We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Parque Nacional Ballena Bahía Ballena, Osa, Puntarenas, Uvita 60504 Costa Rica
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$107
TravelocityUS$107
Orbitz.comUS$107
TripadvisorUS$107
Vio.comUS$107
StayForLong
View all 10 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (34)
Pool & Beach (12)
Dining (9)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#10 of 14 hotels in Uvita
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Bahia Azul Hotel is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Uvita, offering a romantic environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

The rooms offer air conditioning, and getting online is possible, as free wifi is available, allowing you to rest and refresh with ease.

Bahia Azul Hotel features room service. In addition, as a valued Bahia Azul Hotel guest, you can enjoy a pool and free breakfast that are available on-site. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to free parking.

If you’re looking for a wine bar, consider a visit to Mosaic Wine Bar and Cafe or Maracuya Restaurante, which are all conveniently located a short distance from Bahia Azul Hotel.

Uvita is also home to Magic Ananda, a popular art gallery that is not too far from Bahia Azul Hotel.

Enjoy your stay in Uvita!

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Boating
Diving
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Ski In / Ski Out
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Hiking
Horseback riding
Snorkelling
Fishing
Walking tours
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Room service
Clothes rack
Tile / marble floor
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Full view
48Car recommended
Grade: 48 out of 100
28Restaurantswithin 1 km
2Attractionswithin 1 km
71Reviews1Q+A5Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 36
  • 15
  • 11
  • 4
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
leighannperdue wrote a review Mar 2022
Ray, North Dakota12 contributions1 helpful vote
This hotel is beyond awful. We were booked here with Gadventures. Upon entering our room, we found it had not been cleaned. Razor, mirror and toothpaste in bathroom, dirty bedding and floors. I told the front desk clerk. She looked at me skeptically. Didn't apologize or offer to do anything about it. I had to ask for the room to be cleaned or a different room. She said to get our stuff, come back and she would assign us a different room. She said she checked and the new room had been cleaned. Ugh. That room was also filthy. Dirty sheets and bedding and floors. The coffee pot had mold growing in it. Stay far away from this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
issy95_13 wrote a review Mar 2022
Helsinki, Finland36 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
Stained sheets, uncleaned rooms and bathrooms (when I complained our bathroom was dirty, the owner replied "Oh yes, that's the ants, they do that every day, somebody will clean your room tomorrow morning." No apology, and I had to wait for a full day for the ant debris to be cleared away. And in COVID too! Makes Super 8s look like the Ritz. Avoid it like the plague (or else you may catch it here)! Oh and in case they accuse this review of being a fake (as they have done on the previous ones, I've included a photo of the front of the "hotel".
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Things to avoid? The hotel!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tania Calderon, Director General at Bahia Azul Hotel
Responded 3 Mar 2022
Thank you for your comments all over the internet. I think one would be more that enough to know that you did not like my hotel. We are in the tropical and ants and bugs are all over the place. My housekeping works from 6 am to 2 pm, so that was why you have to wait until next day to clean the and dirt the the brought into your room, but we did clean that up the next morning. I let you know that we are doing rehaps all over the hotel, so you are more than welcome to come back and see it.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ryan B wrote a review Dec 2021
Statesboro, Georgia4 contributions
Great food. Came here to eat after a canyoning trip. Best ceviche I’ve ever had!!! Service was fantastic! Very nice people and great conversation! Homemade ice cream to finish the meal was amazing! We will definitely be back next time in Uvita.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tania Calderon, Director General at Bahia Azul Hotel
Responded 7 Jan 2022
Thank you for you comment. I am glad that you enjoy our food, I hope see you soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Erick F wrote a review Dec 2020
Straubing, Germany1 contribution
Food was delicious, specially the homemade ice cream, fish was very fresh and the service was truly, as well. 100% recommended for those who visit Uvita and want to try good local food! I would come back
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tania Calderon, Director General at Bahia Azul Hotel
Responded 24 Dec 2020
Thank you for coming, I am glad that you enjoy the food and the service, I hope to see you back soon
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ditte J wrote a review Mar 2020
21 contributions8 helpful votes
We didnt stay at the hotel but stopped for lunch - and we were glad we did. A wonderful tuna tatare and fish ceviche. Really great food and a affordable price. Homemade from scratch so you had to wait a while but is was worth it👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
tanndance wrote a review Jan 2020
Las Vegas202 contributions58 helpful votes
The lady that checked us in was very nice and the room was clean and spacious. The rooms need to be updated as the paint was worn throughout and the bathroom sink did not work well. OK for an overnight but would not want to stay much longer.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
kaiserschmarrn2015 wrote a review Nov 2019
Chur, Switzerland66 contributions21 helpful votes
It was already dark and rained when we were looking for a room on our way southward, so we did not look further, but we should have! The good things first: A/C, WIFI and TV worked, food in the restaurant was good. The room was an extremely basic, even though spacious, mouldy smelling room, containing 3 beds, one (!) Lightbulb to lighten the whole room, 1 towel per person. No table or chair. The breakfast was the skimpiest of our 3 weeks in Costa Rica, (although this was not the cheapest room.) We survived it, but certainly don't recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Janet N wrote a review Mar 2019
Lebanon, Tennessee13 contributions8 helpful votes
We stayed here for 3 nights, great service and AIR CONDITIONING!!! Which you will need, trust me. Close to beach and Uvita waterfalls. BEST strawberry daiquiri I ever had, fresh fruit. Highly recommend
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Laura Chaves wrote a review Aug 2017
San Jose, Costa Rica24 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
One of the most important assets the hotel has is the restaurant, the food is amazing, they offer plenty of vegetarian options. Also they are environmentally conscious, they don't use straws and try to recycle as much as possible. I would say they should improve the showers, they don't have hot water and I think the rooms do need a mini-fridge.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Patry1, Gerente at Bahia Azul Hotel
Responded 23 Aug 2017
Thank you for your comment, I am glad to know that you enjoy our food (so can you please write one comment in the restaurant side, you can find us like: Bahía Azul Restaurante?) Thank you for care About out enviromental conscious, we don't use any plástico in our hotel and also we have solar panels and we use the rain water to clean. We do have hot water, you should told me that yours was't workig to check it out.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brian W wrote a review Aug 2017
Napa Ca.24 contributions20 helpful votes
Please do not get suckered into staying here based on internet Pics or "other" reviews. The place is hardly within walking distance to any water or business area in town- The very OLD worn out rooms were 14" X 14" square cinder-block painted blue walls with VERY DIM overhead light -.Toilets old- no drain covers in shower (Dead Man's Shower Head) - You know the ones.. 2 small wires going into the shower head which either heat a small coil for a little warm water or send you to your grave if they short out!! Restaurant food mediocre typical "Pinto Gallo" with little protein. Fortunately, it was only a travel stop-over on our way to Osa/Corcovado for 4 fabulous nights at the Iguana Lodge- I would rather have driven into the evening then wasted my $200.00 per night here- Think Mexicali border Notell/Motel- Locks on doors were the best part of the night. Came with Breakfast which was probably worth about 90 cents (Rice-Beans and one egg)- Trust me on this one- We stayed and 4 other REALLY nice locations on our two week visit- Don't do this disaster- BW
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Find another Hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Patry1, Gerente at Bahia Azul Hotel
Responded 16 Aug 2017
SEÑORES TRIPADVISOR: Está opinión no corresponde a mi hotel, ni siquiera tenemos paredes de ladrillo y mucho menos paredes azules dentro de las habitaciones, mis habitaciones son muy amplias y espaciosas no 14"x14" como dice el comentario y en mis registros no tengo nadie recientemente que coincida con este señor, POR FAVOR REVISAR! Se qué hay 2 lugares más con un nombre similar en Jaco y Quepos, puede ser que el huésped se quedara en alguno de esos y no en el mío. Les agradezco revisen por qué una opinión cómo está puede traer muchos problemas
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$67 - US$107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of PuntarenasUvita
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BAHIA AZUL HOTEL - UPDATED 2022 Reviews & Price Comparison (Uvita, Costa Rica) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Bahia Azul Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Bahia Azul Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Parque Nacional Marino Ballena (0.8 km) and Magic Ananda (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bahia Azul Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Bahia Azul Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Bahia Azul Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Bahia Azul Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bahia Azul Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bagel Time Bakery, Pizza Time, and Sabor Espanol.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bahia Azul Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Bahia Azul Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 1.0 km away from the centre of Uvita.
Are pets allowed at Bahia Azul Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Bahia Azul Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Is Bahia Azul Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.