We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Allegro Papagayo

14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,859 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Allegro Papagayo
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,518: English reviews
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewed 15 September 2015

Since I have little positive things to say on this resort, this review will be short! The facilities look old. Our bedroom smelled bad, the air conditioner leaked a lot of water. The toilet was dirty. The bed was not comfy :( The food is awful, there are a very few options and the meat was kind of an urban...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Edwin H
Yuran V, Yuran Vargas Guest Experience Manager at Allegro Papagayo, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for your comments. Thats right this hotel is for families. Next time go to the Grand that is only for adults and it is quiet. We hope you have a great day. Best regards,

Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Reviewed 14 September 2015 via mobile

First of all, we waited for an hour an half for our room. Once we got to our room, the keys were not properly configured so we had to ask one of the housekeepers to open the room for us. We called the front desk two times and asked them to send someone with properly configured keys but they never...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Claudia R
Yuran V, Yuran Vargas Guest Experience Manager at Allegro Papagayo, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for your last comment. For us it was a pleasure have you here. We hope so see you any time. Best regards

Albia, Iowa
Reviewed 12 September 2015 via mobile

I had never left the United States until I visited Costa Rica in July-August 2015. My boyfriend and I (both male) spent three days at a resort in Arenal, it was amazing and the staff was very friendly. Then we stayed at the Allegro Resort. On the last day we were standing in the pool, not any closer than any...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank YoungTrav0009
Yuran V, Yuran Vargas Guest Experience Manager at Allegro Papagayo, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for your comment. About that, we are a familiar resort. And we try to keep everything in the same way. Next time choose Grand Papagayo There you can enjoy your love without any problem. Also we really sorry your experience. Best Regards

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 8 September 2015 via mobile

I don't know where to start with this place...I guess the very few positives. Staff was nice, cleaning service was good...that's it. Biggest issue was the food- absolutely AWFUL. Cardboard-like, tasteless, flies and bees everywhere in the dining area crawling around food kept outside and drink stations..."greeted" us with ROTTEN fruit waiting for us in our room, everything was sadly...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank mmh15143
Yuran V, Yuran Guest Experience Manager at Allegro Papagayo, responded to this review

Dear Guest Let me tell you that the flies and bees will be in all the area cause there's no rain. The water in the all resort is warm. Maybe you like other kind of food. But here we give you everyday a different menu. About the monkey's theme we have a very big sign the saids "Please do not...

Toronto, Ontario
Reviewed 7 September 2015

Once we checked in we realized we needed to rent a car immediately. We are not ones to stay in a hotel for our vacation...we love to explore and see...be part of the culture. We literally only slept here and has breakfast. On one or two occasions we had dinner and even went to the disco for a couple of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Beach Bum W
Yuran V, Yuran Vargas, Guest Experience Manager at Allegro Papagayo, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are very sorry that we haven't met your expectations, we would like to sincerely apologize. Also, we want to let you know that all of your comments and opinions will be taken into account to offer a better service in the future and we will submit them to all departments in charged to correct these issues. Once...

Hamilton, Canada
Reviewed 6 September 2015 via mobile

We stayed for 2 weeks during their low season of August and to be honest I was a tad bit skeptical after some seriously negative reviews.. So glad we went! When booking our trip, we asked for an Anniversary package, which was verified again on a follow up call. Upon arrival of course they knew nothing about it and basically...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank theharpers2373
Yuran V, Yuran Vargas, Guest Experience Manager at Allegro Papagayo, responded to this review

Dear Guest First at all thank you for writing in this web site. We are working hard in getting better. First of all we would like to apologize for your dissapointment in your recent vacation with us. Our clients' opinion is very important to improve our services. We deeply regret not having been able to full fit your expectations on...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 4 September 2015

We planned some quiet alone time after our annual family reunion, and Allegro Papagayo fit the bill. We were picked up at the airport by the shuttle service. Don't let the porters take your luggage for the 20-foot distance to your shuttle; deal only with those who have your name and the company logo! Our room was in building 5,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jaccovelli
Yuran V, Yuran Vargas, Guest Service Manager at Allegro Papagayo, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for the time you have invested in the compiling your nice review about you recent stay. We are truly greatful to have you here in our hotel. Thank you for your coments it help us for being better every day. We hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you again to your home at...

New York
Reviewed 1 September 2015

We had a wedding for 21 people in August. The staff was great in making sure we had all we wanted and more. They made sure my bride and I had fresh fruit, champange, and flowers each day. They also arranged to have all our guest stay in one building which was awesome. Everyone on staff knew who we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shawn P
Henderson, Nevada
Reviewed 28 August 2015

I stayed at this resort and had a life-changing phenomenal vacation! The resort was spectacular, and the nightly performers were magnificent!! The room, food, views, pool, beach, and the performers were wonderful!!

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Mimijim69
Yuran V, Yuran Vargas, Guest Experience Mananager at Allegro Papagayo, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. It's so nice seeing that your stay with us was so good. We are looking fordward to have you here very soon. We're in charge of overcome your last expectations next time. Best regards, Yuran Vargas Guest Experience Manager

Reviewed 28 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed for 4 days and the stay was amazing the hotel was beautiful filled with awesome staff starting from registering. Keyshell, Jason, Walter, Maria Fernanda and everyone else that whose name I did not catch did an amazing job on all the presentations and just being friendly and outgoing and helpful and nice at all times. We are looking...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jenny D
Yuran V, Yuran Vargas, Guest Experience Manager at Allegro Papagayo, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First at all, thanks for commenting in this web site. For our hotel it was a pleasure to have you here. We are working hard every day for making our service better for you. We hope to see you againg here. Best Regards, Yuran Vargas Guest Experience Manager

1,688 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1688)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (406)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (460)
Viewed
Room/Suite (95)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (16)
Viewed
View from Room (86)
Viewed
Bathroom (41)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
Other (539)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gulf of Papagayo hotels
1.3 km away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,441 reviews
6.0 km away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
5.8 km away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#2 of 3 in Playa Panama
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,536 reviews
6.5 km away
Occidental Papagayo - Adults only
Occidental Papagayo - Adults onl...
#7 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
3,059 reviews
17.0 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Allegro Papagayo

Address: Playa Manzanillo | P.O. Box 48-5000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range: €196 - €425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Allegro Papagayo 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Allegro Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allegro Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Allegro Papagayo Costa Rica/Gulf Of Papagayo
Allegro Papagayo Gulf Of
Allegro Papagayo Occidental
Costa Rica Occidental
Occidental Papagayo
Allegro Papagayo Resort
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#6 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Allegro Papagayo staff and other travellers.
111 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (111)

Questions? Get answers from Allegro Papagayo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Call a few days before the trip and request building 10 or 11”
AndreaEA22, 27 Jan 2016 | Read review
“lower the better.”
X5317YNjimc, 21 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Go to the Occidental Grand Pappagayo instead”
IanG298, 29 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Go somewhere else.”
Jazzyjan12, 27 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Dont stay here if you want to enjoy your vacation”
rjt732, 17 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Hotwire.com
CheapTickets
HotelQuickly
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates