We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Outrigger Mauritius Beach Resort

Orbitz.comUS$190*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$315*
US$190*
US$315*
US$190*
US$315*
US$190*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Outrigger Mauritius Beach Resort
Outrigger Mauritius Beach Resort
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,050 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Outrigger Mauritius Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 594: English reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2015 via mobile

Beautiful location but very poor service. Limited drinks and snacks although we had an all inclusive package. Waited almost one and a half hours for a margarita pizza on the first day. Almost always never had the drinks we ordered, were told they had no stock. Milkshakes were of poor quality, tasted like milk with a bit of flavouring. Short...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Aneesa M
Frédéric C, General Manager at Outrigger Mauritius Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Please accept our sincere apologies for the lapses in service you encountered on your recent visit to Mauritius. We were heartened the room and location were enjoyable and extremely concerned that you were not happy with the service. I would welcome the opportunity as the new General Manager to discuss this with you and ask that you...

Reviewed 7 January 2015

I couldn’t agree more with the negative reviews I see below. Please do not get trapped with the positive reviews as I did. This hotel is far from being a 5 star. Service is extremely terrible. Below are only a few examples: During buffet service, the waiters seemed to be in a rush and struggling with paper bills and signatures...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank Tina S
Frédéric C, General Manager at Outrigger Mauritius Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Please accept our sincere apologies that we have failed to meet you requirements on your recent visit to Mauritius. We do note that you thought the property did have potential physically but our service obviously was not to your satisfaction and as the recently arrived General Manager I am hoping that you can contact me at pieter.vanderhoeven@outrigger-mu.com...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 January 2015

The potential for this place is great. The reality is another thing. The service is appalling. Apparently there was a mass staff exodus just before Christmas, but even allowing for that, some of things we saw beggared belief and defied even the most basic form of common sense.It does explain why all the pre Xmas reviews are good. Until Trip...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Guy B
Frédéric C, General Manager at Outrigger Mauritius Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are sorry that a number of the service failures marred your visit. We were somewhat heartened in that you saw the property and the food as positives. As the just arrived General Manager I am hoping you will contact me at pieter.vanderhoeven@outrigger-mu.com so that I may attempt to regain your faith in our property and return...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 6 January 2015

I can't believe this hotel is rated 5 stars! In 15 years of traveling this is the absolute worst "5 star" hotel I have ever stayed at. On the first day, when we arrived late in the evening and we were told that we had 3 dining options, 2 of which were pre fixe mendes - one for $110 per...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank narmi1980
Frédéric C, General Manager at Outrigger Mauritius Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are very sorry that your visit was far below your expectations. As the newly arrived General Manager I would benefit greatly from speaking with you so that we may improve our offering. My email address is pieter.vanderhoeven@outrigger-mu.com and I am hoping to hear from you. With my best wishes Pieter van der Hoeven General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 January 2015

We are on the second day of our stay at the outrigger and were very excited to come here with our two young girls after a difficult year. On arrival it was evident that whilst this is rated a five star hotel, the attention to detail was a little lacking and the reception area was a little scruffy. Having read...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jimnem40
Frédéric C, General Manager at Outrigger Mauritius Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Please accept our sincere apologies for the lapses in service you encountered with your family on your recent visit to Mauritius. I am hoping that we may discuss your visit and that I am able to regain your faith as the newly arrived General Manager so that we may perhaps welcome you back to see the improvements...

Denver, Colorado, United States
Reviewed 6 January 2015

My wife and I are ending our last 5 days of our honeymoon at this resort. We are a young and easy going couple, and are not very hard to please. But nothing about this resort is pleasing. The service is poor, the prices on food are astronomical for not quality food and not one person is able to speak/understand...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Curt H
Frédéric C, General Manager at Outrigger Mauritius Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are very disappointed at the lapses you encountered on your honeymoon. As the newly arrived General Manager I am hoping for the opportunity to discuss this with you and make an attempt to regain your faith. If you could contact me at pieter.vanderhoeven@outrigger-mu.com i would be very grateful. I hope to have the opportunity to speak...

