We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

La Buena Onda

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
La Buena Onda
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

214 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for La Buena Onda
See the most recent reviews
Showing 169: English reviews
Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 9 February 2016

This is probably the best hostel I stayed in in Nicaragua. I stayed in one of the dorms and it was clean and spacious with huge lockers. There was some street noise for sure but nothing too bad. My only complaint is that guests were allowed to smoke in the inner courtyard / open common area downstairs. Yes, it is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sd012016
LaBuenaOnda, Gerente at La Buena Onda, responded to this review

Hello sd012016, Thank you a lot for your review. It is very good to hear that you've enjoyed your stay with us. We understand your complaint about the smoke. In the patio our guests are allowed to smoke as this is the only open-air area we can offer. In the future we will try to inform our smoking guests about...

Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewed 6 February 2016

Staying at the Hostal La Buena Onda in Matagalpa was a good experience for me, my husband and 2 young daughters. It was affordable, comfortable and centrally located. It offered clean, comfortable rooms with free breakfast (choice of pancakes or eggs and toast), WiFi, hot water (except when the whole city had no water). Also, we enjoyed their friendly staff....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maminica11
LaBuenaOnda, Gerente at La Buena Onda, responded to this review

Dear maminica11, Thank you a lot for taking the time to write us a review. This is very important for us. During your stay we faced a big water maintenance operation in Matagalpa that shut us off water for over a day. Despite this problem we could always offer water to drink, shower, flush toilets and clean the hotel. When...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 18 January 2016

I had a private room for a few weeks and it truly felt like home. SUPER clean, big, breezy rooms, amazing staff, perfect location, and free breakfast and coffee with private room. The staff will arrange tours for you and give you advice on whatever you need. It's also very close to 2 great restaurants, and all the taxi drivers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BVW2014
LaBuenaOnda, General Manager at La Buena Onda, responded to this review

Hi BVW2014, Thank you a lot for this incredible review. It's great to hear that you've enjoyed your stay with us and we've enjoyed you staying with us too. We're glad we could help you out with tours and transportation. We wish you a very nice rest of your vacation and we hope to have you back some day.

Reviewed 14 January 2016 via mobile

Wow I was really surprised by the beauty of Matagalpa and this very good hostel. I stayed in a private room which was huge with a very big bed all for myself. I really like this place. Its clean, spacious, free coffee and kinda feels like a house. The staff is nice and helpfull and you can.book tours in and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Loes M
LaBuenaOnda, General Manager at La Buena Onda, responded to this review

Dear Loes M, Thank you a lot for writing us this review. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at La Buena Onda. We are also very happy with the fact that we could also serve as kind of a tourist information centre for you. It is important for us that our guests not only enjoy...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 3 January 2016

the main hostel was full so we were given a private room with shared bath in the annex which is one black west of the main hostel. the hostel is clean, the bed was comfy, the free coffee was excellent, but the noise level in the room.... INSANE. the windows of rooms 3 & 4 face the sidewalk of a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 10flags
LaBuenaOnda, Gerente at La Buena Onda, responded to this review

Dear Traveller, Thank you a lot for your review. It is good to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us! Unfortunately our main hostel was full when you arrived. The rooms in our economic hostel you mentioned, indeed are noisy, this is why we always tell this to our guests before they decide to stay in one of...

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 9 December 2015 via mobile

Private rooms were full so I ended up in the dorm. Comfy beds, clean bathroom and the separate locker room makes for a quiet dorm. Friendly and knowledgeable staff, good breakfast, lots of info about tours available, lots of cosy common space, quick laundry service, good wifi (although not always in the dorm). Restaurants nearby so no need to walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank siel
LaBuenaOnda, General Manager at La Buena Onda, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, It was a pleasure to have your as our guest. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do our best to give the best service to our guests. Trying to give all the information you need for a joyful stay in Matagalpa. We work together with Matagalpa Tours and other tour providers...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 27 November 2015

We booked into room D - second floor - which was a good room as it was large with a double bed (two single beds pushed together); basic bathroom with shower ; plenty of windows so you got a nice cross breeze and could easily hear the roosters / dogs at 5ish; above the laundry room, a comfy chair to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FreshGuru
LaBuenaOnda, General Manager at La Buena Onda, responded to this review

Dear traveler, We appreciate the time you took to write this very detailed review about us. It is good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. There is one thing I would like to make clear though, as we remember it very well. We did arrange you the airport transportation in very short time but you were not willing...

