdoor pool and hotub rooms suites and bathrooms lovely toiletries else is and they provide you with a candle and matches on bath.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julie F
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for this lovely review, we are so pleased to read your wonderful comments! With kind regards, From all at the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Pontefract, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 November 2014

It was our wedding anniversary and we wanted to treat ourselves to something very special. We chose Feversham Arms because we had been before and we very much enjoyed ourselves. Check-in is at 3pm but we got there early as we had spa treatments booked prior. The fact that we were early wasn’t a problem, the receptionist simply said the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DellyonHols
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa and for taking the time to write this review. It is always so rewarding to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay, and the whole team is thrilled! With kind regards, From all at the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Liversedge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2014

On checking in we were told by the extremely rude receptionist that we were booked in for room only. We explained we had booked through Mr and Mrs Smith which included dinner that evening and breakfast the following morning. After much typing on her computer she asked us what time we would like dinner with no apology for her mistake...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Happywanderer011
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

We are sorry to read the details of your stay, and we are also a little confused as we do not offer a Room Only rate, so it is strange that this might have been mentioned to you. We are sorry that you found our receptionist to be rude as this is certainly not how we wish to be perceived....

United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2014

It has been along time since we stayed at the hotel and as a result of our stay we have now rebooked for December. We had a suite overlooking the pool which was very spacious, with a separate sitting room to relax in, complete with wood burner to use if required.The hotel had a lovely feel to it and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elvisrulesok
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this wonderful review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, especially as you are a returning guest. We can’t wait to see you in December! With kind regards, From all at the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Yorkshire
Reviewed 29 October 2014

A birthday treat for my daughter,Mum to two young children and deserving of rest and relaxation.We stayed for one midweek night,bed and breakfast.The staff were polite and helpful and we had everything we needed.Our room was lovely,with comfortable beds and a pleasant lounge area.We enjoyed a swim in the outdoor pool, even inOctober!Our spa treatments were perfect and the relaxation...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireChocolat
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

What a lovely review, thank you so much for sharing your family birthday with us! We also hope that you are able to return one day and look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the future. With kind regards, From all at the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

560 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (272)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (125)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (250)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
Deluxe Suite (23)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (28)
Viewed
Junior Suite - 14 (37)
Viewed
Junior Suite - 19 (29)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Spa Suite (38)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.1 km away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,420 reviews
0.2 km away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
610 reviews
35.3 km away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
331 reviews
32.2 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
37.7 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in a picturesque market town by the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors, this elegant Hotel boasts superb dining, full spa facilities, a heated outdoor swimming pool and free Wi-Fi. Surrounded by glorious countryside, this wonderfully secluded retreat is a haven of laid-back luxury and indulgent relaxation. Famous for its welcoming hospitality, it blends the traditional comforts of its Victorian heritage with an irresistible boutique design. Beautiful, peaceful and thoroughly unique, one visit is simply not enough. Guests can choose from a range of 33 individually designed en-suite bedrooms and suites each with their own unique decor, style and character. Cosy and intimately homely, they all feature Egyptian cotton sheets, soft exquisite duck down duvets (or cotton blankets), free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, DVD player, luxurious Anne Semonin toiletries, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. There are accommodation options to suit all purposes, including Small and Classic Doubles, Junior and Deluxe Suites and, for the ultimate indulgence, Luxury Poolside and Spa Suites. Superb food plays a big part in life at Feversham. Here diners can enjoy classically inspired dishes from a menu that draws heavily from fresh local ingredients such as rich Yorkshire game and tasty North Sea fish. It's also home to one of the most talked about cheese trolleys in Yorkshire, traditional afternoon tea in their cosy fireside lounge and an impeccably well-stocked cellar. Throughout the warmer months, dishes can be served poolside on the terrace and gardens. The hotel's award-winning Verbena Spa offers an idyllic haven from the pressures of everyday life. Here guests can kick back, relax and immerse themselves in luxurious indulgence. They offer a range of treatments from manicures, facials and massages through to full spa day experiences. Revitalise and enjoy their famous heat experience with saunarium, aromatherapy room, salt vapour room, monsoon shower, ice cave, foot spa, outdoor heated pool and hot tub. The Hotel is situated in the North Yorkshire town of Helmsley just off the A170. Complimentary on-site parking is available. The city of York is just a 40 minute drive away and it offers excellent transport links to the rest of the country. There is also a local train station at Thirsk, a 25 minute taxi ride away. For those flying in, Leeds Bradford International Airport is about an hour's drive from the Hotel. Beautifully located in the depths of the stunning North Yorkshire Moors the Hotel is the perfect place from which to explore this remarkable area. Yorkshire is renowned as a place of distinct yet diverse appeal, from the majestic Castle Howard to the Gothic seaside town of Whitby, the ruins of Rievaux and Bylands Abbey to luxury designer shopping, Michelin starred restaurants to quaint marketplace tea rooms, there is truly something for everyone. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Address: 1 High Street, Helmsley YO62 5AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Price Range: €133 - €446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, HRS, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel And Verbena Spa
Feversham Arms Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa Helmsley, North Yorkshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Yorkshire
cleveland
20 days ago
Teeside
over a year ago
Lincoln, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“At the back rather than the main road”
 of 5 bubbles flo5050, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Go for the best you can afford. It's worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles KathM272, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go for upper floor in the main building overlooking the outdoor pool.”
 of 5 bubbles Anthony_from_DCR, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for a suite with a pool view”
 of 5 bubbles willp144, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Not at the front if you want the window open.”
 of 5 bubbles christine_bedford55, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5