We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
View deal
View all 14 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (530)
Panoramas (31)
Room & Suite (174)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Updated 13/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Weligama Bay Resort
Updated 13/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#5 of 53 in Weligama
Travellers' Choice
Weligama Bay Resort is 4**** property with 24 rooms and suites.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Water sport equipment rentals
Airport transportation
Secured parking
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Poolside bar
Foot massage
Head massage
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Sinhala


Full view
53Somewhat walkable
Grade: 53 out of 100
31Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
1Attractionwithin 0.5 km
514Reviews9Q+A99Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 282
  • 133
  • 52
  • 25
  • 22
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Jo Fisher wrote a review Apr 2022
Exeter, United Kingdom3 contributions
We have been trying to get to Weligama Bay Resort for 2 years and finally made it this April 2022. They did not disappoint. From the booking process with Jana since 2020 right through to the arrival, help with arranging the airport transfer, check in, covid requirements etc the staff could not have helped enough with the finer details needed. We had a wonderful and much needed family holiday, The beach was great for families and my teenage children loved the surf. The junior suites were lovely - huge in size and perfect for a family of 5 with beautiful sea views. Next time we may book 2 Garden Villas for a Reading about the 2004 Tsunami in the restaurant was sobering. We'll definitely go back. It has a welcoming friendly relaxed feel about it. Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Room Tip: The garden villas are detached and on the ground. The junior suites are on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
גל בן לולו wrote a review Mar 2022
10 contributions2 helpful votes
Grate place! Clean, close to the beach, excellent location. The stuff amazing! Sahan from the reseption was amazing, kind and halped us with everything! Sohan from the pool was kind and grate surf teacher. The restaurant of the hotel is improvement required. The breakfast was ok but the rest less… We sure will come back mainly because of the family environment that this place gives!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Sabrina wrote a review Feb 2022
3 contributions
We expected better. Felt sometimes like Being in a hostel, had a junior suite and room was really noisy, balcony door does not really close. Some of the Staff at Restaurant was not friendly. Was the only hotel on our journey where no guests wearing Face masks during breakfast. We were the only ones. Really Poor Covid Management. The beach and sunbeds were really nice and the 2 lifeguards were really friendly and awesome.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled
CAK wrote a review Jan 2022
Berlin, Germany28 contributions50 helpful votes
We had a mixed stay at the Weligama Bay Resort. The Good The arrival was smooth and easy - we had a great first impression of the resort and room. The staff were very welcoming and had setup the villa nicely - also with a crib for our daughter. We also had a few bookings in the spa - highly recommend the masseuse and his treatments. The Bad & Ugly Unfortunately one can only book a room with breakfast. Furthermore, the Christmas and New Years Eve dinners were mandatory - the prices charged were excessive for the service and food quality offered. There was an issue every time for opening hours (they were never ready for breakfast!), communicating the buffet time for Christmas eve - we entirely missed out on the BBQ as they said that the BBQ and buffet would close at 11pm - yet it closed at 10pm! As soon as the restaurant was at half capacity, the service and food delivery would slow down significantly - we would end up wasting a lot of time waiting to order and then waiting for the food to arrive. Even for simple orders such as a tea - delivery time would be in excess of 30 minutes! The BBQ was overrated - the food was pre-cooked and then they just threw it onto the grill to re-heat it (with the exception of the lobster) - the calamary was as chewy as a shoe-sole / simply not eatable - when I mentioned it to the executive chef (who was busy with everything but overseeing the kitchen and grill operation), he gave an impolite 'this is Sri Lankan calamary' - this response and lack of care makes absolutely no sense! Furthermore, the gala dinner buffet was served in the hot restaurant space (AC clearly did not work), which makes it unsanitary for any raw food items and allow for bacteria to develop - especially on the raw fish items. Even the staff were sweating and struggling in the hot and humid restaurant space - luckily all the seating was outside. By the end of our trip, we frequently ended up going next door to the Marriott for breakfast, lunch and dinner - the prices were similar, the service was way better and we even got breakfast and a few other meals comped. Conclusion You can stay here and have a good time, as long as you pay for room only and do not go to the restaurant - unless you want to waste time, money and eat shoe-soles.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The villas were spacious and would always book them (room-only rate)
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
1958olda wrote a review Jan 2022
jiloviste1 contribution
We were first time in this hotel, because of recomendation of our friend Me and my wife agreed, it was one of the best accomodation in our long marriage time :) Hotel was very pleasant, quiet (we looked for), very positive and professional service, very nice food with reasonable prices It was easy to organize trips from there In spite that ocean relatively shallow, we were swimming each day and jumped in waves We will come back !
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Take care about mosquitos, discuss price of taxi in advance
See more room tips
Divas V wrote a review Dec 2021
3 contributions3 helpful votes
I had very bad experience with the hotel. First of all bathroom of my room was dirty and had many stains. Washbasin was broken. The restaurant inside the resort is good for foreigners and not for Vegetarian Indians. I had to wait for more than 1 hour to get my lunch served that too after repetitive follow up. While other guest who arrived later than us got their meal pretty early. In the morning breakfast they didn’t have any Vegetarian dish to be served. Overall after paying $250/night for the hotel didn’t provide the value of money especially when you get this treatment.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Response from Dinesh Karunarathne, General Manager at Weligama Bay Resort
Responded 3 Jan 2022
Dear Divas Thank you for your review although and sadly it is not so positive as others we got previously. We are sorry that our breakfast buffet didn´t meet your expectation but we always consider the vegetarian option as well so that our breakfast buffet always includes meals such dhal, those, cereals, fruits etc. Also, if we are informed about any allergies or special meal guest´s requests in advance, we always try to be prepared. You stayed with us one night on 28th December when the hotel was fully occupied and restaurant quite busy. Of course, it is not excuse for being served with delay, but we must say that the system is "the first come the first gets meal" in the restaurant. Only if the meal request longer time to be prepared then the guests coming later might be served earlier. We apology for the small defect in the washbasin as there was a crack in ceramic. This has no effect for the washbasin usage and was damaged by previous guest. It is not easy to find the same ceramic in Sri Lanka these days and our receptionist forget to announce this defect to you during check-in time. We wish you all the best in 2022. With best regards, Dinesh Karunarathne
Read more
Nahid Imani wrote a review Dec 2021
Dhaka City, Bangladesh8 contributions2 helpful votes
We have been in this hotel for 2 nights in Dec21 and found the rooms and services are not up to the mark. Rooms are old though big. The key lock of the room S08 is very tight and it takes a good amount of pressure to unlock. One needs to do a lot of gym to have that strength to unlock the door. Found a cokroach in the bathroom on first day. No sea view from room. No international power socket. Hotel has a private beach area which is the best part of the hotel and it is good for the people who wants to surf a lot. We informed them about check out 2 hours earlier but found staff yet to prepare the bill during check out. They have also asked us to pay a food bill which is not related to our room(clearly written on the voucher room 4 and we stayed in room 8)and when I found the mistake they apologised. There are better location hotels nearby and try to book them if possible. Don't go for the booking.com pictures.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Avoid the hotel if you are not into surfing.
See more room tips
Chamidissa wrote a review Dec 2021
Al Jubail, Saudi Arabia96 contributions17 helpful votes
We were a family with two children aged 6 & 9. The whole purpose of our visit was to provide our kids a safe, comfortable, and joyful holiday experience. Team at the Weligama Bay resort lived up to our expectations. Garden villa we chose was very spacious, very well maintained and comfortable . Large bathroom with the hot tub and shower options was the best for a family with young kids like us. Food was delicious, well presented and filling. Prices of food and beverages was very reasonable. Swimming pool was clean, orderly maintained, and safe for kids. Caring assistance from hotel staff stood above all the comforts and facilities. Very big thanks to all.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Book a Garden Villa
See more room tips
swantje wrote a review Oct 2021
Cologne, Germany2 contributions
I stayed 3 nights, very nice place, exceptional friendly staff providing very good service all times. I enjoyed very much the food, especially Sri Lankan dishes at dinner: very delicious. The hotel itself was very clean, nice garden, room and bathroom comfortable. I would always come back and recommend this place to others.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled
Samantha Squire wrote a review May 2021
24 contributions2 helpful votes
My friend and I quarantined at Weligama bay resort for 2 weeks. Our stay was absolutely lovely. Lovely rooms and surroundings. The food was delicious and always well presented. Really recommend the fish curry. The staff really make this place, everyone was so attentive and friendly. We want to give a shout out and thank you to our waiters Kalidu and Chandima who looked after us brilliantly. Also a big thank you to Sohan who was our surfing instructor, brilliant teacher and a really nice guy. Couldn’t recommend this place enough!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Best place to learn to surf if you want to.
See more room tips
US$97 - US$145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
weligama bay hotel weligama
Sri LankaSouthern ProvinceMataraWeligama
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Weligama Bay Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Weligama Bay Resort?
Nearby attractions include Jewel Gallery (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Weligama Bay Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Weligama Bay Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Weligama Bay Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Weligama Bay Resort?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Weligama Bay Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rise, Bay-Route Resto & Shisha Bar, and Nomad Cafe & Boutique.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Weligama Bay Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Weligama Bay Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Weligama Bay Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Weligama Bay Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Weligama Bay Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Sinhala.
Are there any historical sites close to Weligama Bay Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kushta Raja Gala (2.2 km).