Calgary
Reviewed 20 November 2015 via mobile

We came without a reservation just as darkness was arriving. As a group of six, we can sometimes be a bit difficult to accommodate. However, in addition to the main building, they have a few rooms in a building a few doors down. These were somewhat dark, but with lots of space and storage. Floors and beds were impeccable. As...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kottbullar
LaBuenaOnda, General Manager at La Buena Onda, responded to this review

Dear traveler, Thank you so much for this great review. We are happy that we could still accommodate all of you in the early evening. You've been wonderful guests, we hope to have you back some day.

Reviewed 19 November 2015

We went to Matagalpa without any reservations, and this place was recommended to us. While not fancy at all, we were amazed at the place! They have everything from $8 bunks in a dorm to a private king room with en suite bathroom (which is what we got). For $30, we got the room, free internet (the fastest we had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jennings W
LaBuenaOnda, General Manager at La Buena Onda, responded to this review

Dear traveler, Thank you so much for this great review. It's good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. The climate in Matagalpa is indeed lovely. We hope to have you back some day soon.

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 13 November 2015 via mobile

This is a very nice hostel with a good dorm with huge lockers and bathroom. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately you have to pay extra to use the kitchen and it is not well equipped, but at least there is one. Be sure to double check on their tour recommendations. We went to the chocolate factory -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sissel I
LaBuenaOnda, Gerente at La Buena Onda, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, We are happy to inform you that we do not charge kitchen use anymore thanks to our guests recommendation, just like yours. Thank you for writing this review. The waterfall and the chocolate factory are tourist attractions that are recommended throughout the country and in most travel books. We do not feel like it is our fault that...

58 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matagalpa
0.4 km away
Hotel Roca de la Cumbre
Hotel Roca de la Cumbre
#3 of 6 in Matagalpa
37 reviews
20.0 km away
Hotel Cafe Jinotega
Hotel Cafe Jinotega
#1 of 2 in Jinotega
74 reviews
2.1 km away
Hostal Ulap Yasica
Hostal Ulap Yasica
#3 of 26 in Matagalpa
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hostal Martina's Place
Hostal Martina's Place
#1 of 15 in Matagalpa
130 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Villa Hermosa
Hotel Villa Hermosa
#2 of 26 in Matagalpa
30 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel El Castillo
Hotel El Castillo
#21 of 26 in Matagalpa
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to La Buena Onda, Matagalpa's first Hostel! Use us as a base to explore the beautiful city of Matagalpa and it's surrounding mountains and coffee farms, or just come relax with us and enjoy some amazing coffee and food from our cafe. Come swing in a hammock in our patio or on our balcony, take advantage of our free internet, cable TV or a DVD, or grab a book from our extensive library. We have dormitories and private rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about La Buena Onda

Address: Matagalpa 61000, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Matagalpa Department > Matagalpa
Price Range: €15 - €32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Buena Onda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Buena Onda Nicaragua/Matagalpa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from La Buena Onda staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from La Buena Onda staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“1st floor near the back”
 of 5 bubbles worldwoman, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't hesitate to ask for a blanket; only a sheet is provided in the dorms and it gets chilly in the night.”
 of 5 bubbles jessicabQ5776XC, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Private room D was very nice and included breakfast.”
 of 5 bubbles KristiK616, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The double room D was very good.”
 of 5 bubbles berendino, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“For a family it was nice to be on the first floor close to the common space.”
 of 5 bubbles scheidrews, 1 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5