We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chateau Les Merles

Tuilieres 3 Chemin des Merles, 24520 Mouleydier, Bergerac France
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (178)
Room & Suite (53)
Dining (44)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.


Travellers' Choice
Our luxury 4-star boutique hotel with a gastronomic restaurant, bistro, golf course and rental villas, close to Bergerac Airport, assure you will have dream holiday in the Dordogne. Chateau Les Merles design rooms and suites with all modern comfort await you. Situated in the south of France, near Bordeaux, Saint-Emilion and Sarlat in the heart of Bergerac vineyards and forests on the hills of the Dordogne River, Château les Merles offers a challenging 9-hole golf course with driving range and putting green, swimming pool and tennis court.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Golf course
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Tennis court
Canoeing offsite
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Dutch, German
408Reviews3Q+A39Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 225
  • 116
  • 38
  • 22
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
SimesHK wrote a review Feb 2021
Hong Kong, China409 contributions157 helpful votes
Golf hotel with impressive grounds and pools. Popped in to check it out and have lunch which was pleasant on the terrace outside the reception. Sadly no views of anything but the food and wine were fine.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Elvira Hillenaar-Driessen wrote a review Sep 2020
Bleiswijk, The Netherlands1 contribution
Chateau les Merles, thank you for the most beautiful weekend of our lives! 18 months ago we decided that we wanted to get married at this romantic location and venue. A decision we shall never regret! Most of our guests stayed in the luxurious rooms of the chateau, which are all equipped with comfortable bathrooms and amazing beds! Other guests stayed in the villa’s, which were perfect for families. My husband and I had a beautiful suite with garden view. This way all our friends & family were close to us while everybody had their own luxurious and comfortable room to stay. Ideal! From the ceremony in the garden of the chateau to the diner on the courtyard, the venue couldn’t be more romantic and was even more perfect than we ever dreamed of! A big compliment towards the staff of Les Merles. The barbeque on Friday night, the lunch and diner on Saturday were very well executed! The staff were extremely friendly, helpful and proactive and everything we asked for was taken care of. A special thank you for Judith, she did everything in her power to make our wedding perfect and succeeded!!! All our guests were full of compliments about the management, service level, venue, delicious food and beautiful rooms. We will definitely visit Chateau les Merles many more times in the future and can advise everyone to do the same!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Sleep Quality
jamesruane wrote a review Aug 2020
London, United Kingdom2 contributions2 helpful votes
I don't normally write reviews, but felt compelled on this occasion, to warn people off booking Chateau Les Merles. Unfortunately, we recently fell victim to restrictions imposed by the UK Government, when France was added to UK COVID-19 quarantine list. This meant we had to cancel our three-night stay (via Mr & Mrs Smith) at Chateau Merles. Despite pleading with the hotel (and Mr & Mrs Smith) to refund the 30% deposit we'd put down or provide a voucher to rebook the room at a later date the hotel flatly refused, not having any of it. They were arrogant, rude and did not hesitate to make this the problem of the customer and offer any kind of flexibility. This was confounded from the top, with the Managing Director, Judith Wagemakers, putting this squarely at the hands of how she called it, “the UK President” for making such a silly decision. Whilst this may be true, I think she meant the Prime Minister! If you want to get royally ripped off, and give your money to a business like this, when social responsibility lies at the heart of business today, then feel free, but be prepared for a rude awakening and an abysmal experience. I cannot discourage anyone from using this hotel highly enough, their customer service and attitude, quite frankly stinks!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Response from Lilian Beissel, Directeur général at Chateau Les Merles
Responded 31 Aug 2020
Good morning Mr Ruane, Not wanting to make long speeches that would lead to nothing, and not wanting to talk about YOUR aggressive attitude towards us on the phone, we would like to remind you of a few things: You booked one of our villas from 24th to 27th August on 4th August through the travel agency Mr&Mrs Smith. On this date the virus was still present and active. We were nevertheless able to welcome you as we have been able to keep our establishment open, respecting the sanitary rules in force. You made the choice not to come, and therefore to assume all the consequences of this. We do not remember your "Prime Minister" forbidding you to travel to France. At the time of your reservation, the Mr&Mrs Smith agency informed you of our conditions of sale, a 30% non-refundable and non-cancellable deposit, which you have accepted. Finally, I find it inappropriate and quite frankly unfair that you have rated the cleanliness, service and bedding of our establishment when you have never even placed one foot in Château les Merles. We hope that the satisfaction of posting this comment will make up for the frustration that you have for not being able to visit our establishment. Take care of yourself and your loved ones, I wish you all the best. Lilian Beissel Hotel Director
Read more
Izzie_from_Paris wrote a review Aug 2020
Paris, France17 contributions23 helpful votes
We booked a suite at Chateau les Merles for our babymoon. When I booked I precisely asked for a quiet room since I am pregnant and have a hard time to sleep already. Upon our arrival, we quickly realised that the hotel had put a family with small kids in the room upstairs... Kids were screaming and running making so much noise that we couldn’t hear each other talking while seating next to one another on the bed!!!! We cannot blame this family, it is not their fault at all and they are of course allowed to go on holidays with their kids. I blame the hotel for putting them right upstairs our bedroom while we specifically asked for a quiet room! Moreover, when we talked to the hotel staff about this, there were no solution offered to us other than asking the family to be carefull, which is not acceptable. We were only offered to move to another much smaller room on the second day (room 7) and then I saw on tripadvisor that someone do not recommend this room...so we kept our initial room and were awaken early everyday and could not stand to spend time in our big suite because of the noise during the day. This is definitely not how we imagined to spend our babymoon... We talked about our disappointment again on the day we left, we expected a commercial offer - anything even to offer us one of our breakfast - but we did not have anything except apologies. We do not recommend and won’t stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Response from Lilian Beissel, Directeur général at Chateau Les Merles
Responded 20 Aug 2020
Dear Izzie_from_Paris, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your stay. As the building is out of the 17th century it is very difficult to avoid some noise. As you write yourself, we offered you a different room where there is no other room above, but you refused this. Best regards, Chateau les Merles
Read more
Clémentine M wrote a review Aug 2020
Hong Kong, China1 contribution
The hotel is like a small castle and definitely typical of area coupled with a great design and modern rooms. You have a nice swimming pool with view on the garden/golf. The service is amazing yet simple, you feel right at home from the start! It’s as if you are part of the family and this is your house. Ideal for a couple who enjoys quiet retreat in a beautiful environment. Will definitely recommend and go again!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
US$131 - US$222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
chateau les merles mouleydier
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Chateau Les Merles
Which popular attractions are close to Chateau Les Merles?
Nearby attractions include Moulin de la Rouzique (6.1 km), Cave Laregnere (7.5 km), and Ecluses de Tuilieres (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Chateau Les Merles?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Chateau Les Merles?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Chateau Les Merles?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Chateau Les Merles?
Conveniently located restaurants include Au Fil de L'Eau, La Bastide Capraise, and Restaurant Les Marronniers.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Chateau Les Merles?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Chateau Les Merles?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Chateau Les Merles?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Chateau Les Merles offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Chateau Les Merles?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to Chateau Les Merles?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Monument aux morts Couze et st Front (6.4 km).