Reviewed 6 January 2015

I would like to say thank you for suggesting Outrigger resort in Mauritius. It's definitely one of the best resorts we've visited in Mauritius. The resort is newly renovated and is truly LOVELY! The rooms are clean, fancy and spacious. What I also like about the resort is that it is not your typical "beachcomber" resort with a million and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank msvdb
Frédéric C, General Manager at Outrigger Mauritius Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are delighted that your recent visit was a pleasant one. We hope that you have had a safe onward journey and that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future. With our best wishes, Pieter van der Hoeven General Manager

Reviewed 5 January 2015 via mobile

My wife and I are on our final leg of our month long vacation and we are disappointed so far with our stay here at the Outrigger. After partaking on a 5 hour hike that started at 9 am, we arrived back to our room to find that housekeeping had not come yet to clean the room. Because we didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank FrancisD84
Frédéric C, General Manager at Outrigger Mauritius Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Firstly please accept our sincere apologies for the shortcomings you encountered on your recent visit to Mauritius. Rest assured that I am addressing the concerns in regards to the room and working with the team in regards to our service delivery. I would welcome the opportunity as the just arrived General Manager to discuss this with you...

Mauritius
Reviewed 5 January 2015

The whole family had a great time at the resort. The staff was friendly and helpful. We had breakfast, lunch and dinner at the all dining restaurant, the food was delicious and a wide variety of options was offered to us. During the day we enjoyed the pool with infinity edge and the water sports offered by the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LM_Family111111
Frédéric C, General Manager at Outrigger Mauritius Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your visit to our resort in Mauritius. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future. With our best wishes, Pieter van der Hoeven General Manager

Sydney
Reviewed 4 January 2015

After spending the first week of our trip to Mauritius at another property we came to the outrigger full of anticipation only to be bitterly disappointed. The hotel is beautiful,our room a beachfront suite was modern ,a jacuzzi in the bathroom and our balcony opened directly onto the beachfront where you can watch the sunset each evening. Housekeeping didn't make...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Weeksy
Frédéric C, General Manager at Outrigger Mauritius Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your holiday experience on this Travel Forum. We also thank you for the kind words you used towards our team members whom you described as being 'nice and helpful'. Additionally we are very grateful for your valuable comments as these will surely help us in further improving our facilities and services. Once again,...

2,462 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1444)
Viewed
Dining (118)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (298)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (258)
Viewed
View from Room (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (85)
Viewed
Bathroom (41)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (580)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (506)
Viewed
Amenities (138)
Viewed
Beach (15)
Viewed
Beachfront Junior Suite (84)
Viewed
Deluxe Room with Sea View (70)
Viewed
Garden Pool (8)
Viewed
Kids' Club Pool (5)
Viewed
Pool (20)
Viewed
Dining (121)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (512)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (384)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (110)
Viewed
Other (9)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bel Ombre
12.6 km away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,395 reviews
62.1 km away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
4,336 reviews
61.5 km away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 km away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#5 of 17 in Flic En Flac
2,285 reviews
1.9 km away
Sofitel So Mauritius
Sofitel So Mauritius
#4 of 6 in Bel Ombre
1,062 reviews
0.3 km away
Tamassa
Tamassa
#1 of 6 in Bel Ombre
4,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Spa
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Outrigger Mauritius Beach Resort offers an absolutely breathtaking beachfront location alongside the turquoise lagoons of the Indian Ocean. Nestled in the nature reserve of Bel Ombre, this stunning new deluxe property blends the needs of the most sophisticated traveller with the charm and tradition of an early 17th century Mauritian sugar cane plantation. All rooms offer sea views or absolute beach frontage and the resort features four swimming pools and three restaurants to suit all tastes, from Mauritian, Asian, International and fine dining, to beach and poolside options. Unwind at one of our four swimming pools, relax in the Navasana spa with jacuzzi, hammam, sauna and solarium, or simply explore the Domaine de Bel Ombre Nature reserve. For those looking for a more active break the resort offers an array of sports activities on both land and water, including a fitness centre, tennis courts as well as a water sports centre. A supervised kids club with its own pool and a daily children's programme is also available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Outrigger Mauritius Beach Resort

Address: Allee des Cocotiers, Bel Ombre, Mauritius 61010
Region: Mauritius > Savanne District > Bel Ombre
Price Range: €169 - €348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Outrigger Mauritius Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Outrigger Mauritius Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Mauritius Beach Resort Bel Ombre
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Bel Ombre
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bel Ombre
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bel Ombre
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Outrigger Mauritius Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
205 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (205)

Questions? Get answers from Outrigger Mauritius Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would certainly recommend staying in one of the suites so you can sit by the plantation pool”
Dave_WNS, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Internet was a bit sporadic”
  • View from room patio.
shrinky67, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Dulux beach front has an excellent view. Try to get ground floor as you have a patio that leads out to the beach”
300lynb, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“choose a room close by to the reception area.”
losh_12, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms are good as they open out into lush greenery.”
RR25, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$190* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$190
TripAdvisorUS$190
HotelQuicklyUS$315
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates