We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cuesta Arriba Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cuesta Arriba Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

230 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 175: English reviews
Start your review of Cuesta Arriba Hotel
 Click to rate
Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Cuesta Arriba is a great place for all travelers; families, solo and couples. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Its right across from the beach, close to a grocery store and restaurants. Very nice shared kitchen and accommodation. They have all the amenities you could ask for. A/C, WIFI, pool, etc.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 120sms13
Cuesta A, Owner at Cuesta Arriba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Victoria for spreading the voice about Cuesta Arriba. It is very hard for us to keep up with the demands of travelers from around the world. We work very hard to provide the best service / amenities to our guest without breaking the balance in the jungle! Your review is a clear statement of that!!! Cheers Barbara &...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Every traveller I met at cuesta Arriba agreed - there is something very special about this hostel! It's a fantastic place to meet people. The clean, refreshing swimming pool and huge kitchen really encourage interaction. The travellers I met here were the very best I've met in a month of travelling in Costa Rica. Cuesta Arriba seems to attract great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SavageTravels1001
Cuesta A, Owner at Cuesta Arriba Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Alison! We can tell you had a great time with us by your lines. We really love to know that we had a big part on your vacations and time in Santa Teresa. Thank you for sharing your experience! Cheers Barbara Cuesta Arriba Hotel

Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

Supper chilled, clean and lovely hostel. The staff was very lovely and helpful. I found it just by chance and it was only 5 minutes walk from the closest shop. Many surfers also staying here. It was a great stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maryllis G
Cuesta A, Owner at Cuesta Arriba Hotel, responded to this review

Hola Maryllis!!! We are happy to know that you had a good stay with us. Thank you for you nice rview. See you next time. Pura Vida!!!! Martin Meyer Cuesta Arriba Hotel

Palmares, Costa Rica
Reviewed 9 January 2017

The place is really nice, the hosts are very kind and they provide you all the information you need to get around Santa Teresa. The rooms are nice and clean, also the shared bathrooms and kitchen. It really worths the money (really cheap indeed), also the pool is really nice and clean

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rgalfaro
Cuesta A, Owner at Cuesta Arriba Hotel, responded to this review
Google Translation

Pura Vida! Thank you for your feedback! Hasta la proxima!!! Barbara and Martin Hotel Cuesta Arriba

Oakridge, Oregon
Reviewed 4 January 2017

This was my second time in two years staying here. Last year I stayed in a dorm room, but this year I was traveling with a buddy. We got a nice room with a loft. There is a communal kitchen, its close to the beach and waves and close to lots of food options. The vibe is always great. You...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marco R
Cuesta A, Owner at Cuesta Arriba Hotel, responded to this review

Hola Marco!!! Thank you for your nice words. We love to hear that you had a good time here with us. Hope to see you around next year again!!! Happy new year!!! Cheers Barbara and Martin Owners

Toronto, Ontario
Reviewed 31 December 2016

My boyfriend and myself really enjoyed staying in this hostel. It is one of the nicer hostels we have stayed in, with a pool and very nice clean rooms. The hotel management was very friendly and helpful and we met a lot of wonderful people. I would recommend staying here if you want a nice hostel experience in a bit...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 355katie
Cuesta A, Owner at Cuesta Arriba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Katie for your kind words!. We love to hear our guests experience in the hotel. We cant wait to host you again! Happy new year!!! Cheers Barbara & Martin Cuesta Arriba Hotel

Reviewed 29 December 2016

I was traveling on my own in Santa Teresa and I loved staying at Cuesta Arriba. It was quiet, close to an incredible yoga studio, had an incredible beach 100 m away that had great surf, and was close to a good soda and a really cool smoothie shop. The kitchen allowed me to cook food, and it was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex D
Cuesta A, Owner at Cuesta Arriba Hotel, responded to this review

Hola Alex!!! Thank you for doing this nice review! We love to know how was your experience at Cuesta Arriba so we can improve for your next visit. We really hope you make it back someday...Until then...have fun and enjoy the ride. Cheers from Julia Barbara and Martin

Seal Beach, California
Reviewed 18 December 2016

We were looking to try and not spend to much money, so the Cuesta Arriba came through for us in that regard. It has a nice location. On the northern part of town which is more mellow. Although the disco is across the street.... we never heard it. It is a simple walk to the beach. There is a good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joewabing
Cuesta A, Owner at Cuesta Arriba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We remember that night. It was a terrible rain storm in town that came out of nowhere and all of the sudden the whole town had an electric blackout and huge flooding everywhere. nobody could sleep that night. We apologize for any inconveniences caused. Cuesta Arriba Hotel Martin

United States
Reviewed 1 December 2016

This is my go to place to stay in Santa Teresa. It has a great room options, from a bigger dorm to small 4-bed rooms to nice lofts and private rooms for either solo travelers or small groups (the rooms have lockers too for your valuables). They're kept very clean with good mattresses. The kitchen is great, a big fridge,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andresito7777
Cuesta A, Owner at Cuesta Arriba Hotel, responded to this review

Hola Andres!!! Thank you for your nice words. We are happy to know that you enjoyed our place that much. Thank you for spreading the voice about us. It's been 12 years of hard work to give our guest the best we can and it is very nice to receive your feed back about it. We really enjoyed your company...

Reviewed 23 September 2016

We had a great time at Cuesta Arriba in the private room shrd bath. Everyone was really friendly and helpful. The pool and kitchen facilities are perfect, and the place is literally a three minute walk away from the beach. Not to future travellers: The Soda next to the hostel has the best casados we had in all of Costa...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gr_nisenvel
Cuesta A, Owner at Cuesta Arriba Hotel, responded to this review

Pura Vida!!! Thank you for sharing your Cuesta Arriba experience. I'm glad to know that everything went well and you enjoyed your stay!!! Come back soon!!! Cheers Martin Cuesta Arriba Hotel

84 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.1 km away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#7 of 26 in Santa Teresa
314 reviews
1.7 km away
Esencia Hotel & Villas
Esencia Hotel & Villas
#21 of 26 in Santa Teresa
119 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#15 of 26 in Santa Teresa
326 reviews
0.7 km away
Beach Break Surf Hotel
Beach Break Surf Hotel
#22 of 26 in Santa Teresa
61 reviews
1.5 km away
Casa del Mar Surf Destiny
Casa del Mar Surf Destiny
#16 of 32 in Santa Teresa
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A Colonial-style hotel surrounded by trees and tropical gardens with unique affordable rooms. The hotel features a communal kitchen,resting areas, hammocks and a sparkling pool in the landscaped garden. Complimentary coffee served at 8AM, free parking and Wireless is also offered. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cuesta Arriba Hotel

Address: 150 meters North From La Lora Amarilla, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Price Range: €27 - €66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Cuesta Arriba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuesta Arriba Bed And Breakfast Hostel
Cuesta Arriba Hotel Santa Teresa
Cuesta Arriba Hotel Costa Rica/Santa Teresa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cuesta Arriba Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
9 days ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Cuesta Arriba Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All are rooms are great. It depends what kind of traveler you are and what you are looking for.”
 of 5 bubbles 513marcor, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Great location. Quiet. Cute. Clean. Affordable. PERFECT!”
  • Sunset at Playa Santa Teresa
  • Bedroom entrance. So nice to chill on these chairs!
 of 5 bubbles melissacolleret, 10 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Room with a window”
 of 5 bubbles Gillianmont, 24 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Book a Petite or Grande room if you want to sleep better; A/C and your own private room.”
 of 5 bubbles Frenchartistnyc, 28 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Rooms depend on your budget. I was there a short time so chose the larger room with AC. Also, rooms in the upper areas are farther away from street noise.”
 of 5 bubbles 496lizp, 12 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5