We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kviknes Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kviknes Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

686 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kviknes Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 494: English reviews
State of Sao Paulo
Reviewed 12 October 2015

We were at our room balcony experiencing the many sensations you may have there, when we heard some guests at their room balcony very close to our room excitedly talking to their family over the phone and saying "...we are in the postcard!!!" . This is the best short trustful description we may offer. We have stayed at this hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank AlexandreBergamo
Kayl, Luxembourg
Reviewed 8 October 2015

First of all, one can only be amazed by the historic facade, building and impressive size of the hotel! The lobby and above all, the rooms around the dining main room, not to mention the dining/breakfast/lunch room itself (huge!) are particularly impressive. We have not stayed overnight in the oldest part of the hotel, but the most recent one, although...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AndLibertyForAll
London
Reviewed 5 October 2015

Stayed for for just one night on a work trip. I was in the 'new bulding'. The rooms are dated, but clean and a good size and have bath tubs. But to be honest, this place is not about the rooms. It's about everything else. The wonderful history, lovely staff, amazing food and the incredible setting with breathtaking views of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sdclifford
Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 30 September 2015

Yes, it's old but it's well done and the rooms are small and simple, but comfortable and modernized. The hotel itself has spectacular views of the fjord and is furnished with lots of seating areas that are decorated with antique furniture and paintings. The food is great. Many tour groups come through, but if you are traveling alone you are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kristin S
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 September 2015

Make sure you stay in the old building if you want to enjoy the best of this hotel. The new block wouldn't look out of place in Benidorm. The historic building however has lovely rooms, and ours had balconies overlooking the fjord, which was beautiful. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. Two downsides on my room -...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Marcella P
Norheimsund, Norway
Reviewed 23 September 2015 via mobile

Spent two nights for a seminar. A charming hotel, but overpriced and in need of upgrade. The old part is nice and full of charm. But most rooms are in the "modern" part, but my room can not been renovated since 80's. Poor internet in the room. Propably a great hotel for tourists visiting the fjords. Great food but overpriced...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bjørnar D
Theodorsk, 5th Generation host at Kviknes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madam or Sir, Thank you for reviewing us and helping us improve. Glad to learn you enjoyed our historic building, and a warm thank you for the praise of our food. We are sad to learn that you experienced our hotel as overpriced. Our room rates are comparable to other historic hotels in Norway, and lower than many. I...

Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewed 22 September 2015

We had only 1 night and wish we would have booked for more nights. The hotel is difficult to put into words, so much history, beautiful views, comfortable lodgings, it would be hard to find another hotel in such a pristine setting.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank zeusy33
Reviewed 20 September 2015

I did a lot of research on this hotel before booking. I first became aware of it when reading, "1000 places to see before you die". It's really an iconic hotel and the only one I'd stay at in Balestrand after seeing the other hotels in the area. We took the high speed ferry from Flam to Balestrand. We'd decided...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank DiscriminatingDiva08
Holland, Michigan
Reviewed 15 September 2015

We thought we had a room in the historic building. Disappointingly we were housed in the 1970s cement block building behind the beautiful old hotel. The walls were so thin we could hear the room next to us and the room above us using the bathroom. Every footstep and door closing above, below and beside were loud. The Wifi did...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bobbinrobin41
Theodorsk, 5th Generation host at Kviknes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madam or Sir, Thank you for reviewing us and helping us improve. We are sad to learn your stay was not as expected. We do our outmost best in all our marketing to make sure our customers are aware of the two different buildings. I hope you asked our reception for a possible upgrade to the historic building. I...

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 15 September 2015

We stayed two nights at the Kviknes Hotel. It was wonderful. We stayed in the historic part of the hotel which I think was probably much better than the new extension which is a concrete block with little character. The old part of the hotel however is oozing with charm. Our room, #214, had a large patio that my wife...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jon249

629 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (578)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (203)
Viewed
View from Room (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (60)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (230)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balestrand
0.3 km away
Balestrand Hotel
Balestrand Hotel
#2 of 4 in Balestrand
365 reviews
1.5 km away
Dragsvik Fjordhotell
Dragsvik Fjordhotell
#4 of 4 in Balestrand
97 reviews
39.4 km away
Walaker Hotell
Walaker Hotell
#1 of 1 in Solvorn
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 km away
Fjaerland Fjordstue Hotell
0.3 km away
Midtnes Hotel
Midtnes Hotel
#3 of 4 in Balestrand
106 reviews
40.1 km away
Gudvangen Fjordtell
Gudvangen Fjordtell
#1 of 1 in Gudvangen
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Kviknes Hotel

Address: Kviknevegen 8, Balestrand 6899, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Balestrand
Price Range: €150 - €307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kviknes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kviknes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kviknes Hotel Balestrand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kviknes Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Kviknes Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room in the old building for fjord view!”
 of 5 bubbles Mickolina, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room verlooking the Fjiords”
 of 5 bubbles baconpicton, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Fjord facing rooms with balcony in the heritage section of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles PrashRao, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“You choice, fiord view - smallish room, landward view - bigger room but both views good”
 of 5 bubbles 213BrianR, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room with fjord view.”
 of 5 bubbles IgorU_12, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5