We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Show Prices
#22 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,607 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,427: English reviews
Tallahassee, Fl
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Stayed @ this hotel for 9 nights in late July on a business trip (poor me). I was booked into a city view room in the Banyan wing, but was upgraded to an ocean view room on the third floor of the banyan wing (overlooking the pool and beach). While small, the room was very nice, shower with great water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank devogrrrrl
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Mahalo for taking the time to share with us. We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed both your Banyan Wing Guestroom and Diamond Wing deluxe guestroom. As you may know, we offer a variety of different guestrooms here at “The First Lady of Waikiki,” ranging from historical guestrooms in our Banyan Wing to more modernized accommodations...

Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Reviewed 4 August 2013

When we first arrived we were slightly disappointed to find out the hotel only had valet parking. Because of the amount of guest and distance the valet needed to travel to retrieve your car a good rule of thumb is to give them 15-20 minuets notice that you will need it. When we arrived at our “garden view room” we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rocco P
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing with us and for being a guest of “The First Lady of Waikiki.” In addition to valet parking, we do offer complimentary self-parking located directly across the street from the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa at our sister property The Princess Kaiulani. We apologize for not meeting your expectations in regards to your...

Rose Bay, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We were booked at another hotel and our plan was stay at this other hotel for 8 days which we did and then spend 8 days at the moana surf rider . We lasted less than 24 hours at the moana surf rider . Over packed , long wait for the lift , like ridiculous wait time for the lift...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Bridgette M
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing with us. We are disappointed to hear of your recent stay with us and we apologize for not meeting your expectations. While it is generally busier during the summer in Waikiki, we are more than capable to accommodate each and every one of our guests while running at high capacity. Our staff is filled with...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I have read some mixed reviews for this hotel, but on a recent trip to O'ahu we decided to give this hotel a try. We wanted something fancy, classy, good location, and a good relaxation stop. After looking throughout the Waikiki strip I decided on this one because the building seemed to have a lot of character - and it...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TravellingEh
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Mahalo for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay at “The First Lady of Waikiki.” As you may know, we were the first hotel built in Waikiki and it is our history that distinguishes us from neighboring hotels. We set the precedent in Hawaiian hospitality over a hundred years...

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Apart from the obviously beautiful architecture, this hotel boasts one of the better spots in Waikiki. I have stayed in the old building and a diamond view room. I wouldn't pay extra for the diamond view room, I would stay in either the tower if there is more than 2, or the old building if there is 2. Buffet breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ebony H
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Mahalo for sharing with us and for being our guest. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here at “The First Lady of Waikiki” and that you were able to dine at both the award winning beachhouse and the Veranda. Both restaurants have unparalleled ambiance with the canopy of the majestic Banyan Tree and the expansive...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This was our final hotel in our 3 weeks in the states so looking forward to this hotel and stay. The most expensive by far so we expected the very best. There was no bellman to assist my 7yr old and I with our 4 bags... We got dropped at "wrong entrance" ..even though staff were walking past us no...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MelNak
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Mahalo for your feedback. We are so sorry to hear of your concerns regarding your recent stay with us and we apologize for not meeting your standards. As you may know, we offer a variety of different guestrooms in order to accommodate our varying guests. Guestrooms in our historic Banyan Wing are intimately sized and most representative of the...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed in the noisiest room in the historical wing. The room was spacious but the bathroom tiny and no bath. It took 40 minutes in the queue to find out our room wasn't ready and two further 40 minute attempts before securing our room key. Each evening when we returned to our room our key had been disabled and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pen606
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed here twice in July for our Honeymoon and had the most amazing time both stays. We booked a Banyan Ocean Room and while small was totally the best option. It was really clean and really loved the window seat. We had a room right at the very end of the wing so it was as close to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Mahalo for your comments. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your historic Banyan Ocean Room and that you loved the window seat. Guestrooms in our historic Banyan Wing are charming and most representative of the Hawai’i of yesteryear. As you may know “The First Lady of Waikiki” was the first hotel built in Waikiki and it is our...

Seaford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed here for two nights simply to see Honolulu en route from The Big Island to Vegas. We booked a room entitled Banyan Classic Ocean View. Unfortunately we didn't realise that the Banyan tree is so large that you can't see the ocean through it. The room also looked right out over the beach bar. Fortunately the ridiculously loud...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank mikehove
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Mahalo for your feedback. We are sorry to hear of your concerns regarding your Banyan Classic Ocean View guestroom and we apologize for not meeting your expectations. Guestrooms in our historic Banyan Wing are charming and intimately sized and many of our guests prefer our historic accommodations for they are most representative of the Hawai’i of yesteryear. However we...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This hotel has a beautiful vibe and is in a brilliant location. There are 3 different "wings" for accommodation - the original hotel, the 60s(?) extension and then a more recent and larger tower. I stayed with my mum in the 60s extension. Although the bathroom needed a renovation it was clean and everything worked - this room type is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnnaLewisSydney
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for taking the time to share with us and for being our guest. As you mentioned, the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa consists of three wings, the Banyan Wing, the Diamond Wing, and the Tower Wing. Each wing offers its own unique décor and ambiance to better suit the wide variety of guests we welcome....

3,661 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3098)
Viewed
View from Room (292)
Viewed
Dining (114)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (694)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (264)
Viewed
Room/Suite (427)
Viewed
Bathroom (88)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:15
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (1211)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (508)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Banyan Classic City Room (109)
Viewed
Beach (38)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
Dining (93)
Viewed
Suite (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (161)
Viewed
Tower Premier Ocean Room (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 84 in Honolulu
3,509 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
2,349 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5041
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Price Range: €314 - €636 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 791
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Starwood, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
67 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (67)

Questions? Get answers from Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get an oceanview if you want it to be extra special”
 of 5 bubbles 234paulap, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room with a view on the side away from the Outrigger Hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles SDLHK, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“A little bit more for ocean view, but it's worth it”
 of 5 bubbles noncorteccia, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I think most of the rooms here would be more than acceptable.”
 of 5 bubbles PeterYensen, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay in city view rooms they are noisy”
 of 5 bubbles 643ang, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay