We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Sportsman Hotel

Traveller (64)
360
Panoramas (30)
Dining (58)
Certificate of Excellence
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
A very comfortable, 'home from home,' independently run, full-service quality hotel, the only hotel in Porthmadog. It has been awarded 3* by the AA and Visit Wales, 2 AA Rosette for its food and included in the Good Food Guide, using the best of local Welsh suppliers. Children are welcome and particularly pets in our courtyard rooms. Ground Floor rooms also available for those with walking difficulties. Private covered parking, cycle lock up, drying room.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Room Service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Wheelchair Access
Room features
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Quiet
HOTEL CLASS
Reviews & more
787Reviews
295Photos
1Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 336
  • 285
  • 108
  • 30
  • 28
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I have been coming to the Royal Sportsman on Ffestiniog Railway business for the last 50 years. Over that time the welcome has always been great & the rooms over this time have been gradually refurbished without losing the character of the Hotel.The rooms are spotless and the
Read more
Response from Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel
Responded 15 Nov 2018
It’s always a pleasure to have you stay with us. We have a lot of repeat guests who come on railway business but very few to the extent of your custom over the last 50 years! We work through the hotel refurbishing during the winter months and we work hard not to lose the character of the building. Thank you for your comments about the excellent staff, all of whom will go the extra mile to ensure each guest has the perfect stay. We will pass your kind comments on to Kiva.
Read more
Was very disappointed when the hotel would not amend our booking to a later date as we had broken down the day before we were due to arrive (in a different part of the country) and had difficulty getting there. Booking.com acted as mediator but the owner / GM would not budge -
Read more
Response from Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel
Responded 10 Nov 2018
We are so sorry that you did not feel we were amenable in relation to your problems getting to us. Unfortunately we have a 7-day cancellation policy which we do need to adhere to with every booking. However, in the interests of customer goodwill, we always refund the guest if we are able to resell the room. We hope that, although you had difficulty getting to us, the upgraded room on the top floor went some way to make amends. Overall, we are a good value, comfortable Victorian Coaching House in a great location with friendly, helpful staff and freshly cooked breakfasts to order. Thank you for recognising these attributes.
Read more
Stayed 1 night on a walk-in basis during driving tour of UK. Got a courtyard room which was small but adequate. Convenient and secure covered parking behind the hotel. Bar was OK but lacked atmosphere
Read more
Response from Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel
Responded 10 Nov 2018
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We’re glad your room was adequate for your needs. However, we are sorry you felt our bar lacked atmosphere. Perhaps you just caught it on a quiet night as it is normally very popular with both guests and locals.
Read more
Having booked the 2 night break at the hotel got to say I was not disappointed.We booked a court yard room which was comfortable and clean.All the food was first class and a good selection of beers and all the staff was so polite and helpful we will use it again 👍10/10
Read more
Response from Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel
Responded 10 Nov 2018
Thank you for your five star review. We are delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
Impressed from the start by organisation and welcoming approach when booking and organising my wife's 70th birthday party. All the guests had the excellent menu in advance to chose their food and professionally served on time at 2.00pm Sunday 4th November. We had spent the
Read more
Response from Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel
Responded 10 Nov 2018
It was an absolute pleasure to host your wife’s birthday party and we trust you all had an enjoyable time. The Sand Circle is amazing and thank you for sharing it on our Facebook page. Please do consider us again for any future parties or get-togethers.
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorRoyal Sportsman Hotel
The Room 15 Larger Family with Bay window at the Royal Sportsman Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorRoyal Sportsman Hotel
The Room 12 Larger Double Bay window at the Royal Sportsman Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorRoyal Sportsman Hotel
The Courtyard 3 Larger Family with disabled access at the Royal Sportsman Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorRoyal Sportsman Hotel
The Courtyard 1 Larger Family at the Royal Sportsman Hotel
Photo provided by managementRoyal Sportsman Hotel
Recently and completely re-furbished standard double room. New bed, furniture, carpet & lighting
PreviousNext
12345634
"Insist on a room at the back of the hotel; if you want a larger bathroom you have to go into the dog friendly outside rooms"
"Ask for ground floor room if easy access is required"
"Ground floor terrace rooms ideal if you are travelling with a pet"
"Pet friendly rooms on the ground floor directly from the under cover free car park."
"Worth paying the extra if you want a larger room"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$98 - US$148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel royal sportsmanroyal sportsman porthmadog
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesNorth WalesPorthmadog
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing