We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Azanzi Beach Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Azanzi Beach Hotel
Azanzi Beach Hotel
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

301 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Azanzi Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 273: English reviews
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Nice hotel located on north east coast. small so not that big resort feeling. neat and comfortable. very friendly staff, good food, very relaxing..no need to dress up for supper.. nice long narrow beach, can have seaweed anytime of the year like all hotels on eastcoast..but beach are cleaned daily..low tide water pulls back arond 1.5km like with most hotels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doneb
caraculligan, Manager at Azanzi Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Doneb Thank you so much for taking the time out to write a lovely, informative review. We thoroughly enjoyed hosting you here and hope to do it again n the near future. Warm Greetings Cara Culligan

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2016

We spent just under 1 week here and were so disappointed. The hotel is a long drive from the airport and the flight from Nairobi lands at 1.30am so you arrive very late, the hotel do not run a night reception so we were just shown to our rooms by a security guard. Wanting to freshen up, I turned on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank charl_miles
caraculligan, Manager at Azanzi Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Charl We do apologize that you did not enjoy your time at Azanzi. Some of these matters could have been easily resolved had we been notified thereof. My recollection is that we asked regularly from the first morning of your stay as to whether everything was fine and which you confirmed. We do have a manager on duty for...

Jelgava, Latvia
Reviewed 30 September 2016

Unexpected, but...it turned our as one of best trips ever! Mostly it happened due to return to Real World and lack of usual resort pamperings - missing foom service, very limited wifi and lack of TV enhanced real social relations between guests in resorts lounge, where ever present handsome Manager Cara and Andrea are going above and beyond to attend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kasx007
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 27 September 2016

We went to Azanzi with another family (2 university students and 2 teenagers), primarily as a diving holiday, but also of course to explore Zanzibar. The hotel was excellent with high quality, spacious rooms, great restaurant and the staff welcoming and helpful. The hotel is perfectly situated on the North Eastern side of the island with good access to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iain M
Harare, Zimbabwe
Reviewed 23 September 2016

What a week we had! Rooms are enormous, tasty food and loved that the lunch & dinner menus were more a la carte rather than buffet. Views you could melt in. All inclusive makes it such an easier holiday. Had a couple issues with housekeeping but they were resolved quickly. Very friendly staff and the massages were perfect. Am so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jacquifallon
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Spent a week at Azanzi and thoroughly enjoyed it from the various different meals on the menu to all the activities that the Hotel arranged. The couples massage was most definitely one of the highlights of the stay. All in all an awesome place to have an R & R or couples get away.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank neilhD3681VE
caraculligan, Manager at Azanzi Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Neil Thanks so much for writing such a positive review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your couples massage and the variety of food we served. Look forward to meeting you both again when you need some more time out. Warm Greetings Cara Culligan

Nairobi
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Staff are otstanding,the hotel is well situated on the beach. The kind of excursions that are offered by the hotel ate all amazing,it is a hotel to visit over and over again.the small issues we had as a group was gladly sorted out within no time and in a very swift manner.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank darlenea228
caraculligan, Manager at Azanzi Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Darlene Really appreciate your lovely review. It was an absolute pleasure hosting you and your group here. See you again soon Warm Greetings Cara Culligan

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Our stay at Azanzi was full of magic :) The staff make Azanzi special, with their friendly personality and attention to detail. Azanzi is the perfect place to escape from the rat-race. The beach is on your doorstep, with beautiful areas to relax - whether lounging next to the pool, sitting on the unique pool bar stools or sitting under...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SamBrits
caraculligan, Director of Sales at Azanzi Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sam Thanks for the lovely review. So pleased your honeymoon was special. Your comments about pool and mozzies noted, thanks. Hopefully we will see you again here at Azanzi for your next special occasion or just a relaxing get away. Warm Greetings Cara Culligan

Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 8 September 2016

What a treat. Everything about this beach hotel echoes true Zanzibar hospitality. The warm welcome from the hotel manager, the friendly staff that always have you in mind, to the azure waters that reflect the morning sunrise. Beautiful My wife and I came for a honeymoon by the beach and left with great memories and a real appreciation for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DylanBrits
caraculligan, Manager at Azanzi Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Dylan Thank you so much for the lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your honeymoon and fond memories of Zanzibar were made. Warm Greetings Cara Culligan

Boden, Sweden
Reviewed 7 September 2016

I really loved this place, great staff, food and facilities. The fact that its right on the beach is a very big plus. Except the great staff, food and facilities, Azanzi also got wonderful rooms. Very high standard and great interior design. The hotel suits all kind of people, for me this is a perfect option if you don't want...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma Ö
caraculligan, Manager at Azanzi Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Emma Thank you so much for taking the time out to write a wonderful review. We very much appreciate it and hopefully we will have the honor of hosting you again here at Azanzi. Warm Greetings Cara Culligan

702 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (394)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (90)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (91)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Other (98)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (276)
Viewed
Amenities (23)
Viewed
Beach (37)
Viewed
Lux Villa (71)
Viewed
Pool (12)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
Superior Suite (35)
Viewed
The Hotel (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matemwe
8.9 km away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
1,360 reviews
18.0 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
16.8 km away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nungwi
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 km away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#2 of 18 in Nungwi
965 reviews
17.1 km away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#9 of 18 in Nungwi
888 reviews
0.3 km away
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
#1 of 6 in Matemwe
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hotel is situated on the North Eastern coast of Zanzibar, and approximately 45 minutes from the airport in Stonetown. Azanzi is a luxury boutique beach hotel which boasts 35 rooms comprising of 8 Superior rooms, 17 deluxe rooms and 10 deluxe villas The central guest entertainment areas offer guests multi level viewing decks, well stocked curio shop, azure swimming pool, bar and dining area - maximising the sublime view of the majestic and tranquil Indian Ocean, and powder-white beach's scattered with palm trees. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Azanzi Beach Hotel

Address: Azanzi Beach, Matemwe, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Matemwe
Price Range: €137 - €317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Azanzi Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Azanzi Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azanzi Beach Hotel Matemwe, Zanzibar Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Azanzi Beach Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Azanzi Beach Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid the rooms closest to the pool area, in busy times the foot traffic could be intrusive”
 of 5 bubbles thedumahs, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with an outside shower is awesome. Choose full board as you wouldn't want to eat anywhere else as Azanzi's food is great”
 of 5 bubbles , 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There are no good rooms - stay somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles charl_miles, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Stock up the mini bar on arrival, especially if you are on the all inclusive package.”
 of 5 bubbles neilhD3681VE, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you don't have any sweets lying around ;) the bush babies love sweets ;)”
 of 5 bubbles SamBrits, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay