We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center
Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center
Panoramas (43)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

188 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 148: English reviews
New York City, New York
Reviewed 15 July 2015 via mobile

My friend and I saw that Casa Zen had good reviews, so we decided to stay there. The room was really hot, with no natural air and somewhat expensive compared to other places in the town. The staff was not very friendly either. We rented bikes and after 30 minuets, two of them practically broke out of nowhere from not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dmtellatin
Julio C, Gerente at Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center, responded to this review

Dear Guest; Thank you very much for take a moment a write us a review. First of all I would like to apologize because I was a little exalted in the way talk to you at the time, I get little bit upset because you left the bicycle in the street and also just how your friend talk to my...

Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Reviewed 2 July 2015

The hostel is nicely decorated, facilities are fine and breakfast is lovely. The rooms are quite noisy though, I got out of my bed to ask the people in the dorm next door to lower down their voices, and it was not as if they were screaming. The atmosphere is like a budget backpackers hostel, which is fine if that's...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gerjanne V
Reviewed 16 June 2015 via mobile

We loved our stay at Casa Zen, If back in Santa Teresa we'd surely visit again! The accommodation is basic but very clean, And at night it is so quiet our sleep was serene. The breakfast of fruit and coffee and toast, For the price of the hostel, was what we valued the most. The sea was so close and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SoParso
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 14 June 2015

This place is a true hostel. A lot of common space, nets to relax when it´s raining your even you feel like a siesta. Good tips from the Staff (thank you Julio and Mariano). 2 minutes walk to the beach, 2 minute walk to the supermarket, a lot of different classes during the day, from yoga to fitness. 2 kitchens,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DanielCMF
Reviewed 25 May 2015 via mobile

Casa Zen is a beautiful hostel located in Santa Teresa. Everyone was really welcoming and the hostel seemed to be in high demand. We stayed 1 night in a dorm, and another couple of nights in a room with 4 beds. I had no complaints of either room. Casa Zen emphasizes having a low impact on the environment, so everything...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bethany-Logan M
Ireland
Reviewed 9 May 2015

Casa Zen is a gem. This jungle paradise 2 minutes from the beach is the best hostel I've stayed at. I stayed in a dorm room for 9 nights. The room has lockers, high ceilings and ceiling fans. The breakfast is great - piles of fruit and good coffee, the seating area and mezzanine are perfect for relaxing in, or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Spudyagain
Gilbert, Arizona
Reviewed 2 May 2015 via mobile

Me and my bf rented the studio for 5 days. we thought it was okay but the shower in the studio barely even works. there wasn't enough water for us to shower in so we ended up going downstairs and using the communal showers instead. Also if you are looking for any privacy the studio is horrible! Because it's connected...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnnaDD84
Austria
Reviewed 26 April 2015 via mobile

Casa zen is a nice wooden building sth cool staff and small but nice rooms it's close to the beach, but not walking distance to a god surf beach, if you rent atv's you will have a mad time. The showers are beyond pathetic, their water pressure take 1 min to fill a glass of water, trust me I tried...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank S P
Reviewed 13 April 2015 via mobile

My boyfriend and I booked a double bed for 4 nights, one month in advance. When we arrived, they showed us a tiny room with two twin beds. Uhhhh... When we asked about the beds, they reluctantly admitted they messed up our reservation and gave our room to someone else. They then suggested we push the beds together and call...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brittnee A
Julio C, Gerente at Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much to take your time and make a review for us, is always important to ear what our guest think or feel about us. We are sorry for the mistake, was our responsibility. When you make the reservation; double bed room, twin bed room and dormitory, after that you call to the reception to make...

Reviewed 8 April 2015

We had a very rough drive from Tamarindo to Santa Teresa but it was worth all the bumps in the road. Santa Teresa has the nicest natural beach I've ever seen. Casa Zen is conveniently located 1 min walk from the beach and right in front of a wonderful Argentine grill restaurant and a grocery store. Casa Zen will offer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Isabelle P

240 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (171)
Viewed
Amenities (42)
Viewed
Apartment (31)
Viewed
Double Room (12)
Viewed
Shared Bathrooms (8)
Viewed
Six Person Dorm (14)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)
Viewed
Triple Room (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
492 reviews
4.1 km away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#12 of 26 in Santa Teresa
282 reviews
0.4 km away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Casa del Mar Surf Destiny
Casa del Mar Surf Destiny
#16 of 32 in Santa Teresa
75 reviews
0.1 km away
Zula Inn Aparthotel
Zula Inn Aparthotel
#9 of 32 in Santa Teresa
201 reviews
1.0 km away
Casa MarBella
Casa MarBella
#1 of 26 in Santa Teresa
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Santa Teresa and Mal Pais are rather remote beach towns, and that is what makes them so special! Thankfully, even though we are a little off the beaten path, there are still quite a few services available to visitors. This is a excellent area to relax practicing of Yoga and Surf.On the first floor, we have six private rooms, ideal for single travelers, couples or pairs of friends. The rooms have either a double bed or two single beds. We also have two larger private rooms on the first floor, each with beds for three people. Scroll down for photos and prices for our private rooms. Upstairs you will find the apartment plus three additional rooms with varying capacities, featuring exterior doors as well as interior doors connecting to the apartment. An abundance of shared bathrooms are also located on the first floor (there are many to choose from and they are always clean!).We also have two well-equipped communal kitchens, including our signature chef’s kitchen, complete with a professional quality stove, microwave, blenders, and a giant stainless steel refrigerator. We offer a amazing Yoga deck with every day class. Our helpful, bilingual staff is always ready to help plan other tours and activities in the area, including surf lessons, canopy tours, stand up paddleboarding (SUP), visits to nearby waterfalls, fishing, sailing, snorkeling, horseback riding, ATV rentals and more. We can also assist you with restaurant recommendations, reservations and travel planning, so your trip can be totally relaxing and worry-free! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center

Address: Casa Zen Beach Acess | 50 mts West from Super Costa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Price Range: €18 - €63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Zen Hotel Santa Teresa
Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center Costa Rica/Santa Teresa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Private room with private bathroom was excellent and has kitchen and very clean”
 of 5 bubbles 293alannahm, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I believed rooms on the upper floor were a bit nicer”
 of 5 bubbles 86jasperw, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Stay on the first floor for the bathrooms. Stay upstairs for cool breeze and less noise.”
 of 5 bubbles Baltim0reNative, 6 Mar 2016 | Read review
“If you can do with sharing a bathroom, the double private rooms are a good deal!”
 of 5 bubbles erina264, 21 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Pick a double room with ceiling fan if available. We picked the 3 bed room and it lacked window”
 of 5 bubbles isabellep514, 8 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5