We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Orchard Cottage

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rochester
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Orchard Cottage
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

134 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 134: English reviews
Start your review of Orchard Cottage
 Click to rate
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here while a friend had her wedding up the road in Cooling Castle and it was perfect. We had a lovely big bedroom on the ground floor with a nice big bathroom and plenty of hanging and storage space. It was immediately clean and very welcoming. The owners were there to greet us and show us where to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy R
Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

I stayed at the cottage the night before my wedding. Sue and Kevin are lovely. There was lovely warm scones waiting for us when we arrived and sue made us all a brew. The cottage was spotless and lovely and warm. The breakfast the following morning was very accommodating as they done it for us in two halves so that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vickyf80
Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 December 2016

What a joy it was to stay at the Orchard B&B for the night. Kevin and Sue are the friendliest people and nothing is too much trouble for them. The room was beautiful and very comfortable, the breakfast was large portions of well cooked food. Everything on hand that you would want & need. They went above and beyond offering...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sampope2016
Portsmouth, Ohio, Usa
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

Myself and my family had a fantastic stay at this very comfortable and welcoming B&B the food was very good and the general condition of the room was above standard for a affordable hotel Would certainly stay again Top marks Kevin

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
Bromley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 November 2016

Excellent . Very friendly and welcoming. Rooms were very clean and fresh. Breakfast was excellent. Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. We stayed as 3 couples as we were attending a wedding at Cooling castle . Everyone enjoyed their stay. The beds were really comfortable. They couldn't do enough to help. The kitchen was clean and you are able to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carvelljayne
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2016

My husband and I stayed at Orchard Cottage for two nights this weekend and were both extremely happy with all aspects of of our stay. The owners, Kevin and Sue, were friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble - Kevin greeted us with tea and biscuits on arrival and provided some useful local info while we relaxed in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna T
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2016

The help your self breakfast was "continental". The croissants were stale. Poor standard to say the least. Shower packed up at first attempt to use it. Dead spider on the carpet. Toilet seat loose. I honestly can't recommend this place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidnoble67
Kevin F, Owner at Orchard Cottage, responded to this review

The gentleman was informed some time prior to arrival that unfortunately both owners of Orchard B&B had to temporarily step away from running the accommodation as my wife had been diagnosed with cancer and I was caring for her full time during her chemotherapy treatment. We had decided to try to honour existing bookings as, for example, the nearest available...

Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

My parents have stayed here several times when they have visited from Cornwall. The proprietors are friendly and very welcoming. The rooms are well decorated and immaculate. You have a lounge area where you can relax and a kitchen fully equipped also. I'd highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Collier1uk
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Orchard Cottage prior to our daughters wedding at Cooling Barn. This is a fabulous place to stay and so so friendly. You get the feeling that you have gone from home to home. The rooms are of the highest quality and comfort. If we are ever in the area again then this is the place we would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrew H
Herne Bay
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

A party of six of us stayed overnight at Orchard Cottage whilst attending a wedding at Knowle Country House and what a wonderful find it was. We did not expect the high standard of accommodation and attention to detail. Kevin was so welcoming and showed us around the property when we arrived. The rooms were very clean with lovely bedding...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lisylouHerneBay

13 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochester
5.8 km away
Premier Inn Rochester Hotel
5.7 km away
St. George Hotel
St. George Hotel
#3 of 6 in Chatham
278 reviews
5.9 km away
Premier Inn Chatham/Gillingham (Victory Pier) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
The King Charles Hotel
The King Charles Hotel
#2 of 2 in Gillingham
583 reviews
4.4 km away
Ship & Trades
Ship & Trades
#5 of 6 in Chatham
300 reviews
7.1 km away
North Downs Barn
North Downs Barn
#4 of 19 in Rochester
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Orchard Cottage

Address: 11 View Road | Cliffe Woods, Rochester ME3 8JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Rochester
Hotel Class:4 star — Orchard Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Orchard Cottage Rochester, Kent
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Orchard Cottage staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Kent, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Norfolk, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Orchard Cottage staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 1 the biggest, plenty of room for a travel cot which the owners can provide if requested and available”
 of 5 bubbles AnnaJ756, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't bother”
 of 5 bubbles davidnoble67, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 is on the ground floor, is spacious very comfortable and smashing ensuite facilities”
 of 5 bubbles susanbennett110154, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All rooms offer excellent comfort, there is a conservatory for relaxing.”
 of 5 bubbles trevors845, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Each room is perfect!”
 of 5 bubbles 337samanthat, 1 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5