We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort

Show Prices
#7 of 18 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,193 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 417: English reviews
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We stayed at the resort for 7 days from 01- - 6 Oct after a weeks Safari in the Mara. First impressions of the resort is excellent, we were met at the airport and had a nice drive to the hotel where reception greeted us with a nice coconut drink. The staff gave a full brief on hotel facilities and... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank RickPlayer_1955
Kim B, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Rick, Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We were pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall and very much appreciated your suggestions for improvement. I'm sorry that we hadn't addressed the smoking policy before you mentioned it, but it has been addressed now and there is no smoking allowed in... More 

south africa;cape town
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

As usual Zanzibar lived up to its fantastic reputation. The staff, from Anderson to Kim to the waiters and domestic staff were friendly, helpful and excellent all round. The facilities were great, wonderful pools, deck loungers and restaurants. The perfect combination for a wonderfully relaxing holiday. We would definately return.

Helpful?
3 Thank spannernoo
Kim B, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review of the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort! Anderson was delighted with his first mention in Trip Advisor and it's always such a pleasure to be able to thank our whole team for their hard work! Thank you once again for choosing us for your stay in Nungwi and we look forward to welcoming... More 

Woumen, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Beautiful hotel and a top location. Neat rooms, good food, friendly staff. Negative: too many Italians making them get preferential treatment and further establish themself above the guests!Nevertheless, I would go back again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Laetitia v
Kim B, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Laetitia, Thank you so much for taking the time to post your wonderful review on Trip Advisor! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and even more pleased that you would return! It was a pleasure to share your comments with the whole team. I am sorry that you found preferential treatment for the Italian guests. We... More 

Bois-de-Lessines, Hainaut, Belgium
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Wonderful, merveillous. We have spent a very unforgettable honey moon. Thanks to the complete "package". See sightning, hotel location, hotel staff, the food was excellent. The only thing that we expected was "more sun". Too many clouds during our stay. Even without a lot of sun, we came back home very brown ;-) the t° was very very warm !

Helpful?
2 Thank Piccioni E
Kim B, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your honeymoon with us! I have passed your remarks to the Chef and the staff about the food and service, it's always such a pleasure to be able to share these comments with them. As for the weather, we're so sorry it didn't cooperate!... More 

Zug
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Actually we 'only' spent 7 days in this beautiful resort, but we left totally relaxed and refreshed! We couldn't name anything bad about this hotel as the staff is friendly, happy and very helpful, the pools and the deckchair-area are just amazing, the beach is beautiful, the food is excellent and there is a big choice of food, the rooms... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Steph K
Kim B, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Steph, Asante Sana for your wonderful review! I'm not sure which part is better, that you couldn't name anything that was bad in the hotel or that you would recommend it to anyone looking for paradise on earth! Your kind remarks are very much appreciated and will be passed on to the entire team. We're delighted that you enjoyed... More 

Benfleet
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We arrived at the Royal Zanzibar Hotel 21/8 after a sensatioinal weeks safari. We highly recommend this hotel as it was the perfect place to relax. It is set in a beautiful location and is very peaceful. The only sound was the crows in the trees and guests laughter as they enjoyed the beach volley ball and other activities. We... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Chris T
Kim B, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Chris, Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort! It is a pleasure to hear that you had such a terrific time. I have to admit that we love the outdoor dinners almost as much as our guests, it's just so nice to be able to dine under the stars with the waves... More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

In order to escape all the buzz and hectic at home, work and study, and to have quality time with my love, we needed a 'power' holiday (short stay). Since this was our first time to visit Africa, we didn't know what to expect from both the island and the resort. Looking back at our short stay, we can say... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Vidjai M
Kim B, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Vidjai, Thank you so much for your 'amazing' review of the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort! It was a pleasure hearing your comments during your stay and we very much appreciate your kind words on Trip Advisor. We will also be happy to pass on your positive remarks to Baracka, Hamza, Robert and Omari, I know they'll be delighted to... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

After a much needed break, we headed to the Royal Zanzibar on "week special" as advertised for a get away - much to say we were not disappointed. It is at the northern most tip of the island, an hour's drive from the airport and truly is the most beautiful and peaceful part of the island. I must commend the... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Megan1472
Kim B, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review of the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort! We're delighted to know that you were so pleased with the food, the grounds and most of all, the atmosphere. Although we offer an animation team, we also like guests to be able to enjoy their vacation the way they wish, it's wonderful to hear that... More 

Klerksdorp, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed at the resort in a suite from 18 - 25 August 2012. The suites are very well situated with a beautiful view well decorated and comfortable.We visit Mauritius on a regular basis and compared to hotels in Mauritius the Royal Zanzibar is no more than a 3 star hotel.The reasons are as follow: When we arrived at the... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank DU PREEZ L
Kim B, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort. Please accept my sincere apologies for the problems that you encountered during your stay. They are as unacceptable to me as they were to you. First and foremost, the fact that you were unable to speak with me is a matter of great concern.... More 

Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

After our long flight, the welcome at Royal Zanzibar was just what we needed. The view from the reception, breathtaking and only got better as we walked through the gardens to get to our room. The room was huge and very well decorated. The bathroom: Wow. During our week stay, the hotel was very busy, probably full, but you always... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Max T
Kim B, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Max, Thank you so much for your lovely review of the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort! I have to agree that the view from reception as you arrive is "breathtaking". I love it and am always pleased that it is such a WOW for our guests. We were also delighted to hear that you enjoyed the dinner on the beach.... More 

2,397 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1995)
Viewed
Room/Suite (134)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (300)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (565)
Viewed
Dining (111)
Viewed
View from Room (117)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (733)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (366)
Viewed
Amenities (50)
Viewed
Beach (29)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (55)
Viewed
Lagoon Pool (23)
Viewed
Pool (8)
Viewed
Dining (87)
Viewed
Suite (60)
Viewed
The Hotel (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
1.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
25.6 km away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
1,349 reviews
0.8 km away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#2 of 18 in Nungwi
961 reviews
2.4 km away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nungwi
597 reviews
2.3 km away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#3 of 18 in Nungwi
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A spectacular view of the Indian Ocean from almost anywhere on the resort makes this all-inclusive property a wonderful choice for those guests looking for a peaceful and relaxing vacation. Fantastic swimming pools, a beautiful beach with clear, turquoise waters and amazing sunsets all add to the ambiance! The rooms are large, approximately 80 square metres for Superior Rooms and 100 square metres for Suites. A spacious bathroom with a large bathtub, separate shower and double sinks provide luxurious comfort. All rooms include a quiet split-unit air conditioner, TV, fridge, coffee and tea making facilities, a safe and a terrace from which to enjoy the view. The warm, friendly staff invite you to enjoy meals in the buffet restaurant with a varied selection of local and international dishes or a traditional pizza oven near the beach offers a quick snack while you relax by the pool. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort

Address: North Coast, Nungwi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Price Range: €258 - €583 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Jovago.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Zanzibar Beach Hotel Nungwi
Seaclub Royal Zanzibar Beach Hotel
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort Zanzibar Island/Nungwi
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Spa Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
57 questions
Ask a question
Durban, South Africa

See all questions (57)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ocean Suite View however get 1st floor for safety”
 of 5 bubbles same993, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Facing garden, H or I zone”
 of 5 bubbles AnabelaT123, 20 May 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in room l14 perfect view”
 of 5 bubbles bubble65Canterbury, 6 Feb 2016 | Read review
“We had a beautiful room on the first floor overlooking the ocean, even though we ordered one with a garden view only. The room was big, with two terraces and very cofortable. The only minus was the third bed, which was too short.”
 of 5 bubbles , 14 Jan 2016 | Read review
“wifi was never good in the room, WTA Welcome to Africa!”
 of 5 bubbles kipw2015, 10 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay