We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La

Visit hotel website
Traveller (2596)
Room & Suite (638)
Video (1)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice 2019 Winner
The Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, is recognized as one of Malaysia's leading family-and-kid-friendly resorts. With a breezy beachfront location, this 4-star resort on Batu Feringgi Beach is filled with facilities for dining, leisure and recreation that will surely keep any multi-generational family happily occupied. An outdoor Jacuzzi in the garden and two swimming pools with water slides are available. Childcare services allowing adults on holiday with their family to enjoy some private time away from their children. At our mini water park, children and toddlers can interact safely, playing on the splash pad, which has a safe floor surface and includes many water features, such as showers and tipping buckets. The 387 guest rooms and suites expose captivating views of the ocean or the rolling Penang hills and seamlessly blend graceful colonial style décor and contemporary comforts. Each has traditional Malay touches inspired by Penang’s natural environment.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room service
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Airport transportation
Babysitting
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Outdoor pool
Shuttle Bus Service
Tennis Court
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Minibar
Refrigerator in room
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Bay View
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Offers & Announcements:Family Fun Package
Hotel deals
3,678Reviews
3,077Photos
79Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,419
  • 1,349
  • 540
  • 215
  • 157
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I just check in today at Golden Sands Penang – the 2 rooms were booked in advance - 2 adjoining rooms for coming lunar new year with my family entourage - incl. our elderly parents. To my dismal / pretty much hilarious come to think of it now :{ After a long 6-7 hrs journey, we
Read more
Response from SL_Penang1, Manager at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Kevin W, Thank you for your time reviewing our resort. We regret to read that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. We have taken notes on your comments with regards to each and every constructive points. We do apologize for the inconveniences during your stay. I am really disappointed to hear about the issues related the room, services and cleanliness. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced. I fully understand your emotions and sentiments for what transpired. The resort is running at a very high occupancy over this period. We are currently working on the rooms and corridors in phases as we speak to further improve our guest staying's experience. We have taken good note of your comments and truly regret the negative impression reflected. It is certainly most unfortunate that we fell short on this occasion and apologize for the incident. Please be rest assured that we have looked into this issue raised seriously with the aim to improve. Best regards, Suleiman TAR Director of Communications
Read more
Beautiful beach side property from Shangri La! Food choices slightly limited for vegetarians. Airport drop off services available. In-house masseuse at the beachside are a god send! Overall lovely stay. Recommend this if you are looking forward to staying in the hotel all time
Read more
Response from SL_Penang1, Manager at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
Responded 29 Jan 2019
Dear travelight18, Thank you for choosing Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La for your holiday trips! We are thrilled to hear that you had an amazing time during your stay with us and were satisfied with the quality of our resort and yes, we do offer airport drop off services for our guest. Nevertheless, its been a pleasure to serve you as our guest and we are looking forward to welcome you back again to experience our hospitality at its best! Best regards, Suleiman TAR Director of Communications
Read more
Wonderful! Well priced. Clean room. Great view. Great service. Friendly service team. Great breakfast included. Beach. Night market. Pools are perfect and great for adults and kids. What more could you want?!
Read more
Response from SL_Penang1, Manager at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
Responded 29 Jan 2019
Dear hyramflyer, Thank you for choosing Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La for your holiday trips! We are thrilled to learn that you and your family had a fabulous time together during your stay and were satisfied with the quality of our resort and our team's performance. In addition, we are also glad to hear that you were satisfied with our facilities and the quality of our wide range of food selection during the breakfast buffet. Nevertheless, we would like to thank you once again for staying with us and it's been a great pleasure to serve you as our guest. We are looking forward to welcome you back again to experience our hospitality at its best! Best regards, Suleiman TAR Director of Communications
Read more
Well I’m a little disappointed with The Golden Sand Resort by Shangri-La the service seemed alright in the beginning as I’m a member of the Shangri-La chains of Hotels & was treated well , but the resort was rude on 2 occasions, 1- we were yelled to get out of the pool at 8pm
Read more
Response from SL_Penang1, Manager at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
Responded 25 Jan 2019
Dear lisakV257YC, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry and would like to sincerely apologise for the unacceptable treatments you had received on a couple of occasions. It is definitely not our culture to be rude but to advise our guests politely regarding our closing hours and also regarding the "No Outside Food Policy". We will continue to improve by training our colleagues so that we can provide our guests with an excellent stay during their holiday with us. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort sometime in the near future for a truly Shangri-La experience. Best regards, Suleiman TAR Director of Communications
Read more
+1
Checked in during the long holiday so hotel was running at maximum occupancy. We booked 2 superior rooms and were given room 157 &159. Checked in late in the evening, so didnt have much of a wait to check in. Upon going up to the room, there was an overwhelming stench coming
Read more
Response from SL_Penang1, Manager at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
Responded 25 Jan 2019
Dear ElleAaliyah, Thank you for sharing your stay experience with us. We are sorry to hear about the initial challenge you had encountered regarding the stench in your room which had been resolved amicably. We are glad to hear that the rest of your stay had been pleasant. Looking forward to welcoming you and your family back for another fun-filled holiday! Best regards, Suleiman TAR Director of Communications
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Family and Play AreasBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorGolden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
The Executive Seaview Room at the Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorGolden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
The Executive Seaview Room at the Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorGolden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
The Deluxe Seafacing Room at the Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
bedroom1
Deluxe Seafacing Rooms Gorgeous xxx
PreviousNext
123456128
Is it far from island hospital, mall or eating place?
As many have mentioned, there are malls & hospitals within 30 mins of Batu Ferringhi, altho there are local clinics & doctors nearby & most of the hotels have access to medical facilities if required. Plenty of eating places nearby, including on site restaurants & bars, but local ‘makan’ eateries such as Longbeach are within walking distance. You would definitely have lots of choice for eating, drinking, partying in the local area. Buses stop outside the Golden Sands & are a cheap & reliable transport option for travelling further afield. There is a taxi rank across the road & if you download the ‘Grab’ application to your phone, you can get a car from almost anywhere in Penang & they are cheaper than taxis. Hope you enjoy your stay at Golden Sands as much as we did.
0 votes
Show all answers
Depending on occupancy, they may accommodate. Best to check directly with the hotel for the specific check-in date.
0 votes
Show all answers
Can i get package for honeymoon from this hotel?
Yes, I think can, just ask the person in charge through their messenger...They will give u a response or recommendation about what u would like to know more details.
0 votes
Can i get package for honeymoon from this hotel?
Please ask the Hotel directly, there is a good chance they want to make it a memorable event for you. Congrats by the way !
0 votes
How much does it costs for cab from airport to this hotel?
use grab (E-Hailing Services) which is the most efficient and transparent charges.
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12345616
"If you want a good sea view choose a room on floor 5, 6 or 7"
"Choose a room with a balcony...they are so much nicer."
"sea view rooms best"
"A sea view is a must."
"The best rooms are facing the sea, we were on the opposite side facing the road and didn't have a balcony"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$81 - US$177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
golden sands resort by shangri-la hotel batu ferringhigolden sands batu ferringhi
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Shangri-la's Golden Sands Resort
LOCATION
MalaysiaPenangPenang IslandBatu Ferringhi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
387
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing