Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan

Lawlors Hotel Bridge Street, Dungarvan X35 DT04 Ireland
Traveller (133)
Views of Dungarvan Bay from the hotel.
Room & Suite (49)
Dining (16)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.0
#3 of 4 hotels in Dungarvan
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Welcome to Lawlors Family Run Hotel Dungarvan, one of the best known and longest established hotels in the coastal town of Dungarvan, Waterford, in the South East of Ireland. The hotel is situated on Dungarvan Harbour, where the River Colligan broadens and enters the sea. We offer warm, comfortable bed and breakfast accommodation as well as excellent conference and wedding facilities.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range

Location

Lawlors Hotel Bridge Street, Dungarvan X35 DT04 Ireland
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 90 out of 100
90
Cork Airport
65.7 km
See all flights
Dublin Airport
174.8 km
See all flights
693Reviews9Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 161
  • 183
  • 128
  • 97
  • 124
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
53rk wrote a review Aug 2020
Dublin, Ireland131 contributions92 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked this hotel as it was in the town and I could walk everywhere. That was the only good thing about it. I was booked in for 4 nights. On arrival, I was not greeted/welcomed in any way but handed a form to complete. I was then told the times I could book to come to breakfast (staggered due to Covid 19) and to choose which I wanted. Then I was handed my key. No "enjoy your stay" etc. I was told housekeeping would not enter the room during my stay unless invited. Quite frankly, this was, to me, an excuse to cut down on work as I could see no reason why housekeeping could not make my bed every day as they had before I arrived and clean down the bathroom but I didn't bother availing of them. I did however meet them in the hallway and found them most friendly in contrast to reception. There was also a gentleman who was helpful regarding another issue.
I went to my room which had a sticker across from the door to the lintel saying "sanitised" but it was unstuck and the door was ajar. A man was in the room fixing some furniture. He left shortly after and I was left to enter my "sanitised" room which I duly sanitised myself from top to bottom. It wasn't hard as there was literally nothing in the room bar the furniture and the beds and the tv remote control. I know there is a virus about but I cannot see that a kettle and a cup could not be left in the room and the kettle sanitised after each occupant leaves. I'd have been happy to provide my own tea bag/coffee if necessary. There was no chair in the room either although this was provided when asked for.
The room was at the back and looked out on a dreary building and a car park and was very noisy due to some kind of extractor fan or air conditioner day and night. The corridor was long and airless and so was the room and the weather was very warm at the time.
Breakfast was in a dark and depressing diningroom. The food was adequate but I abandoned it after 2 days as it was too depressing a start to the day and dined in very nice cafes in the town of which there were several.
Every day I came in the door after my days out and not once was I asked how my day was or made in any way to feel like I was welcome in the hotel. I could have been a stranger walking in.
On the day I left, I went to reception and handed in my key and said I was checking out. "Room number?" was the response! I gave it and was told my bill total which I then paid by card. I was not asked if I had had a nice time, if everything was to my satisfaction, nothing. I walked away and will never return.
I wanted to give our hotels business after the losses they suffered in lockdown but if this is the kind of welcome one gets, I would recommend taking your business elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: If you have to stay here, I would look for a room in the front
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rhoda g wrote a review Aug 2021
Arklow, Ireland325 contributions29 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
While the hotel is right in the center of Dungarvan so location is great the staff are also lovely but unfortunately thats were it stops .
Breakfast ordered the pancakes to be told they would be 30 mins as they were waiting on a delivery , While there is definitely 2 meters space across the room the tables are literally on top of each other in a row.
Secure facilities if your planning on cycling the waterway are non existent no locked doors wide open to the world.
The rooms what positives there's lots of hot water however the rooms are drab and dated and i wouldn't have minded apart from it was €190 a night total rip off but typical to capitalise on a pandemic. Now don't get me wrong i have stayed in a number of hotels since coming out of lock down but none that has decided to use the pandemic as an excuse not to make up your room or change your towels it is an absolute disgrace. So your here 3 days and have to use the same towels .
I would definitely not be recommending which is a shame considering the staff are so helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tim O wrote a review Jun 2021
Ireland26 contributions20 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
It’s a 3 star hotel and we got a 3 star experience. Staff were friendly, breakfast was fine, dinner in part slightly disappointing, chowder very watery and not overly tasty, braised beef was extremely tough but the prawn and feta salad was lovely as was the pork . Bedrooms were fine, bed very comfortable but there was a buzzing noise from somewhere outside our room 214 all night which made sleep difficult. A super shower, it just needs a safety handle for getting out of it from the bath. Overall though we had an enjoyable experience and it’s perfect for doing the greenway.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
None wrote a review Feb 2020
6 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent a night in Lawlor’s Hotel in Dungarvan and were very pleased with the experience. This is an old fashioned town centre hotel, perfectly located a few steps from the town square and the harbour with parking a couple of yards away. I mean old fashioned as a compliment; it has preserved an individuality that sets it apart from the anonymity of many of the chains that dominate the market.

The Reception desk is a discrete area in a corner of the lobby. The lobby itself is filled with easy chairs and sofas with a strong emphasis on traditional comfort.

The room we occupied was remarkably spacious. It was in the newer wing of the hotel but the traditional atmosphere was maintained. We had a view out over the harbour area which was a delight. The en-suite was modern, finished to a high standard and a very good size. The decor was restrained and there was plenty of extra bedding should we have needed it. Everything was spotless and very fresh. And there was a decent kettle in the room.

The staff were exceptional: effective, friendly and helpful. They engaged on a human to human level rather than simply being well trained in customer service.

Breakfast was very good- the porridge was properly cooked- I am very fussy about my porridge. I had Eggs Benedict (without the bacon) and the eggs were cooked to perfection. Each member of our party was pleased with their choices. We were allowed to linger, with no pressure to leave and we were provided with another pot of coffee after the official close of breakfast.

I tried to think of something negative but I found no reason to reduce my rating below 5. If you are looking for a comfortable, traditional hotel with a central location in the lovely town of Dungarvan, with friendly helpful staff and a warm atmosphere, I think you will be happy with Lawlor’s.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ManagerRes123, Guest Relations Manager at Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
Responded 10 Mar 2020
Dear Nonaynevernomore, Thanks so much for your review, We really are proud of our Hotel and your explanation fits just right. We are in the process of refurbishing 20 more bedrooms to be completed for Easter. I have passed your compliments to all the team and I look forward to welcoming you back to "Lawlors" and Dungarvan at a future date. Thanking you again. Kind Regards: Kind Regards Lawlor's Hotel Management team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Niamh M wrote a review Jul 2020
Swords, Ireland46 contributions46 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed in Lawlors Hotel last weekend as it has just reopened post Covid lockdown. The hotel was spotless and there was a lovely ambiance there. I was very happy with my room and it had a lovely modern bathroom and great view over the bay. The breakfast was lovely, fresh and the service was excellent. Social distancing was very well done and there were hand sanitisers at all the high contact points. I met my family for a meal on the last night and again there was great choice and very good value menu. Again the service was excellent. I was very very pleased.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Edel_W wrote a review Jan 2020
Dublin11 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Four of us went on a break to Dungarvan for the weekend just gone. Its a very nice middle of the road hotel, we got a great price on a 2 night b and b and evening meal deal and it has a pleasant homely feel to it. The rooms were a little dated but had very nice modern bathrooms, with great showers. Our meal was very tasty with a great selection to choose from, and the breakfast was absolutely lovely - lots of choice, and was served to you instead of a buffet. Also, full marks for toast being delivered to the table instead of guests having to make it themselves, which is a real bug bear of mine. There was a comfy lobby with a lovely open fire and we had nightcaps there each night. All of the staff were very pleasant and helpful. I would recommend this hotel highly - its not fancy but ticked all the boxes for us. Its in a great location very near to the square, where there is a selection of great pubs. Would defnitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ManagerRes123, Guest Relations Manager at Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
Responded 10 Mar 2020
Dear Edel-W, Thanks for taking the time to write your review, we are at present updating our bedrooms and it was a pity you were not allocated one of the new rooms. We do pride ourselves on great food so I am delighted you got a chance to enjoy our restaurant. I have passed your compliments to all the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to Lawlors Hotel at some future date and that you get the opportunity to see our newly refurbished bedrooms. Thanking you. Kind Regards: Kind Regards Lawlor's Hotel Management team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Una P wrote a review Jul 2020
Dublin, Ireland44 contributions64 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just back from a weekend in Lawlors hotel, a Greenway package, 2 nights B&B and one dinner. I have to say that the staff were just lovely and so helpful and friendly, Bill in particular and others whose names I didn’t get. I couldn’t fault one of them. He helped store our bikes away ready for our Greenway cycle and showed genuine interest in how we got on.
The room was small, but perfect for a few nights away. The breakfasts were lovely, lots of choice. Our dinner was lovely, delicious chowder and my husband had the deep fried Brie, it went down a treat. Main courses good too!
A perfect low key break especially if you want to do the Greenway.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brian E wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Lawlors hotel in Dungarvan has to be the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. On arrival the first signs were obvious that customer satisfaction was low on their agenda. The house manager was sloppily attired and abrupt with customers. On entering the room it was dark and shoddy, the carpet was dirty and coming away from the floor and ripped, the wallpaper was coming of the wall and dirty too. Windows in the bedroom were locked shut so the room couldn't aired. The bathroom was OK till you turn on the light and the noise coming from the extractor fan was horrendous. Coming in late at night you have to bang on the front door and are confronted with burly unkempt bouncers with no idea how to treat customer of the hotel. I had the unpleasant experience of eating in the restaurant because of my late arrival, the food was terrible as I ordered duck and the meal was produced within 5 minutes. I would not recommend this hotel to my enemies.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marcus R wrote a review Aug 2021
2 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Overall terrible hotel. I will list off bullet points of experiences.
The hotel in general is very dated and in bad need of renovation. The photos for it make the hotel look good when it's not.
We had to get our room moved because the room they gave us had a smell of sewage and was terrible looking this review doesn't do that room justice for how bad it was. The room we were moved to was just OK.
Food was terrible. Asked for a tasted special. Came out with no onion or tomato and barely toasted. Seafood chowder was also ordered and it was not fresh. We got a pint of Smithwicks and a Guinness it was full of bubbles and couldn't drink it.
The breakfast we walked into the ballroom and it felt like a timewarp so out dated. We got scrambled egg and rashers the egg was so watery couldn't eat it. We didn't bother getting breakfast there on the second day not up for eating crap food.
The fire alarm went off in the middle of the night also. For the price we paid it was shocking and we were not the only ones that experienced this. We met another family on the way out and they said the same. I've only one photo I forgot to take them but stay away from this hotel. Even if your just looking for convenience look elsewhere because this hotel is terrible and the owners need to renovate it.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Olive Kiely, Sales at Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
Responded 30 Aug 2021
Dear marcusr200, We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I do apologies if you found the whole experience unsatisfactory. I do not agree with you that the whole hotel needs renovating as 70% of our bedrooms have been renovated over the last two years and the remainder is on an ongoing basis. I am pleased you were moved to an alternative room when you made your issues known. Regarding food, if you had made your issues known I assure you this would have been addressed immediately, on the contrary we receive great compliments for our food and service and I apologise we failed on this occasion. We have now reviewed all areas with management and staff to insure this does not happen again but if you have any other issues please contact me direct at the hotel. Yours sincerely, Olive Kiely.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eddie50190 wrote a review Sept 2020
Ireland21 contributions47 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
So, first of all lovely people, and the staff are so helpful.

Stayed in the Hotel for two nights in September. The Covid restrictions are draining but understandable.

The room myself and my wife were staying in, was adequate, but could do with a lick of paint. It was dated.

The breakfast is great and the selection likewise. The bar was very good and allowed us to have a drink in the afternoon when we returned from cycling the greenway.

Surprisingly, the Covid restrictions that are taken very seriously during the daylight hours, are not replicated during the night time hours.. After dark, the bar and surrounding area's are awash with people stumbling upon each other, and not a face covering in sight.

During the afternoon after a tough cycle, I was asked to sign a register before I could have a drink (understandable - No issues with that). But at night, it was a free for all.. We even left a lounge area due to the number of people filling up the room.

I don't really want to rate this hotel on Covid 19 compliance, I much rather rate as a hotel. And to be fair, it met all our requirements, just needs a lick of paint.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Billy niblock asked a question May 2021
Bedford, United Kingdom2 contributions
ls there a lift
Billy niblock asked a question May 2021
Bedford, United Kingdom2 contributions
is there a lift in the hotel
aly56 asked a question Jul 2017
trim co meath240 contributions93 helpful votes
Have booked this hotel for two nights. Very afraid to go. Going to cancel advice. please
Answer from CraigZurich
Zurich, Switzerland25 contributions36 helpful votes
We saw several B&Bs in Dungarvan which looked nice from the outside. You could check them out.
Answer from Sandra R
Hitchin37 contributions24 helpful votes
Stuart is right. Dungarven is a lovely place. The hotel is extremely tired & the cleanliness leaves a bit to be desired. However, we found the food to be basic, but ok and the staff were very friendly. It is in a good location and the bed linen was clean, however the, supposedly, white towels were grey. Would we stay there again? No!
chrissy1234 asked a question Feb 2017
Lichfield, United Kingdom1 contribution2 helpful votes
I am disabled would there be a shower without a bath as I can not get over the bath
Answer from Lawlorshotel D
1 contribution
Dear Chrissy12, I am pleased to advise we have walk in showers, please contact the hotel in advance to make your request. We look forward to your visit.
D8Venturer wrote a tip 6 May
Dublin, Ireland448 contributions187 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a room at the front of the hotel"
Read full review
eugene m wrote a tip Feb 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't go there "
Read full review
Ben W wrote a tip Jan 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Free parking available! "
Read full review
eugene wrote a tip Oct 2023
Greystones, Ireland8 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check out nearby seafood restaurants for dinner unless you are settling for bar food at the hotel"
Read full review
Cliodna O wrote a tip Sept 2023
Celbridge, Ireland33 contributions20 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't stay here"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Dungarvan area.
PRICE RANGE
€125 - €180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of MunsterCounty WaterfordDungarvan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
89
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LAWLOR'S HOTEL DUNGARVAN - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (County Waterford) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
Which popular attractions are close to Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan?
Nearby attractions include Clonea Beach (0.3 km), Dungarvan Castle (0.3 km), and Waterford County Museum (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan?
Conveniently located restaurants include 360 Cookhouse, Tannery Restaurant, and The Moorings.
Is Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 km away from the centre of Dungarvan.
Does Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St. Mary's Church of Ireland Graveyard (0.3 km).
Is Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Dungarvan HotelsDungarvan Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in DungarvanHotels near Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire