We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Woodlyn Park

TripAdvisorUS$123*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$127*
US$123*
US$127*
US$127*
US$124*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Woodlyn Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

235 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 216: English reviews
Start your review of Woodlyn Park
 Click to rate
George Town, null, Cayman Islands
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed in mid May at the Woodlyn Park Train carriage with our two little boys. It is absolutely brilliant! Set in a valley of hobbit country with rolling fields and animals grazing outside your window, we had ample time to sit out on the deck or read our book in the living area. A triple bunk room at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie F
Ipswich, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in the Hobbit House which was a fun experience for the kids. We were there over Easter and the area experienced a lot of rain so our caves experience was cancelled and we were stuck inside a lot with a 2, 11, and 13 year old. The TV was a box from the 1980's and in desperate need...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sugarbooger77
Sydney
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had the tail of the plane and it's very unique. It can sleep 4 people. Yes the shower is small and inside is a little cramped but it is what it is so enjoy it. The manager was kind enough to tell us of some spots to drive to - Marokopa falls, Mangapohue natural bridge, Piripiri caves etc -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tysontrip
kiwicommonsense, Front Office Manager at Woodlyn Park, responded to this review

Not very often that you get to sleep so soundly on a plane, yes space is limited but we prefer the authenticity of our accommodation, and are happy when people accept it. We are also glad we were able to inspire you to enjoy some of our gorgeous local scenery.

Tirau, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very disappointed, musty, damp and desperately needs refurbishing with interior/exterior to an acceptable and safe standard. Grounds were over grown and untidy. Light switch above bunk came out from wall exposing dangerous wires. Potentially dangerous for young children if sleeping there. I would not recommend this accommodation as a pleasant nor safe place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeffy1962
kiwicommonsense, Owner at Woodlyn Park, responded to this review

With 3 weddings and a 50th birthday party, a function every weekend in the month you visited and raving reveiws about the setting from all , i cant see how the overgrown comment can be applied ,The only conclusion is that you may be talking about the large trees either side of driveway which have now meet above the drive...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 April 2017

We stayed in the rail car with our teenage children, who thought it was really cool. The staff are friendly and very helpful pointing us to a number of local natural attractions we would have missed. The facilities are good (clean, well equipped basic kitchen, bathroom, and the rooms are not musty smelling) - we had everything we needed. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Moana O
kiwicommonsense, Front Office Manager at Woodlyn Park, responded to this review

We are so pleased you were able to spend enough time to enjoy the peace and serenity that goes with the Waitomo Express, its nice to sit, relax and enjoy the views from the Carriage.

Auckand
Reviewed 11 April 2017

We were looking forward to staying at this unique motel as we have visited it in the past and had a great experience staying in the Hobbit rooms. This time we stayed in the titanic and found it to be tired drab and very musty smelling in the downstairs bedrooms. These could have been vastly improved with small adjustments eg...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndyAuckand
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewed 4 April 2017

When my friends and I first saw this option for our trip to New Zealand, we couldn't believe a place like this existed! We stayed one night in a unit in the Britannic, which was perfect for the four of us especially as it had our own bathroom and little kitchenette. The location was beautiful and quiet, and the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ManaFran
kiwicommonsense, Front Office Manager at Woodlyn Park, responded to this review

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday

Pukekohe, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 April 2017

I chose this place because it looked a cool and fun place to stay with a lot of history. It looked a lovely unique place based on the photo’s they supplied on their website, which is now out of date and a bit of a lie sadly it looks nothing like this today. It is total overgrown to the point...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Strider_90
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

First off, it is definitely unique! We stayed in both the plane and the hobbit. It's close by to the little village and surrounded by lots of countryside. And of course, what comes with countryside is insects. So just be prepared, but nothing to worry about other than the normal being in the country. Also, Shelly was great and very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank psutton123
Toowoomba, Australia
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed a night in the hobbit motel, with our 2 children. They were so excited to be sleeping in a hobbit house... and I found the bed to be extremely comfortable and the unit was clean and well maintained. Easy access to the township of Waitomo and the caves. So glad we took the opportunity to stay here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank turks4

159 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (151)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitomo Caves
1.3 km away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
507 reviews
5.3 km away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
81 reviews
1.0 km away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
372 reviews
5.3 km away
Caves Motor Inn
Caves Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
88 reviews
8.5 km away
Waitomo Lodge
Waitomo Lodge
#1 of 3 in Te Kuiti
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Woodlyn Park

Address: 1177 Waitomo Valley Road, RD7, Waitomo Caves, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo Caves
Price Range: €102 - €121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodlyn Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Woodlyn Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlyn Park North Island
Woodlyn Park Hotel North Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Woodlyn Park staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Woodlyn Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The train carriage is independent so with small kids you don't feel like you are disturbing anyone!”
BonnieF29, 26 May 2017 | Read review
“There's a range of unique rooms available”
tysontrip, 6 May 2017 | Read review
“Read the reviews of other rooms”
M0anaO, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Avoid titanic. Can't on state of other rooms”
AndyAuckand, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“For the Plane, the cockpit and tail guests have parking on opposite sides so they are completely separated.”
  • Great big door leading to bunk bed + bathroom to left and kitchen + double bed to right.
253kmv, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$123* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$127
Hotels.comUS$124
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates