We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (119)
Room & Suite (55)
Dining (7)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent97%
  • Very good2%
  • Average1%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“new zealand”(44 reviews)
“small lake”(10 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Rooms
Family Rooms
Accessible rooms
5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (380)
There are newer reviews for Matuka Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
351 results
Traveller rating
342
7
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
342
7
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew zealandsmall lakeluxury accommodationfruit cakemount cookdelicious breakfastducks swimmingwonderful hostssouthern alpsplace to staytroutviews of the mountainsown homeduck pondsouth islandb bstunning location
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
41 - 45 of 351 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Attentive yet sensitive to privacy. Personalized attention at breakfast, food quality great. Location is super fantastic. The stars at night shine big and bright!! This is all I want to say. Despite a sliding glass door open to the world, I had a good sense...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank billyboywells
Response from OwnerMatukaLodge, Owner at Matuka LodgeResponded 23 November 2017

Just loved having to to stay with us again and thrilled that R did a good time in her race. Always great to hear the conversations at the breakfast table thank you for being a great part of that during your visit, Hope to see...More

Reviewed 15 October 2017

My husband and I are so glad we decided to break up our drive from Mount Cook to Queenstown by staying one night at Matuka Lodge. Our room was absolutely beautiful! It was clean and comfortable with stunning views of nature. Prior to our stay,...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank lora_althea
Response from OwnerMatukaLodge, Owner at Matuka LodgeResponded 23 November 2017

Great review thank you and love that you felt at home just how we love you to feel! Hope the rest of your trip went well thank you for visiting our country, Best regards Pete and Jo

Reviewed 13 October 2017

We were lucky enough to spend a couple of nights in the relaxed luxury of Matuka Lodge earlier this week. Peter and Jo were wonderful hosts and nothing seemed too much trouble in assuring the best experience possible for their guests. The Lodge is beautifully...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jenny291
Response from OwnerMatukaLodge, Owner at Matuka LodgeResponded 23 November 2017

Your review from New Zealanders means a lot to us thank you so much for all you wonderful comments.We are indeed lucky to have great restaurants in Twizel ,and for us it is our absolute pleasure assuring the best possible experience at Matuka. With our...More

Reviewed 10 October 2017

Lovely personal warm welcome from Hosts, A run-down on everything about the Lodge and shown to our room, then introduced to other guests. All the eating houses were pointed out plus sight seeing trips and shopping.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank erolli_386205
Response from OwnerMatukaLodge, Owner at Matuka LodgeResponded 23 November 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review we really appreciate your comments, Kinset Regards Jo and Pete

Reviewed 5 October 2017

Jo and Peter were the best gracious hosts! Friendly , welcoming , and helpful. The lodge was beautiful , the scenery we enjoyed was serene and breathtakng. Breakfast the next day was delicious . Unfortunately we didn't have a chance to hike in mt cook...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jeffrey C
Response from OwnerMatukaLodge, Owner at Matuka LodgeResponded 23 November 2017

Thank you Jeffrey for taking the time to write the lovliest review ,sorry that you didnt get to hike at Mt Cook ...next time! Best regards Jo

View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Travellers' Choice2018 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Details
Price range
US$241 - US$320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$241 - US$320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (119)
Room & Suite (55)
Dining (7)
Family and Play Areas (4)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Mazzeratti-51
21 October 2014|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from OwnerMatukaLodge | Property representative |
Hello and thank you for your question.We only provide a full breakfast as we have two excellent restaurants 3km away in Twizel for lunch and dinner.The restaurants are Shawtys and Poppies and both have web sites that you can... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"take the upper designation"
Read review
"Have a very wet unpleasant cold day like we did and stay in your room or the lodge by the fire and relax and..."
Read review
"can't go wrong with any room"
Read review
"Only 4 rooms all of which are magical"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing