We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

290 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 261: English reviews
Start your review of Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala
 Click to rate
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We visited as part of our honeymoon and did the 2 night elite/honeymoon package and were completely spoilt! The tent is very luxurious for camping! It has a proper toilet and shower and a spacious outdoor living area with a fan inside and outside. It's camping so of course there were still some insects/geckos in the area but they were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie R
Island of Malta, Malta
Reviewed 1 week ago

Comparing this to my previous experience of tented camps in Africa is maybe unfair but compared to those this place has a long way to go. The tents are very small, the decor leaves a lot (!) to be desired and most importantly, our 'naturalist' drove the jeep and that was it, we didn't learn anything about Yala or the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maltaswede
Innsbruck, Austria
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in Yala and Willpattu for 2 nights each in february 2017, luxury tents with all inclusive package , each two halfday and one full day gamedrive included. We directly booked with Mahoora. To make it short - it was the biggest waste of money on a holiday in our life. 1)For already 20% discounted USD 2800.- (all prepaid...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bertl2606
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you on your review and on pointing out issues which have influenced your overall impression of your stay with us. However, we are very pleased to see that you are happy with the quality and service of food with one exception at a dinner. We are very appreciative of your comment “The positive - the stuff was...

Rapperswil
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Hat of to all staff. They made our stay incredible. Our driver on the four safaris did his best to accomodate my photography. He saw animals where we had great difficulty in seeing them. But we did see them after a while. Dinner under stars with a fire going, romance pure. Our waiter the gentleman in person. The tents were...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oliver I
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Mahoora Camping! Thank you for the encouraging review by you. We are extremely happy that your stay with us was an "incredible" one. We strive to accommodate & service our guest to the best of our ability and your review mentions nothing less but more. Your comments on our staff will be conveyed. We are very...

Yala National Park
Reviewed 3 March 2017

If you are happy with camping, and this is luxurious camping, then do not look any further. Very comfortable beds, good food and nothing is too much trouble. Sri Lankan welcome and friendliness is as good as it gets, and it doesn't get any better than this. We saw leopard on every drive, many other animals and Yala is an...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank robertbX3053HL
Anuruddha B, Manager at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your brief and explanatory review. We appreciate your remarks on meals and our efforts with the services and the safari drives. We are happy you had great holiday experience with us and the wilderness. We thank you for choosing us and hope to see you back again!

Enniskerry
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

We decided to stay here to experience a kind of Africa experience while on safari. It was perfect for us and from the moment we arrived we were looked after and spoiled until we left. The general manager of this camp is such a professional and so good at his job. The tents are perfect, clean and almost bug free....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pamela A M
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Greetings from Mahoora camps and thank you on your encouraging and supportive review! It is great to read of your wonderful cosy experience during your stay with us and we are so pleased we were able to make your holiday a memorable one. It makes all our hard work and effort worthwhile and sincere thank you on your...

Sydney
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

Amazing experience. We'd been on safaris before so was immensely happy that the photographer's package included our own jeep and a naturalist guide who's also a photographer! The tents were not '5 star' like I was expecting, but they were comfortable enough (with hot shower and working toilet in your tent) We got first class service with our own table...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James_and_Nat
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you sincerely for taking the time to pen down your comments. We are thrilled you have enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for highlighting all of the facilities, but most of all thank you on your kind words about our staff. Hopefully we see you again, may be in one of our other locations.

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

After 2 night at the Mahoora in Udawalawe we moved for 2 nights to Yala. The camp site is very nicely arranged and during our 4 game drives we've seen in Plot No. 5 2 Leopards, 2 Jackals and a Bear. Highly recommend to stay away from Plot 1 which is far too crowed and explore Plot 5 as well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Giggelsteiner
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala, responded to this review

We are very happy to know you enjoyed every minute of your stay with us at Mahoora Camps. Especially on the informative details on the safari tours at Yala park. We must say you are one of the few guest who has had the chance to spot most of the animals. Very lucky than the other guests. We are very...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

Website for this camp is very misleading. The place is - yes - on the boundary of the park; however the entrance is about 30 min drive away. "Reception" and information upon arrival is lacking. No emergency numbers are handed out. And on Safari the least you simply need to ensure is that the guests understand the Do's and Don't's...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kkristen70
Moscow, Russia
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We had an awesome experience during our stay at Mahoora Safari Camp. It was the first camp accomodation for our vacation trip in our life and I was afraid it would be a kind of a challenge. But our staying there was quite comfortable. We were upgraded and had all the necessary facilities and some elements of luxury comfort. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 2sasha2016
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala, responded to this review

Thank you for writing in detail about your experience. Our staff are extremely happy to see the detailed descriptions. We are delighted to know that you had a great stay and hope to see you back again in your future travels.

308 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (235)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (193)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (73)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (52)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yala National Park
19.0 km away
Jetwing Yala
Jetwing Yala
#1 of 2 in Yala National Park
1,397 reviews
18.4 km away
Cinnamon Wild Yala
Cinnamon Wild Yala
#1 of 2 in Kirinda
1,557 reviews
2.9 km away
Big Game Camp
Big Game Camp
#1 of 3 in Katagamuwa
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Yala Safari Camping
Yala Safari Camping
#4 of 36 in Yala National Park
105 reviews
3.9 km away
Kulu Safaris Sri Lanka
Kulu Safaris Sri Lanka
#5 of 36 in Yala National Park
215 reviews
19.2 km away
Laya Safari
Laya Safari
#3 of 36 in Yala National Park
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mahoora is a holistic experience from your arrival to the departure focused on living in the wild and wildlife viewing and not just an accommodation option only.All the Safaris are included in the price. Mahoora safaris include high quality Safari Jeep / all the entrance and permit fees, sumptuous picnic basket and an unlimited supply of chilled beverages and a Mahoora Naturalist to ensure the best animal sightings and interpretations. All of Mahoora elite tents are set-up just prior to your arrival, and are moved out after your departure, thereby minimizing impact on the environment. This "Pack in and Pack out" aspect combined with all other green initiatives; guarantee to make your stay with Mahoora the one of the most environmentally friendly accommodation in Sri Lanka.Mahoora is an all inclusive stay and Tea / coffee, Tropical Fresh Fruit Juices, Beer & Spirits, Wine, and Snacks all are included in to the price. Mahoora's Fine Dining Executive Chefs will prepare tantalizing meals to suit your personal tastes, whilst adding in a few culinary surprises. This is just one aspect of the unique Mahoora adventure which keeps clients returning to the wild, time and time again. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala

Address: | bordering Yala National Park,15-20 minute drive to the park’s ticket office, Yala National Park 90714, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Yala National Park
Price Range: €379 - €869 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahoora Luxury Tented Safari Camp Yala Hotel Yala National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms looked similar and private.”
haroldjohn, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Go for all inclusive”
Kjt367, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Elite Tents have a lounge area with comfortable sofa seating.”
741martin1971, 18 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Tents are spacious but don't expect a lot of lighting inside it, also run the hotwater tap for a long time otherwise it is a cold shower.”
Flynn010, 6 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Close to an extrance, Electricity, Wifi, Attached toilet and shower”
sankathab, 9 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5