We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Management photos
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

890 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 850: English reviews
Bournemouth
Reviewed 11 October 2016

On the website this hotel advertises a fish restaurant.I turned up on a quiet day and was given a snack menu.When I enquired about the fish menu I was told they only do that at night.The bar chap had only started but we had to get our own cutlery and serviettes.He was too busy watching the television.The food was very...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank bertiebassett2014
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

This was an excellent hotel we stayed in the lodge on the grounds. The room was fantastic, clean and spacious. The views were outstanding. The staff were friendly and could not do enough. Highly recommend this hotel. We will be returning next year for our anniversary.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Penny A
Wallasey
Reviewed 4 October 2016

The food here is to die for the fresh fish is just amazing as are the steaks. We stayed in the Lodge on the top floor which is a suite the views across the loch are breath taking it was late september so the setting sun was spectacular over the mountain. Very quiet not much going on just how we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Musa I
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

Myself and my husband visited here for a couple of nights. The hotel setting is just beautiful, right in the shore of Loch Lochy. It was amazing to wake up to spectacular views every morning. The food in the hotel was better than I've had at more expensive hotel, so my compliments to a very talented chef. The rest of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathleenT66
Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Lovely hotel great stay everytime would always recommend this fab hotel. Great location great food. Ask for a room with a loch view it's a must. Staff are fantastic very helpful and the food is good. Great stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ajcraig73
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

The hotel is located right on the bank of a lake and has some scenic views. The breakfast is really good with both hot and cold options and is included in the room booking usually. The dinner was also good, which is nice as there are not much options close by. The room is decent. One of the beds had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C0re_nick
ManagerMaggie, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for your feedback. It is very much appreciated. If you could contact Maggie at the Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel at 01397712622 whenever you can so that I can find out what room you stayed in and I can then look into getting the mattress problem sorted. Thanks again and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2016

This is a truly lovely Lodge Hotel alongside the beautiful Loch Lochy. We arrived on spec and were welcomed by helpful staff who could not do enough to make us feel welcome. Situated approximately 12 miles from Fort William it provides easy access to the Great Glen and to Glen Coe but is set back from the road giving a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shellirobinson32
ManagerMaggie, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Shelli, Thank you very much for your honest review. I really enjoyed reading it and I'm very glad that we did not disappoint you during your stay with us. I will be passing your compliments to the Chef and the rest of the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon! Thanks again, Maggie

Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

A very warm welcome from the staff. The hotel and rooms are charming and cocooning. Scottish food at the restaurant was awesome! Yet several bad points: few mobile network and no Wi-Fi connection in rooms. Some trouble with shower pressure too. Yet I recommend the place for a love trip.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Guillaume L
ManagerMaggie, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for your comments. I am very glad our service pleased you and that both the hotel, rooms and restaurant were as good as you have described. As far as Mobile Network and Wireless Internet goes - I'm really afraid that is quite out of our control! But who knows.. perhaps one of these days the coverage...

Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

It is with a heavy heart that I level any criticism at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel - we have stayed there many times, and enjoyed our visits. However, this 'history' puts us in a position to witness the gradual deterioration of the building and facilities. Let me start by saying that the staff have always been lovely and very helpful, and...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank 1Reviewer1
ManagerMaggie, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for your review. I am glad that the excellent service by our staff has been maintained since your last visit! Indeed, some renovations are due around the hotel and we are looking for these to commence in the near future. Hopefully on your next visit, you will see a great improvement! Thanks again, Maggie

Ferndale, Washington
Reviewed 23 September 2016

We were stranded by our rental car without cellphone reception near Letterfinlay Lodge, so we walked here to call for help. The person we talked to was in the process of checking guests out of the hotel, but made it clear that she would be happy to help. In just a couple of minutes, she let us use the land...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathair
ManagerMaggie, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for your kind comments. I'm glad we were able to help and look forward to seeing you again. Maggie

515 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (420)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (113)
Viewed
Room/Suite (85)
Viewed
View from Room (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Other (124)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (95)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (53)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spean Bridge
2.3 km away
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
161 reviews
11.9 km away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
653 reviews
22.1 km away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 km away
Invergarry Hotel
Invergarry Hotel
#2 of 2 in Invergarry
427 reviews
18.2 km away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
501 reviews
11.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Glenspean Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel rests on the banks of Loch Lochy only 15 minutes from Fort William and boasts breathtaking views over the Great Glen. Watch the world sail by from our panoramic sundeck whilst enjoying the freshest produce and locally landed seafood carefully hand-cooked by our award-winning team of chefs. Retire in the evening to our cozy bedrooms, many of which have magnificent views over the loch. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel

Address: Loch Lochy | Fort William, Spean Bridge PH34 4DZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Spean Bridge
Price Range: €73 - €140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Letterfinlay Hotel Fort William
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms at the rear of the hotel offer spectacular views of the Loch.”
 of 5 bubbles MASHyde_Cheshire, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room with loch view”
 of 5 bubbles MalcolmP397, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Loch view which also gives a view of the mountains”
 of 5 bubbles thebradleys01, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The suite or one of the rooms in the lodge are more modern”
  • Balcony
  • Setting sun
 of 5 bubbles musatvt, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms have a loch view. Room 4 has the original 1930s bathroom suite.”
 of 5 bubbles shellirobinson32, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay