We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort

Jumia TravelUS$320*
View Deal
#6 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$320*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,320 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 449: English reviews
Start your review of Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Thank you Royal Zanzibar for the perfect honeymoon experience. The travel from the airport is around one hour, but when you arrive at this beautiful hotel – you really feel that you are welcomed into Paradise. Pros: The hotel has beautiful gardens in which I just loved to walk around. You can choose to relax in one of the 5...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Adela B
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this review

Jambo Adela! Thank you so much for your wonderful and very detailed review of Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort! We believe that it's an honour to be chosen as the location for any special event and we thank you for entrusting us with your honeymoon. We're delighted that you enjoyed your time with us so much and that you were able...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Jambo! It was stunning and unforgettable vacation with my wife Ann. Thanks to Royal Zanzibar TEAM for delightful holiday and vivid memories basis on the top-level service. HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL. 5 STARS! ASANTE SANA! Jambo, Jambo bwana, Habari gani, Mzuri sana. Wageni, Wakaribishwa, Kenya yetu Hakuna Matata. Kenya nchi nzuri, Hakuna Matata. Nchi ya maajabu Hakuna Matata. Nchi yenye...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan F
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this review

Jambo Alan and Ann! Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort! We love seeing words like "stunning and unforgettable" along with "vivid memories and top-level service"! We were also impressed with your new language skills and are delighted to see them put to use here. I'm happy to see that my team has been...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

All I have to say is.....Wow, this place made me feel like I was a king living in my kingdom, all round great service and food, the people and staff we awesome, definitely returning to this paradise !!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Prevan S
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Subrayen, Thank you so much for your brief but wonderful review of Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort! What a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much! I'm very proud of the team we have and their efforts to ensure our guests are well looked after. I look forward to sharing your kind remarks with...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have stayed at the hotel, all our family, during April 2017 for ~5 days. The public area in the hotel is beautiful with a number of nice pools, gardens and very nice beach. However, the private area, which is the hotel's rooms are very out of date and neglected. The rooms we first got, which were in the ground...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Mor E
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mor, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort. I'm very sorry that you were so unhappy with your stay. We work hard to try to ensure that our guests enjoy their time with us and are disappointed when we don't live up to and exceed their expectations. As I write this,...

Bucharest, Romania
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our experience in Royal Zanzibar Bech Resort was ok, but : - something wrong happened with the food, because we've felt bad for a few days and there were also other guests complaining; - during the night the conditioning air get broken and our luggages were all wet - a waitress from the beach restaurant told me that my dress...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank homitchiloredana
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed our staff so much and will be sure to share your kind remarks with them. I was also happy to hear that you had enjoyed your Dinner at the Edge of the Ocean. It's a wonderful event to...

Reviewed 21 April 2017

We visited Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort during the Easter break of 2017, for five nights. The resort is about an hour plus away from the International airport. Zanzibar, is a paradise in Africa, and this is evident from the Airport itself, where there are not many questions asked, unlike mainland nations. The trip to the Hotel itself is amazing as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bhavik S
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Bhavik, Thank you so much for taking the time to post your "superb" review of Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and appreciated the many details you offered to potential guests. As always, we enjoyed the description of our staff as being "just too good" and will be...

zanzibar
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

The one day of the year my Husband and I hold near and dear is our Anniversary ! Thank you Royal Zanzibar for making it seamless ! The food is plentiful and there could be no reason to complain, as I am on a very special lifestyle in regards to food, and there was so much to choose from !...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoAnne T
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear JoAnne, We can't thank you enough for your wonderful review of Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort! It is always an honour to be the resort chosen for guests who are celebrating a special event and we're delighted to know that we met all of your expectations. I know that Prabhakar, our Executive Chef and Jacques, our F&B Manager were so...

Sacramento, California
Reviewed 5 April 2017

We found the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort to be one of the finest resorts we have ever stayed at. Staying on the north coast is a must as Stone Town is chaotic and dirty.The staff were very attentive and friendly. The resort is all inclusive which proved to be a great savings. We were in awe of the display of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank arleendestefano
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Arleen, Thank you so much for taking the time to post your wonderful review of Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort! It was such a pleasure to meet you and your husband when you joined us for the end of your vacation. We were honoured that you chose to move to the north part of the island and are delighted that...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 April 2017

Royal Zanzibar is a really lovely resort. The beach is beautiful and having walked the length of the beach in both directions, Royal definately has the very best spot(although the hawkers are a pain). The staff are wonderful, the rooms and the pools are huge and well kept and housekeeping is spot on, however, there are a few points that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ckUK79
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your very kind and detailed review of Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort. We also appreciated the tips you offered to fellow travellers. We were so pleased to hear that there were many things that you enjoyed, particularly the staff, our beautiful beach and wonderful pools. I will also thank Housekeeping for their efforts. I was sorry...

Reviewed 26 March 2017

Where can I start. First of all, the surrounding is just unbelievable. The resort ground are vast and well groomed with 3 different pools which are cleaned daily. The gardens and paths in the resort's area are very nice and relaxing. The hotel is located on a little beach near Nungwi with beautiful clay-like sand and amazing coloured water. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nadi-rhi
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your excellent and detailed review of Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort. We're delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us so much! We'll be sure to share your kind remarks with the team and with the areas you mentioned. We are trying to address the situation with the towels...

2,615 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2213)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (346)
Viewed
Room/Suite (160)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (609)
Viewed
Dining (120)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (10)
Viewed
View from Room (120)
Viewed
Bathroom (40)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (807)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (366)
Viewed
Amenities (50)
Viewed
Beach (29)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (55)
Viewed
Lagoon Pool (23)
Viewed
Pool (8)
Viewed
Dining (87)
Viewed
Suite (60)
Viewed
The Hotel (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
0.8 km away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
1.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
25.7 km away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
594 reviews
0.7 km away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
1,060 reviews
0.1 km away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#10 of 17 in Nungwi
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A spectacular view of the Indian Ocean from almost anywhere on the resort makes this all-inclusive property a wonderful choice for those guests looking for a peaceful and relaxing vacation. Fantastic swimming pools, a beautiful beach with clear, turquoise waters and amazing sunsets all add to the ambiance! The rooms are large, approximately 80 square metres for Superior Rooms and 100 square metres for Suites. A spacious bathroom with a large bathtub, separate shower and double sinks provide luxurious comfort. All rooms include a quiet split-unit air conditioner, TV, fridge, coffee and tea making facilities, a safe and a terrace from which to enjoy the view. The warm, friendly staff invite you to enjoy meals in the buffet restaurant with a varied selection of local and international dishes or a traditional pizza oven near the beach offers a quick snack while you relax by the pool. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort

Address: North Coast, Nungwi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Price Range: €205 - €714 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Jovago.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Zanzibar Beach Hotel Nungwi
Seaclub Royal Zanzibar Beach Hotel
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort Zanzibar Island/Nungwi
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Spa Hotel in Nungwi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
117 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (117)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms are out of date, except the 3rd floor rooms which are renovated but much expensive.”
  • holes in the mosquito net
  • stains and mold in the bathroom
  • very dated furniture
  • brown stains on the towels
  • dated room bathroom
  • holes in the mosquito net
more342, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The rooms away from the hotel reception and bar area are the best.”
200bhaviks, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“the first floor is the quitest”
pbojkov, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for rooms in the 3td foor”
shiri_hirsch, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Only 2 cottages (A&K) face the ocean - in all others you will have only partial sea view in any...”
nagisas2017, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Jumia Travel
US$320* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia.com
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates