We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Crane Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,381 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Crane Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,293: English reviews
London
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We spent 10 days here in February 2013 and loved it. The beach, the extensive grounds, pools and accommodation are excellent, and the restaurants good with prices competitive with the rest of Barbados. The staff are consistently great. We were in a garden pool room with our own plunge pool, lovely little garden out of the wind (note that the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Ed S
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review

Dear estur, We couldn’t have put it better – The Crane is for relaxing, not raving! Our quiet atmosphere holds a special appeal for those who simply wish to relax away from the hustle and bustle. However, as noted in your review, the more adventurous of our guests are always thrilled to discover that Barbados’ popular night spots, restaurants and...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 23 February 2013

My husband and I just returned from our trip to Barbados. Having read some mixed reviews of the resort we were unsure what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised by the Crane. Our room was spacious and comfortable and there was not one insect to be found. The air conditioning worked perfectly and the building itself (Palmetto) was well- maintained....

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Nycgal408
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review

Dear Nycgal408, Thank you for taking the time to post this fantastic review. We are thrilled that you took the opportunity to visit our wonderful resort, in spite of some contrary reviews. It certainly sounds as though you discovered for yourselves that these reviews represent gross departures from the norm! We would advise everyone to take your advice in making...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We visited The Crane a little out of season (early November 2012). The crane has an awful lot going for it; the resort is in a gorgeous location overlooking the spectacular beach below, the room/suite we stayed in was very spacious (2 balcony areas, a small pool, etc) and there was a good selection of restaurants and swimming pools on...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Anna L
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review

Dear Anna L, We are thrilled you enjoyed a very tranquil holiday with us overall. The Crane was designed with a very specific type of traveller in mind – those who value peace, relaxation and beauty above all else. We were sorry to learn of the discomfort you experienced due to mosquitoes. We do operate in a tropical climate and...

Kalamazoo, Michigan
Reviewed 21 February 2013

My husband and I spent 10 days over the Christmas holiday at this property. The beach is absolutely gorgeous - the staff amazingly accomodating - the property itself very nice, but definitely in need of an upgrade. The rooms/suites were very large, but the kitchen was not equipped as well as advertised. This might prove a challenge for anyone really...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank wellseasoned55
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review

Dear wellseasoned55, Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are pleased you had an overall good stay with us at The Crane, enjoying the views, beach and our friendly staff in particular. Please be assured that we have taken note of your food & beverage related comments and we do apologise for the inconsistencies you experienced....

New York City, New York
Reviewed 21 February 2013

I'm a little late with this review but I wanted to make sure I gave the Crane some love... I stayed at the Crane with a small group of family and friends over Thanksgiving 2012 weekend. We splurged and booked a 2-bedroom duplex penthouse with a plunge pool. The room was really spacious and had absolutely gorgeous views of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chsmith
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review

Dear chsmith, Thank you for taking the time to post this great review. It sounds as though you had an enjoyable time with us overall, from check-in to check-out. I was especially pleased by your description of your staff interactions. We all take great pride in our guests’ comfort and often go that extra mile to ensure that their expectations...

Saugerties, New York
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Facing the incredible azure waters of the Atlantic, boasting several beautiful pools, and located on one of the nicest beaches I've seen, I'd recommend the Crane for anyone desiring a week of total relaxation. We stayed with a friend on a top floor penthouse, roomy, breezy and well furnished. We found the staff friendly and helpful. Restaurants were good, if...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank halfmoon613
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review

Dear halfmoon613, We couldn’t agree with you more – The Crane is ideal for anyone desiring a week of total relaxation and our Penthouse Suites are perfect for just that! With an expansive floor plan to accommodate up to 8 persons, luxurious finishes, modern amenities and gorgeous ocean views, our Penthouses are the perfect base from which to enjoy any...

Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Stayed on a day pass after leaving a cruise at 09.30 with flight not departing until 17.25. Perfect plan for our last day on Barbados. $25 Barbadian per person is credited against lunch in any of the resort restaurants, allows use of pool, sunbeds, showers, pool & shower towels provided. Only 10 minutes from airport - perfect solution. Service friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank MikeBGardner
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review

Dear MikeBGardner, Thank you for this brief but fantastic review. We are delighted that you took advantage of the opportunity to experience The Crane for a day. Just to clarify, the Day Pass Voucher provides easy access to Crane Beach and entitles the user to $12.50 USD credit, applicable in any of our Food & Beverage outlets. However, the use...

Sudbury
Reviewed 17 February 2013

As a repeat visitor and Owner of timeshare weeks The Crane continues to be the best of times and the worst of times. It frustrates me to no end that what management claims they want to do better,stays the same year after year. The best of times: The ocean is always the best. Nice breeze and wonderful pink sand. Room...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank acysb87
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review

Dear acysb87, We were distressed by your account of your experience. Please be assured that these issues are not widespread but instead are unfortunate yet isolated incidents. On behalf of my team, please accept my sincerest apologies. To clarify one point, Member check-out has always been 10am. This is to allow Housekeeping to effectively access and clean all suites in...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 13 February 2013

This resort is a study in contrasts. While it lives up to its billing (and price) by having a very clean, well laid out and pristine property, it manages to negate the positives by the sheer indifference of its staff. While "island time" and slow service is expected when one is vacationing in the islands, the staff at this resort...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Sam M
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sam M, Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you appreciated the physical beauty and the effort we take to maintain our beautiful grounds. However, we are very disappointed at your reports on the service. Regarding your wait at breakfast, we apologise for this anomaly and have pinpointed that there must have been a miscommunication between the...

London, Canada
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Currently staying at The Crane. I don't usually post reviews but I decided to because I had used the trip advisor reviews before booking The Crane, and I am not sure if I am at the same "Crane" but The Crane I am at is not "A great place to stay". This one is dirty and in great need of...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Cheryl B
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review

Dear Cheryl B, I am sad to hear that you were disappointed with your accommodations while staying with us. We make every effort to ensure that each guest room is cleaned and maintained to the highest standards and anything less is a gross departure from our established standards. Our Guest Relations Managers have been appointed to bring swift resolution to...

2,592 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2265)
Viewed
View from Room (192)
Viewed
Room/Suite (314)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (479)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (515)
Viewed
Bathroom (53)
Viewed
Dining (98)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
4:46
Videos (5)
Viewed
Other (607)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (291)
Viewed
Amenities (42)
Viewed
Beach (16)
Viewed
Crane Beach Pool (18)
Viewed
One Bedroom Oceanview Suite with Plunge Pool (81)
Viewed
Pool Complex (33)
Viewed
Dining (60)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Philip Parish
18.3 km away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
3,449 reviews
13.9 km away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
1,958 reviews
21.7 km away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 km away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
21.9 km away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
13.7 km away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Since 1887, The Crane Resort has overlooked the pink sands and turquoise waters of Crane Beach - one of the top 10 beaches in the world as rated by the Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous and most recently named the "Best Beach in the Caribbean" by USA Today's 10Best Readers Choice 2015. Set on Barbados' beautiful South East coast, the oldest operating hotel in the Caribbean has effortlessly married the old-world charm of its past, to all the 21st century amenities and services expected by today's most discerning travellers. Guests are spoilt for choice with ultra-spacious one and two-bedroom suites, and three bedroom penthouses, many featuring lush gardens, private pools and rooftop terraces. There are also several fantastic dining options, including Zen, the No.1 Zagat rated restaurant in Barbados, which features Thai and Japanese cuisine, L'Azure which offers Caribbean delicacies with an international flair, The Carriage House which offers poolside favourites, D'Onofrio's, the Italian restaurant and The Grove Bar and Grill on Crane Beach which offers light grilled fare. The centre-piece of it all is The Crane Village - 55,000 sq. ft. of retail space complete with duty-free shopping, a Jazz bar, open-air dining, a fitness centre, day spa, an art gallery and the newly opened Calypso Kid's Club catering to younger guests. Guests also enjoy complimentary WiFi in all guest rooms and around the resort - even on Crane Beach - and complimentary long-distance calls to most international destinations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Crane Resort

Address: Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Philip Parish
Price Range: €207 - €519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Crane Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Crane Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crane Residential Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Saint Philip
Crane Barbados
The Crane Barbados
Crane Hotel Barbados
Crane Resort Barbados
The Crane Resort Barbados/Saint Philip Parish
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Crane Resort staff and other travellers.
103 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (103)

Questions? Get answers from The Crane Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All buildings are nice, however building #2 seems to be closest to the fitness center, shops and the beach.”
anthonydg908, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Higher rooms with ocean view the best”
criffel1, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ocean view a must.”
nancymV7556RF, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Best views”
954gina, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Try for an Ocean view in Residence 1 2 3 4 or 5”
katebG6299EN, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5