We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Royal Oak Hotel

Save
Traveller (30)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (2)
Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good26%
  • Average11%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“the pub”(19 reviews)
“royal oak”(30 reviews)
“steak”(9 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Family Rooms
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
77
36
16
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
77
36
16
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubroyal oaksteakmonkey worldfull english breakfasthunters chickengluten free foodbeer gardennot hesitate to stay here againfor sunday lunchgatwick airportall sortslovely atmospheregreat value for moneyb bon arrivaltea and coffee
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2018

Just had an excellent supper at the Royal Oak. Two of our friends are gluten free and were amazed that they had a huge choice from the menu. Very unusual for them. Most dishes are available with gluten free options. Lovely atmosphere and we look...More

Thank LadyJ147
Reviewed 8 January 2018

We passed this hotel on the way to Monkey World and noticed the sign advertising Gluten free food and decided we would visit on the way back It was after 3.00pm when we got there but they were still happy to serve us the carvery...More

Thank Trevor W
Reviewed 27 October 2017

We booked to stay at the Royal Oak Hotel through Late Rooms for the 24/10/17. Sadly, despite my confimation saying 24/10 Late Rooms had booked us in for the 25/10!?! My 14 year old and I arrived at 9.30pm and once told were beginning to...More

Thank Nix_guitar
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Will start with the bad as the positives well and truly made up for it! On arrival at 3pm we found out couldn't book in until 5pm even though wasn't told this and the phone number on the door wasn't answered. Apparently an email was...More

Thank chars77
Response from J W, Owner at The Royal Oak HotelResponded 11 September 2017

I am sorry to read your mixed review, it was myself who had contact with the neighbour to confirm check in time but I was in New York at the time so could not get there. The check in time is on our listing on...More

Reviewed 29 August 2017

We were staying locally and decided to try the Royal Oak for dinner one evening, we made a very poor choice. It is one place we will not be gong back to for a meal again. We made the forth table in for food, so...More

Thank Gail C
Response from J W, Owner at The Royal Oak HotelResponded 11 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write an interesting review. When the table was checked you did inform the barman that the burger was spicy and he offered to change it which you did not want. You then ate the whole thing so I'm...More

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$126 - US$134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$126 - US$134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (30)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
timhCorby
29 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from loveaduck180951 | Reviewed this property |
Hi. I'm not sure but ring them, they are lovely friendly people. I know they allow dogs in the pub.
0
Votes
Terri M
25 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from J W | Property representative |
There are 3 local taxi companies that you would be able to use. Just give us a call and we can give your their numbers
0
Votes
Spartan6
1 August 2016|
Answer
Response from J W | Property representative |
Thank you for your question. I am afraid our rooms do not accommodate 4 people, they accommodate 2 adults and one child up to the age of 12years.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Cannot comment on the rooms as we didn't stay in Hotel just ate there."
Read review
"Any room is excellent"
Read review
"Room one on the front, slight traffic noise from main road"
Read review
"Room 1 is in the back"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing