We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Management photos
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

457 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 417: English reviews
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Clean, friendly and helpful. They even called to book some tours for us, gave us a few tips about stuff to do in the area and even got us a discount. They'll even give you flashlights to go explore some spots with gloworms if you feel like a little night walknin the woods. The breakfast was also quite tasty. Highly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan P
colinWaitomo, Owner at Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. The Ruakuri Bush walk is frequently the highlight of visitor's stay in Waitomo, both the daytime and the night walk. More 

Sunnyvale, CA
Level Contributor
214 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Stayed here the first two nights of our trip. When I was reserving the place I sent e-mail back & forth with Colin & Janet and they were very quick to respond. Then after I made the room reservation I sent a long e-mail asking questions about various tours and didn't hear from them for over a day. I figured... More 

Helpful?
Thank lanamom
colinWaitomo, Owner at Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. We are right in the centre of the village, close to all amenities. We are more than willing to advise on activities in the area if we know what sort of activities our guests want. We can, and do, book any trip required, at no extra cost. More 

CONCORD
Level Contributor
177 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

First off, Thank You to Colin and Janet. We only stayed one night but they were wonderful. Some extremely helpful suggestions regarding the restaurants to eat at (Huhu and Morepak Pizzeria & Bar) and when to visit the caves. The B&B is very cozy. Nice rooms, updated bathrooms including showers and Sky TV. Breakfast in the morning was really nice... More 

Helpful?
Thank Traveleasier
colinWaitomo, Owner at Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. We do have some cereals and bread suitable for the gluten-free travelers. More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed here after seeing Marokopa Falls and Gloworm Caves. The owners are very familiar with the area and provided a hearty breakfast the next morning. We only stayed for the one night but found a great pizza/beer place within walking distance. They also have a full laundry set-up with a speedy wash/dry time which is VERY nice when you're in... More 

Helpful?
Thank RachelU178
colinWaitomo, Owner at Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. We are right in the middle of the village so everything is nice and close. Most of our rooms have great views over the surrounding countryside. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

The owenrs of this guest lodge are really friendly and great at giving advice. We just turned up in the afternoon and took one of the cabins for the night. Especially Colins biscuits! It is in a great location to enjoy some of the glow worm cave activities and just opposite the Huhu restaurant which was fantastic.

Helpful?
Thank Alice T
colinWaitomo, Owner at Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. Hopefully we'll see you back sometime in the not too distant future to try some of the other great activities in the area. We are only 2.5hr from Auckland. More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
78 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

The brilliant hosts went out of their way to make us feel at ease. If you're looking for something more than just a place to catch some rest, I'd strongly recommend staying at this lodge. Colin strived to meet each guest's specific needs, connect with guests over a hearty breakfast, provide guests valuable local advise so that they could enjoy... More 

Helpful?
Thank meixuan w
colinWaitomo, Owner at Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review. The main reason visitors choose a B&B is to find out about the local scene and unlike information centres we can, and do, recommend what we think is best for our guests so they can enjoy their Waitomo experience to the full. More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We were greeted very warmly by Colin and Janet, who were extremely helpful with tourist advice, and recommended the Ruakuri Bushwalk in the evening to spot some glowworms. Colin even provided some useful torchlights for the walk. The room was really cosy with heated blankets and Colin's delicious homemade biscuits! We stayed in Room 6 which had amazing unobstructed views,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jessica C
colinWaitomo, Owner at Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. It is almost without exception that the people who choose room 6 want WiFi and it is the only room with poor reception. But it is accessible everywhere else, at no cost, and the views from #6 are great to make up for it! More 

Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

The hosts went out of their way providing advice, service and an extensive continental breakfast. They really went out of their way for me. I forgot my phone charger, and they posted it on to where i was staying later in trip to NZ. Thanks a lot guys.

Helpful?
Thank Warwick J
colinWaitomo, Owner at Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. Phone chargers tend to breed in accommodation places, so if you do lose yours ask at the next place you stay. More 

Chicago
Level Contributor
62 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

I want to give this place a great review, but I just walked away with an okay experience. We knew we were doing the spellbound tour when we arrived, so not much for them to help us with to be fair and it was raining that evening, so nighttime walk. The wifi was great to have as we were trying... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank tlb999
colinWaitomo, Owner at Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're sorry you did not feel a friendly 'vibe'. Both of us spent quite a lot of time trying to help you with your time in Waitomo and helping you plan your time in Napier just before you left us. You stayed in our little cottage, which is far from basic. Our large continental breakfast... More 

Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2013

A lovely welcome from Janet and Colin, after travelling for 48hours non-stop. Great tourist advice: the Spellbound tour was stunning and the Ruakuri Bushwalk, by day and night will remain in our memories for a long time. Stayed in No.1 with some stunning views across the rolling hillside, which we admired from our verranda. The buffet breakfast was varied and... More 

Helpful?
Thank BLB2019
colinWaitomo, Owner at Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge, responded to this review

We're glad you enjoyed your stay in Waitomo. We always encourage our guests to do the Ruakuri bush walk day and night walks. An experience like no other. We hope you come and visit us again some time. More 

115 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (111)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitomo Caves
1.4 km away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
434 reviews
4.0 km away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
206 reviews
0.1 km away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
66 reviews
6.0 km away
Caves Motor Inn
Caves Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
72 reviews
8.1 km away
Waitomo Lodge
Waitomo Lodge
#1 of 3 in Te Kuiti
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Right in the heart of Waitomo Caves village, opposite the award winning Huhu Café and just a short walk to the Waitomo i-Site/Discovery Centre, the Waitomo Glowworm Caves, cave adventure tourist operators, the tavern and pizzeria. 8 quality ensuite studio units in a beautiful, peaceful, garden setting, with lovely views over the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge

Address: 7 Waitomo Village Road, Waitomo Caves 3943, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo Caves
Price Range: €71 - €103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waitomo Caves Guest Hotel Waitomo Caves
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Melbourne, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room no.1 had a nice view”
 of 5 bubbles moniamie, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 3 if you are lucky”
 of 5 bubbles GDay1044, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Not room 6 if you want wifi”
 of 5 bubbles 148cate, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 - nice views, privacy.”
 of 5 bubbles A8672NJsusanl, 7 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Best views room is in the second floor. Or book a room which has a balcony to get nice views.”
 of 5 bubbles natchareeh2016, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay