We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Green and Blue Ocean Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Green and Blue Ocean Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Green and Blue Ocean Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 62: English reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

Had a great stay at BnG, and would highly recommend. The managers as well as local staff were brilliant. Not sure why I was made to pay to a foreign bank for the pre-booking though, and not a Tanzanian bank. Nevertheless, the food and rooms were great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George J
Kampala, Uganda
Reviewed 24 January 2016

Stayed for a weekend. Was pricey but value for money. They built their resort around the nature. The trees grow out through the swimming pool deck and give you a surrounded by nature feeling. Its a very clean place. Try out all the 3 pools (which are open 24 hrs). Matemwe is really a trading center not a town but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kiggs
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 18 January 2016

Hello, I stayed with my girlfriend at the end of a wonderful trip through Tanzania on Zanzibar in order to relax and hang out a bit. So, to book a resort that was unknown to us is always a bit risky. But all our fears were unfounded. We arrived late and were immediately welcomed by the junior manager Mr. Lampe....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Theo822
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 6 January 2016

Spent 6 relaxing days here with my husband and son following a fantastic safari in the mainland. Enjoyed watching the locals from the restaurant, mending boats, fishermen passing through bringing their catched of the day to the fish market, and boys and girls playing in their colourful clothes, even cows being chased by children and the fresh air from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mercey e
keulen
Reviewed 30 November 2015

Me and my boyfriend spend 10 days in this hotel, and we enjoyed every single day of it. The staff was very friendly, the rooms were clean and very beautiful. The food in the restaurants was also very good and the view was simply breathtaking. We took a diving course with Dive point and everything was very good organised en...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank piepje
Stuttgart
Reviewed 17 November 2015

Hotel is great, especially the spacey bungalows with splunge pool. Food was excellent and absoletly reasonably priced and is a reason to stay there. Beach is a bit of a disappointment, since it is not good for swimming (used by fisher and a lot of seaweed), but you can use one of the 3 pools and enjoy from there the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cdpils
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 23 September 2015

We enjoyed every minute of our stay here. Beautiful, spacious bungalows that meet all needs. Friendly and professional staff. The bungalows where perfectly cleaned every single day and the all-you-can-eat a-la-carte breakfast was fantastic, with fresh fruits, fresh juices, pastries, eggs, bacon, pancakes, cruesli, yoghurt, breakfast burgers... you name it.The beach is not great for swimming, but why would you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AndreaV8501
Wednesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2015

We had planned to stay at Green & Blue Zanzibar from the 31st August 2015 until the 4th September but we cut our stay short because of the appalling customer service. It was like staying in a $300 per night hostel. • We paid $1200 instead of $600 to upgrade to an ocean front room. They put us in an...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Liz M
Alois I, Manager at Green and Blue Ocean Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Liz, thank you for your review, we always appreciate if we get a real and honest review so that we know how we can increase the satisfaction of our guests. Unfortunately we don´t know if you mixed something up with an experience in another hotel as there is only true that we don´t provide a duvet as the temperatures...

Curitiba, PR
Reviewed 14 September 2015 via mobile

Was upgraded to vila 11 with sea view! Many thanks! My wife and I loved it and we had a great time. The restaurant is very good and great service. The location is great just in front of Matemwe beach and next to the village. Beautiful place. Its great to go snorkeling in the Mnemba atoll in the nearby. Looking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rfrare
Kabul, Afghanistan
Reviewed 7 August 2015

We spent 6 days at the Green and Blue and found that it was just not enough. The rooms are spacious and romantic with outdoor showers and a private plunge pool. The food is absolutely delectable, we found ourselves even running into the kitchen to meet the chef as we were so impressed with his cookings. This was one of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SMA0315

343 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (308)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (90)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (54)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
1:56
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matemwe
3.0 km away
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
#1 of 6 in Matemwe
413 reviews
11.3 km away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
1,450 reviews
3.4 km away
Sunshine Marine Lodge
Sunshine Marine Lodge
#3 of 6 in Matemwe
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 km away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
574 reviews
27.9 km away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#4 of 173 in Zanzibar Island
436 reviews
1.2 km away
Zanzibar Queen Hotel
Zanzibar Queen Hotel
#2 of 6 in Matemwe
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Ocean Lodge GREEN AND BLUE in the northeast of the spice island ofZanzibar is placed so that your gaze wanders over the turquoise waterof the vast bay and rests on the small island of Mnemba. Characterisedby its lush, tropical garden, the Ocean Lodge nestles right on theIndian Ocean, separated from it by a powder-fine, sandy white beach.The lodge forms part of a typical local fishing village. This may appear very simple and basic to our “civilised” eye. Tourists can expect scenes they won’t see anywhere else. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Green and Blue Ocean Lodge

Address: Kigomani, Matemwe PO Box 4749, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Matemwe
Price Range: €149 - €296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com and Agoda so you can book your Green and Blue Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green And Blue Ocean Lodge Matemwe, Zanzibar Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Green and Blue Ocean Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Green and Blue Ocean Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“everything is best”
 of 5 bubbles saghir69, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask/Book an ocean view room”
 of 5 bubbles tangerinepanda, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms near the beach are the best but all the rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles Kiggs, 24 Jan 2016 | Read review
“we stayed near the reception which was fine, may request beach view or near the pool.”
  • beautiful garden
 of 5 bubbles merceye, 6 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else - you'll get much better for much less!”
 of 5 bubbles lizm16, 22 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5