We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Resort Penang

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,988 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Resort Penang
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,796: English reviews
Malaysia
Reviewed 18 December 2014

We've booked a triple bed room and it was spacious and clean. It was peak season and they were running out of towels but they were delivered as promised.lobby was quite big and have enough sofas and seats to accommodate large crowds.staffs are good and friendly.overall it was a nice experience staying there.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wongyss
Matt_Beroujon, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this review

Dear Wongyss, Greetings from Holiday Inn Resort Penang! Thank you for sharing your review with us on Tripadvisor. I am happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments about our rooms and also our friendly team. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Penang. Sincerely, Jean-matthieu Beroujon...

Hong Kong
Reviewed 16 December 2014

Purchased cheap air tickets to Penang for a vacation of three days with a friend. We didn't have the patience to search hotel by hotel so we decided to just book a room on whatever beach hotel we see. And this made us to Holiday Inn Resort. We booked on the official site a basic hill-view room with about RM800...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Brian_ip_HK
Matt_Beroujon, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this review

Dear Brian_ip_HK, Warmest greetings from Holiday Inn Resort Penang. Many thanks for the valuable feedback that you have posted on Tripadvisor. I am pleased that we were able to provide you with a memorable experience and I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We greatly appreciate your compliments about our front desk staff being helpful...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 15 December 2014

stayed here for two nights with my family...took the room at the beach wing with a sea view and paid nearly rm600 per night...but i found it not worth for the price that i've paid...i have to wait for more than half an hour because the room was not ready...after we get the key & the room were quite disappointing...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank uninvitedguest82
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this review

Dear uninvitedguest82, Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I truly apologize for the not up to par experience you had during you stay with us. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously....

Melbourne Beach, Florida
Reviewed 13 December 2014

We were a group of 10 and stayed at the beach side of the hotel. Better to stay here. We looked over the pool and out to the sea. Staff were great and Wednesday is afternoon tea with the management. Great would stay there again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lozza055
Matt_Beroujon, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this review

Dear Iozza055, Warm greetings from Holiday Inn Resort Penang. Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. I am happy to hear that you and your friends had a wonderful holiday with us. Thank you for your compliments upon our staff and I am glad that you liked our guest cocktail party. We certainly look forward...

Thatcham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2014

The Holiday Inn Penang consists of two buildings/wings (the Beach Wing and the Tower Wing) and each has their own reception/check-in. I recently spent 6 nights in the Tower wing and was upgraded to a Sea-view room (1027). For the price I paid it represents good value for money especially for Batu Ferringhi - I've paid more for inferior hotels...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Burtie
Matt_Beroujon, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this review

Dear Burtie, Warm greetings from Holiday Inn Resort Penang. Thank you for taking some of your precious time to share your experience with us on Tripadvisor and I am pleased that we were able to provide you with a memorable stay. We greatly appreciate your compliments on rooms as well as, our dedicated team, especially Didi and Rosiah for their...

Ipoh,Perak
Reviewed 11 December 2014

I just arrived and checked in but we have two room and have checked in one room only and the other we still pending for the room. We have pending the room for 1 hour! Total all the envinronment are good! We are still pending the room! If any traveller are coming or planning to visit penang, Welcome! If you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kok Chung W
Matt_Beroujon, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this review

Dear Kok Chung W, Greetings from Holiday Inn Resort Penang! Thank you for your comments posted on Tripadvisor. Please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience you have experienced with the delay during check in. Please rest assured that I have shared your feedback with our Front Office Manager for future improvement to ensure that we maintain a high quality...

Reviewed 9 December 2014

I stayed at holiday inn for a total of 4 nights. The ride from the airport to the hotel cost about 70MYR. The rooms were very clean and spacious. The view facing the sea was amazing. There was a local hawker centre located about 10 minutes walk away and several bars along the beach for a perfect way to enjoy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ng N
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 7 December 2014

Just returned from a two nights stay in this hotel and our third time staying in this hotel. This is considered the most reasonable hotel in terms of rates in the Batu Feringghi area. Overall, the stay was okay. There are many dining options available within walking distance. One of our favourite place is the restaurant at the junction further...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ckyy
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this review

Dear Ckyy, Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. I appreciate you choosing us for your lodging needs. However, this time we have not met your expectations. I am disappointed to hear that your stay was negatively affected by the condition of the dining area and the level of service....

Cakovec, Croatia
Reviewed 6 December 2014

Stayed there for 3 nights. We had a room in tower. Room was spacious and clean with free wifi. Staff was very very frendly and viiling to help you. Breakfast is very good with lot of different food to taste.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marko S
Matt_Beroujon, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this review

Dear Marko S, Many thanks for your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am pleased that we were able to provide you with a memorable experience and I am happy to hear your compliments about our rooms, breakfast and our staff being friendly. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to have another great experience with us in the near future....

New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 6 December 2014

We stayed here for four nights and were underwhelmed. The room on arrival was very hot, with sub streaming through the glass doors, it was musty, smelly and didn't improve much over the stay, except for the temperature. Although there were three of us, they didn't have the correct amount of towels, no bath mat, a smelly, dirty blanket and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gmac_1961
Matt_Beroujon, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this review

Dear Gmac_1961, Greetings from Holiday Inn Resort Penang. Thank you for your valuable feedback and for taking the time to write a comment of your experience with us on Tripadvisor. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you experienced whilst staying with us. I was most concerned to read about your comment in regards to the smell and room...

1,405 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1198)
Viewed
View from Room (83)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (156)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (203)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (18)
Viewed
Dining (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (218)
Viewed
Bathroom (48)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
2:56
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (411)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (157)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
Beach (16)
Viewed
Pool (38)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Seaview King Room (Beach Wing) (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.6 km away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.7 km away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
1,590 reviews
1.4 km away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
3,276 reviews
0.7 km away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
1,336 reviews
2.5 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
#1 of 7 in Tanjung Bungah
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Resort Penang, together with its excellent location in the heart of famous Batu Ferringhi makes it easily accessible to the Night Market, shops and restaurants. The resort is situated right on the beach, split into two buildings- the Beach Wing, located at the beachside, or Ferringhi Tower, located directly across the road to the beach. The Ferringhi Tower commands spectacular views of both the hills and sea front and is linked by an overhead covered walkway. 358 spacious rooms with a great combination of Family Studios and Kidsuites, the resort is perfect for families and couples looking for a retreat. To also make your every moment of your stay an absolute delight, we make every dining experience special in its own way. As the only hotel offering speciality Northern Indian cuisine, it will be feast that will leave you with 'spicy' memories. At the Holiday Inn Resort Penang, you will discover an exotic way to truly enjoy your vacation and cherish every minute of it. Right from the warmth of the people, the quaint sights & sounds of the island's rich cultural heritage and the rejuvenating hospitality of Holiday Inn Resort Penang. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Penang

Address: 72 Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Price Range: €50 - €109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, IHG, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Holiday Inn Penang
Holiday Inn Georgetown
Georgetown Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Batu Ferringhi
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Resort Penang staff and other travellers.
47 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (47)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Resort Penang staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Beach Wing with Sea View - higher floors the best”
 of 5 bubbles cgmeyer, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Tower block rooms newer than main hotel & quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles SuffolkKitten, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the beach side.”
 of 5 bubbles , 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Book the rooms in the Beach-wing if you want to be close to the restaurants, pool and the beach...”
 of 5 bubbles Shailup, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All the Kids Suites face the road, none face the ocean. We ate at the local hawkers market called Long Beach, it was great.”
 of 5 bubbles 96traceyp, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay