We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sofitel So Mauritius

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Sofitel So Mauritius
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

950 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sofitel So Mauritius
See the most recent reviews
Showing 320: English reviews
London
Reviewed 20 October 2014

Spent 7 wondertful days at So Mauritius in Aug/Sep 14 celebrating my best friends special Birthday. We will definately be going back to meet up with all the lovely staff we made friends with during our stay.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Angel2802
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, Directeur général at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you indeed for sharing with us your wonderful experience ! My team and I are delighted for having organized your vacations and for your friends as well. We just cannot wait now.... to have you back to celebrate your own anniversary ! Life is Magnifique warmest regards A.Ferreira de Sousa General Manager

Sutton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2014

From the moment myself and mum and son arrived, we were taken away with the hospitality and beauty of the resort. The outside tubs in the room were fantastic! But for us the staff made it special by taking care of my son so well. This place is definitely worth a visit!!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 8LisaM8
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, Directeur général at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear guest, Your comments are very well appreciated and we all here are delighted that you had outstanding vacations in our property. We strongly try to do our best on a daily basis to have every guest including their kids, enjoying our hotel and your feedback is very encouraging to us. Life is Magnifique at Sofitel So Mauritus. Warmest regards...

Reviewed 30 September 2014 via mobile

Dirty bathtub,phone hand set not working and filthy hair dryer....is the service I got with poor service at restaurant. ...cost cutting they told us there....for 'Rs9000''....not worth it.....Mr Ramdhonee

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Amal R
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear Mr Ramdhonee, Greetings from Sofitel So Mauritius! We sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations and had influenced your opinion about the hotel; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Please be assured that at Sofitel we are very respectful and concerned about guests feedback about their experience with regards to our services, thus we shall...

england
Reviewed 22 September 2014

Our time spent at So Sofitel was outstanding from beginning to end. The accommodation was amazing, the beach stunning, the food was incredible. The team were exceptional... We would like to personally thank .. Sarah, Joan, Kevin, Quincy and Sindy each individually taking care of all our needs and making it such a magical time for us,both. The cake, candles...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank masto
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear Guests, First of all, a big Thank you for the having chosen the Sofitel So Mauritius for your 25th Wedding anniversary and we seize this opportunity to congratulate you for this achievement. We are really pleased to know that you have enjoyed thoroughly your stay with us and sharing this same pleasure with other guests you met here. We...

Dubai
Reviewed 21 September 2014

Design of rooms is very nice and refreshing, up to 5* standards. Food however is more like 4*, limited options for buffet dinners. If you order from a la carte menu, some portions are very small. Some of rooms with no pool have no privacy, as people going to reception or restaurant are passing by and have a complete view...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank citizen_20
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear Citizen _20, We thank you for your feedback following your stay with us. We are glad that you have enjoyed the beach suite indeed priviledged for its nice garden with pool and nice proximity to the beach.The rooms garden are being maintained to keep every room and garden in its intimacy for every guests to enjoy to the maximum...

Reviewed 21 September 2014

My friend and I thoroughly enjoyed our holiday. We virtually had the beaches to ourselves each day. Teddy at the boathouse took me snorkelling and we had a great time. Raj (Butler) is impeccable in every way. Imacculately groomed from sun up to Sun down and a true professional in his work. Michael in the cocktail bar has smiled his...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ManofWarSurvivor
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for your fantastic and constructive comments. It is indeed with great pleasure that we read through your comments, knowing you enjoyed every moment of your holidays- a great break in the Southern part of the island! We do hope to have the pleasure to serve you again and that the mauritian hospitality will be a must...

Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2014

My husband and I stayed for 11 nights to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left I cannot fault the service we received. Everyone was friendly and very helpful. The hotel and gardens are so clean and everyone seems to work so hard. The beach is beautiful and you could walk for...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sue L
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear Sue L, Thank you so much for your valuable feedback and description of how to enjoy this ‘Amazing Place‘! It is with great pleasure that we read your itinerary once settled in the Southern part of the island-That‘s great advice. We hope to have the honor to welcome you back and to share with you some further SO moments...

Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 4 September 2014

We stayed for 10 days and had a great time. Thanks to the team there, from top to bottom every one was friendly and really helpful. When I injured my back, they help me to make my stay comfortable and people at the SPA treated me for FREE. Good food and good time, we will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maxfly84
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear Maxfly84, It is with great pleasure that we receive your comments following your stay at the Sofitel So Mauritius. Your impressions will be shared with our entire team who strive to provide a high level of service. Thank you once again for appreciating the services and facilities in the hotel and the legendary hospitality of the Mauritians. We look...

Reviewed 31 August 2014

It is with a heavy heart that I write some of the detail in this review My husband and I holidayed at the so Mauritius hotel from 30th July to 9th August 2014. We read reviews on trip advisor prior to booking and could find no fault in any of them, so expected a wonderful holiday. On arrival from the...

 Report
Helpful?
12Thank Irene W
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear Irene W, Thank you very much indeed for having taken the time to share your experience at the Sofitel So Mauritius. As we are reading now you are with mitigate feeling that you have been travelling back home, souvenirs and incidents made you left the hotel with heavy heart. We are very concerned about your impressions and of the...

Sao Paulo, Brazil
Reviewed 25 August 2014

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank B S
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review

1,235 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1125)
Viewed
Room/Suite (165)
Viewed
Bathroom (44)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (137)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (154)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Dining (79)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (508)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (110)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (86)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bel Ombre
14.2 km away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 12 in Le Morne
3,892 reviews
23.2 km away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
2.6 km away
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
60.8 km away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
3,953 reviews
51.6 km away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,071 reviews
24.6 km away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 17 in Flic En Flac
2,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sofitel So Mauritius Bel Ombre is located on the southern tip of the island in the most naturally beautiful place. The resort has 92 rooms, suites and villas, 2 restaurants, 2 bars, So Spa, So Fit. The resort also has a tennis court, kids club, outdoor swimming pool, 520 mts of beach, natural lagoon and corals, boat house with water activities and 24 hr personal butler service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sofitel So Mauritius

Address: Royal Road, Beau Champ, Bel Ombre, Mauritius 61008
Region: Mauritius > Savanne District > Bel Ombre
Price Range: €287 - €817 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel So Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, ACCOR and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel So Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel So Mauritius Bel Ombre Hotel Bel Ombre
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bel Ombre
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bel Ombre
#4 Spa Hotel in Bel Ombre
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bel Ombre
#5 Family Hotel in Bel Ombre
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sofitel So Mauritius staff and other travellers.
34 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (34)

Questions? Get answers from Sofitel So Mauritius staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All are beautifully deigned of luxurious specifications.”
 of 5 bubbles 429Happy, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stayed in room 303...swimming pool and restaurant were easily accessible.”
 of 5 bubbles , 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Every room is nice since it's all ground level and have a private space”
 of 5 bubbles gessengoinden09, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The Suits were perfekt with an little garden and a bathtube.”
 of 5 bubbles Alwina27, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Closer to the beach restaurant is better.”
 of 5 bubbles bfthomas, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay