We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo 00738-3711 Puerto Rico
18 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$326
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/12/22
Booking.com
US$326
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/12/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
travelup.com
US$189
View deal
Hotels.comUS$326
TravelocityUS$326
Agoda.comUS$376
View all 16 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (5269)
360
Panoramas (27)
Room & Suite (892)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#2 of 4 hotels in Fajardo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We are OPEN! After three years of closure, Puerto Rico's most iconic resort is back in business! This award-winning oceanfront resort sits 300 feet above sea level, overlooking the Caribbean Sea, Atlantic Ocean and adjacent islands. Enjoy the dramatic views, the private island of Palomino, the 18-hole Arthur Hills golf course and the Coqui Water Park - it's all part of this Caribbean paradise.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free private parking nearby
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Boating
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Secured parking
Hot bath
Lazy river
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Golf course
Tennis court
Water park
Billiards
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Waterslide
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Harbour View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Full view
49Car recommended
Grade: 49 out of 100
14Restaurantswithin 1 km
2Attractionswithin 1 km
8045Reviews381Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 3,167
  • 2,426
  • 1,232
  • 729
  • 491
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Paul wrote a review Nov 2022
Monroe Township, New Jersey1 contribution
+1
At first glance you get a wow this place is huge . Grounds are up kept golf course and views are great u sit on top of this cliff overlooking the water . But that is it you park your rental and I suggest u get one because there is nothing to do at the resort . Everything was closed water park , tennis court , golf course , everything closed poor lighting outside for pool areas ., and the food is horrible and expensive., they look to charge everything to room no one has a cash register., so plan on leaving a open card at the front desk ., there is no beach at the resort you need to take a boat ride to a near by island to sun bathe, we ate at two restaurants the first day and swore never to eat or give the resort another dime ., we drove out to eat and nearby Walmart to buy waters and snacks ., a litter of water was almost $8.US at the resort ., please be aware the island is wondrous but the Resort is not go some place else .,
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Please go elsewhere . The food is horrible not many options and expensive as heck. They know if...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Viviany Alicea, Marketing at El Conquistador Resort
Responded today
Our sincere apologies for not exceeding expectations. We are disappointed to read about the issues you had during your stay but more disappointed that you will not return to our resort. Guest criticism is one of our most powerful tool to measure our levels of service and product. We are truly sorry that we did not deliver this during your stay. Please know that we will be addressing this review with the team so they can learn from it and do better in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Barroso Family wrote a review Nov 2022
3 contributions5 helpful votes
The hotel has undergone a massive renovation and is still in the process of completing it's renovations. The hotel pools were lovely and the bathrooms and cabanas were very nice. The views are spectacular and there are several jacuzzis around the main pool areas. The water slide area was very nice with renovated bathrooms. We took the ferry over to their private beach, which was also newly renovated and the food there was great. Our favorite restaurant and bar were located on the top floor of the hotel. Be sure to go there as they are both hidden gems. We got a suite with a king bedroom and queen all in one area. The suite was ginormous and the views were breathtaking. My entire family of 27 people had an amazing trip. The staff was courteous and helpful and VERY accommodating. (I would probably rate it 4.5 because the food was not great at some of the restaurants, but once you knew what to eat where it was a faboulous vacation! )
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ocean view all the way!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Viviany Alicea, Marketing at El Conquistador Resort
Responded 4 days ago
Hello! Thanks for choosing us for your vacation. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to enjoy the amenities we have to offer. We look forward to your next visit!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah O wrote a review Nov 2022
New York City, New York1 contribution
While the resort itself is beautiful- the bar staff was amazing - but the facilities and general experience was very poor/ We travel quite regularly and have come to PR 3 other times . We paid extra to stay down in the marina section as it looked beautiful and while it was - staff failed to let us know they would close it from Sunday morning roughly 11 ish and it did not open again while we were there . It was deserted down there for over 24hrs - we would not have stayed down there had we been informed of this checking in. So this meant to even get a bottle of water in the morning we had to do the hike up with the cable care just to get some service . Cleaning & housekeeping was non existent- They barely made the bed and gave new towels. Drink cups in the room were left there the entirety of our stay and they never replenished the very little they give you - 2 bottles of water. Entertainment and nighttime activities are non existent- after you eat at your 1 of two choices there is nothing to do. No band , no shows nothing would expect in a resort that you can’t really leave at nighttime because there are no cabs! It’s not a cheap resort so honestly there are so many other places to choose for your PR trip. Pools were pretty here that was the only real highlight.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Bring cards to keep you entertained
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Viviany Alicea, Marketing at El Conquistador Resort
Responded 4 days ago
We offer our sincerest apologies for not exceeding expectations. We will share your comments with the team and use them to improve our services.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ruben D C wrote a review Nov 2022
High Tide Bar & Bono restaurant are a m a z i n g !!! These gems are underrated, great drinks and food. Adriel was amazing as bartender, and Victor as our server! Definitely coming back! Thanks for everything
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Viviany Alicea, Marketing at El Conquistador Resort
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for staying with us and for recognizing our staff members. We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mariela wrote a review Nov 2022
5 contributions2 helpful votes
My friend and I stumbled upon this resort by accident when our AirBnB fell through. The property on the outside is impressive. When you get past security, you immediately notice massive green grass picturesque landscapes. As you drive to the mile uphill towards the hotel, the views just get stellar. The staff are very polite, and accommodating to our stay. When you enter the property, you immediately notice the scenic ocean views and the large pools available to its guests. The property alone has amenities I didn’t imagine we’d experience during the stay. A water park, boat service to a private island, and billiard tables to name a few. We stayed in “La Brisas” tower. The room itself had a stunning view overlooking the ocean. Cannot complain about that. Overall the room was comfortable, spacious and clean. The furniture itself looks a little antique. The bathtub was not level with the ground or equipped with a step which could be a safety issue. It’s apparent that some areas of the property are undergoing renovations. The tile in the bathroom looked older but overall I didn’t notice anything that alarmed me regarding cleanliness. My only concern with this property is the two live birds in the cage in the lobby. For one, I learned the parrot and the white cockatoo have been with the property for years. As a bird owner, I am keen to the needs of birds. They need constant stimulation, socialization, space for mobility, access to foraging toys. It seemed that the birds were limited to the confined cage the majority of the day. I personally believe the two birds in the lobby send a bad message about the values of this establishment. I would hope the hotel management reconsider the role the birds play in their lobby area considering the amount of space available on the premises. Perhaps it would be wise to consider a larger space such as an aviary for the birds. They are highly intelligent animals and are deserving of an environment supports their natural development. Creating a space like this will allow the birds to interact with guests and serve as a source of education for them as well.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Viviany Alicea, Marketing at El Conquistador Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for staying with us and for your concerns with our beloved Snowflake and Casey. We want to assure you that they are spoiled, cared for, and loved by all of us at the resort.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Don V wrote a review Nov 2022
Orlando, Florida1 contribution
Food was great and service from Jonuel was amazing looking forward to going back later during our visit he gave us great advice on what to order for dinner. He also gave us good local suggestions to go for excursions. Thank you !
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Viviany Alicea, Marketing at El Conquistador Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for staying with us and for recognizing our staff member. We look forward to your next visit!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pedro C wrote a review Nov 2022
El Conquistador is the best high end resort in Puerto Rico. Feels like an all inclusive because you have all the amenities steps away. We had an amazing dinner night at Bono Italian Restaurant and the server Luis was amazing. Very recommended! Great views and stay!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Viviany Alicea, Marketing at El Conquistador Resort
Responded 1 week ago
We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sheyssa wrote a review Nov 2022
Puerto Rico103 contributions62 helpful votes
Best Italian Restaurant of PR! Really love the attention of Victor Diana! The best service ever. I highly recommended! Wish the best of all the employees and to the restaurant. The meat, the pasta and the desserts are great! The Bosque Lopster the best
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Viviany Alicea, Marketing at El Conquistador Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for sharing your experience. We're glad you enjoyed our culinary services. We hope to see you again in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maria G wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
Janoel is very good! He is a very friendly people, he explained us all the restaurants plates and he gave us recomendations. He is very kind. He was asking us all the time how we are and what we need and if we are feeling good. He is very proffessional and efucated people. He knows what is he talking about.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Viviany Alicea, Marketing at El Conquistador Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for staying with us and for recognizing our staff member. We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tony S wrote a review Nov 2022
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Buyer beware, they will add undisclosed fees to your bill. Good luck getting a response of any kind from their office, they do not answer phone or respond to emails. I will never do business with this company again
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$211 - US$488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
el conquistador resort, a waldorf astoria hotel fajardo, waldorf astoria fajardo, el conquistador hotel puerto rico, conquistador hotel puerto rico, el conquistador puerto rico
LOCATION
CaribbeanPuerto RicoFajardo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
299
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

EL CONQUISTADOR RESORT - UPDATED 2022 Reviews & Price Comparison (Fajardo, Puerto Rico) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about El Conquistador Resort
Which popular attractions are close to El Conquistador Resort?
Nearby attractions include Coqui Water Park (0.4 km) and Caramor Compassionate Cannabis Care (0.08 km).
What are some of the property amenities at El Conquistador Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at El Conquistador Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at El Conquistador Resort?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at El Conquistador Resort?
Yes, free private parking nearby and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to El Conquistador Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Las Vistas Café, Kalizo Kiosko Fajardo, and La Estacion.
Are there opportunities to exercise at El Conquistador Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at El Conquistador Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does El Conquistador Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at El Conquistador Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does El Conquistador Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.