We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Show Prices
#23 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,835 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,620: English reviews
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

We were booked to stay at the Moana but on arrival we were told that unfortunately the hotel had been oversold, and would it be ok if we were upgraded to the Royal Hawaiian - we thought we had struck gold but on arrival, the other hotel just did not have the atmosphere/friendliness/socialization that the Moana did - so on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stacey M
Alexandria G, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha Stacey, Mahalo for sharing your experience with us. We are so happy you had such a "proper vacation". We pride ourselves in providing exceptional customer service, so am pleased to hear that you were a recipient of our Aloha Spirit. Stephen is one of our star performers and goes out of his way to ensure all our guests are...

Prague, Nebraska
Reviewed 28 November 2013

A group of friends and myself spent several days at Moana Surfrider, 2 families from our party stayed for long 2 weeks there. Moana is one of the most romantic places you can imagine when coming over to Honolulu and definitely one of the most beautiful hotels I have visited so far (I do travel a lot and have seen...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Barbara123445782
Alexandria G, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha Barbara, Thank you for your inquiry. We sincerely apologize for the concerns regarding our dining venues. The concerns you mentioned are uncharacteristic of our standards and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We value your feedback for it gives us the opportunity to address and improve upon certain areas that might not have...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 28 November 2013

The most beautiful hotel you will ever see in your life, clean, pleasant friendly and helpful staff. Do not forget to order the " fish tacos" they are just the best you can ever have. Location was excellent as well. Walking distance to all shops activities and attractions. you cant go wrong at this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beachlover778
Alexandria G, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Mahalo for your wonderful comments. The historical ambiance of the "First Lady of Waikiki" represents the magnificent beauty of yesteryear which many of our guests, like yourself have come to love. We are also happy to hear you enjoyed our popular fish tacos from our award-winning Beach Bar. We highly recommend ordering our Ahi Poke Nachos on your next...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The Moana SurfRider is one of the first hotel in Waikiki beach. It's a beautiful hotel with a really nice bar-garden, with a grand tree in the center and live Hawaiian music, before accessing to the beach. From the beach you can see a really nice view of Waikiki beach. Close to the road where you can take all the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EnBr
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. As you mentioned, the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa was the first hotel built in Waikiki and it is our history that sets us apart from neighboring hotels and resorts. We try to convey a sense of “old world” charm today with services like Afternoon Tea on the Veranda....

Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Loved this hotel. Grand old building! We stayed in the historic wing ( which meant it was old) but we just loved it! We encountered a little problem with a smell on our 2nd day, hotel staff. Fixed this immediately. Beach access ( not all hotels in Waikiki have this) was super handy and the beach bar/ restaurant was lovely....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ann1974702
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. As you may know, the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa was the first hotel built in Waikiki and we are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your historic Banyan Wing guestroom. We try to remind our guests of the simplicities of yesteryear with our porte-cochere rocking chairs...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 22 November 2013

My husband & I have been to Waikiki a number of times & I've always loved the stunning building at the Moana Surfrider... But this was our first stay. After 4 nights we've decided it's a property best admired from afar. Look closely and it's quite underwhelming. Our room was dark and dingy with cheap amenities in the bathroom. We've...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sarah C
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for your comments. We are so sorry to hear you were underwhelmed with your recent stay here at the “First Lady of Waikiki” and we apologize for not meeting your expectations. Our company credo is “First Lady, First Class” and we aspire to provide a first class experience to each and every one of our guests. If...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The Westin Moana Surfrider is a beautiful property. Here are some key points to consider before staying here: 1. It is in the middle of the action in Waikiki. The front door opens to the main strip of shopping, while the back door opens on to a tree shaded courtyard and pool area fronting the beach. 2. The hotel has...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank mbc421
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. As you mentioned, the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa is located directly on the beach in the heart of Waikiki with many great shops and restaurants located nearby. Built over a hundred years ago and commonly referred to as the “First Lady of Waikiki,” we try to remind our...

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We recently made our third visit to the Moana and while we have enjoyed the previous two visits this one was even better! From check in to check out everything was taken care of in a friendly and professional manner. All of our Starwood Platinum guest benefits were explained and provided with ease. We stayed in the tower for the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rebelyell
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed you recent stay with us and we would like to thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us. So happy to hear you enjoyed your Tower Wing guestroom. Views of Waikiki Beach as seen from our Tower Wing are spectacular and not to be missed! As you mentioned, we...

Fairfield
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Just returned from 9 days in Hawaii spent our last three nights at the Moana Surfrider. Excellent location right in the middle of all the action of Waikiki. The beach at the hotel is great, we had an excellent view from our room. No complaints.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marie T
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for your comments. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the three nights you spent here at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. As you mentioned, we are located directly on the beach in the heart of Waikiki with many great shops and restaurants nearby. Both the Waikiki Aquarium and the Honolulu Zoo are only...

Lincoln, California
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed in the historical part of the hotel and it was so classy and awesome. Our housekeeper was great, anything we needed she was there and did an excellent job cleaning up after us. The view from our room was amazing and the most beautiful place on earth. We rented a beach umbrella and chairs on our last full...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank June L
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for such a wonderful review! We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your time spent here at the “First Lady of Waikiki.” As you may know, we set the precedent for Hawaiian hospitality over a hundred years ago and we continue to convey a sense of old world charm today with services like Afternoon Tea...

3,901 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3341)
Viewed
View from Room (305)
Viewed
Room/Suite (447)
Viewed
Dining (122)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (758)
Viewed
Bathroom (93)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (279)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:15
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (1329)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (508)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Banyan Classic City Room (109)
Viewed
Beach (38)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
Dining (93)
Viewed
Suite (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (161)
Viewed
Tower Premier Ocean Room (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
2,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
3,726 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5041
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Price Range: €308 - €574 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 791
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Jetsetter, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
87 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (87)

Questions? Get answers from Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Unless you want access to the beach club and are going to use it, go in the tower wing”
 of 5 bubbles A_R0wley, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“City view can be loud but not outrageous”
 of 5 bubbles 129vut, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Free wifi for reward members”
 of 5 bubbles wendycU6320SB, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose Diamond Head side. The other side looks directly at Outrigger/city. Afterall you're in Waikiki for the beach views.”
 of 5 bubbles NMxxxxx, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are described exactly as they are laid out, read before you book.”
 of 5 bubbles kelliblackburn4, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5