We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,434 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Queen Kapiolani Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,206: English reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2015

It's an older style hotel but well maintained and great value, friendly staff, fantastic location, comfortable rooms with amazing views. It is located at the end of Waikiki beach, so it is quieter and more peaceful of an evening when out on the balcony. We stayed on the 14 floor in a Diamond Head View room. Incredible views of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth W
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review Queen Kapiolani Hotel. It sounds like you had an excellent experience in Waikiki and were able to take advantage of many of the convenient offerings near the hotel. We look forward to having you back for another visit in the near future and wish you a wonderful day!

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 26 August 2015

good location , clean, stayed in room 1512 , excellent veiw of diamond head and ocean , would stay again , short walk to the beach , close to LU LU 's restaurant [had breakfast there most mornings , has nice outlook over beach]

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bigbl0ck
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel. It is excellent to hear that you loved our location and view of Diamond Head from your room. Our guests love our close proximity to the beach and we are pleased to know that you did as well. We appreciate you complimenting our cleanliness. Our housekeeping department works hard...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 21 August 2015

Loved that we were facing the Honolulu Zoo and Diamond Head and was so lovely to listen to the birds, lions and elephants while on the balcony watching the surfers. Basic room, free wifi and fridge. Staff were friendly and helpful however on check out we were rushed through and didn't get asked if we had a nice stay or...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kez D
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us at Queen Kapiolani Hotel. Our guests love the fantastic views from their room and we are pleased you did as well. It's great to hear that our staff were able to assist you with packing your luggage. We apologize if you felt rushed during your...

Carson City, Nevada
Reviewed 16 August 2015

My husband and I stayed at the Queen Kapiolani Hotel for six nights early August 2015. We truly enjoyed our stay. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We had booked an ocean view room and the staff met all our requests regarding asking for a room on a higher floor as well as asking for a corner room. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nevadagirl2015
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Queen Kapiolani Hotel. We are proud to hear that our staff did an excellent job accommodating/serving you throughout your stay. Thank you for complimenting our excellent location and recommending our hotel to future guests. We hope to have you back again in the near future and...

Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at Queen Kapiolani for 5 nights and were very impressed with what we paid for. We stayed in an ocean view room and the views were stunning. The staff were attentive and our room was very comfortable. The air conditioning was a savior as it was so hot during the night. The restaurant was too...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alyce R
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are so happy to hear that we were everything you needed during your time in Hawaii. Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review of our hotel. We appreciate your input and pictures you shared for future guests. We would absolutely love to have you back for another visit and hope you have an...

Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2015

Great hotel set on the edge of Waikiki beach. Overlooking the zoo and parks and sea. Stay in this unassuming hotel, sit by the pool or walk a couple of hundred yards to the busy beach and promonade. Rise early and enjoy the quiet or enjoy the hassle and bustle of Waikiki. Good rooms, cleaning staff great, views amazing.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lorraine H
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate your review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel. It is excellent to hear that you had a wonderful view and were able to experience many of the beautiful aspects of the island during your stay. Thank you for complimenting our staff. We work hard to ensure all of our guests have a memorable experience during their visit. We...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 13 August 2015

We had just finished a drum camp on the island and decided to stay and explore Waikiki. We could not check in until 3pm, and we were told to leave our bags with the bellboys. They saw all our bags and very loudly among themselves said 'Jeez, why do people have to carry so much darn luggage'. I was personally...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rhonhagedorn
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for writing a review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel. We hope you enjoyed your drum camp. We apologize for the comments made about your luggage quantity. This is unacceptable and management has been informed so that we may address this issue. It is common place for most hotel's check-in time to be 3PM and we apologize for...

Reviewed 11 August 2015 via mobile

We have eaten breakfast there twice, out of necessity, disappointed both times. Staff is not very attentive, rude Asian guests, cold food, and certainly not worth the $18 per person! Would not recommend it! Would not consider other meals there! Omelet bar staff too busy fraternizing with the hostess!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Donna C
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We apologize for any challenges you faced with the breakfast service offered at Queen Kapiolani Hotel. Although we cannot control the demeanor of our guests we have contacted management regarding your comments on staff behavior and quality of food. Thank you for bringing this to our attention so we may address the issue immediately. We hope this situation...

MINNEAPOLIS
Reviewed 6 August 2015

The room was clean and ready. Not far from shopping, eating and the ocean View with Diamond Head view was amazing!! The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again..The shower was awesome and the water pressure was great. The A.C. saved us in the hot summer nights.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jennifer R
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for writing a review of our "PERFECT LOCATION." We are very pleased to hear that you loved our beautiful views and outstanding staff members. We hope you got to enjoy some excellent shopping and sight-seeing around the island during your time with us. The Queen Kapiolani Hotel looks forward to having you back for future visits...

Australia
Reviewed 1 August 2015

Terrible experience ,staff unwilling to help.Not customer focused upon returning home wrote 2 emails and never had a reply.Would never recommend this hotel to anyone. Quality of room was dated,old carpet,walls bathroom smelly,even though housemaids did try their best.Towels old and in poor condition,Staff especially front of house not willing to assist with the most simple requests.Without travellers they wouldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Gordon G
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is unfortunate that you found your accommodations unsuitable during your time in Honolulu. We apologize for the challenges you faced with Guest Services and management has been informed immediately so this may be attended to. We urge you to reach out to our General Manager, Ed Saunders, at esaudners@queenkapiolani.com if you have further questions, comments or concerns....

1,264 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (815)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (118)
Viewed
Room/Suite (128)
Viewed
View from Room (163)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (62)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Other (306)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (424)
Viewed
Amenities (56)
Viewed
Diamond Head View Hotel Room (Pre-Renovation) (84)
Viewed
Jr Suite (34)
Viewed
Pool (41)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Standard Hotel Room (Pre-Renovation) (39)
Viewed
Standard Room with City View (33)
Viewed
Standard Room with Ocean View (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (105)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Pagoda Hotel
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
483 reviews
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
1,605 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#56 of 84 in Honolulu
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Kulana Restaurant
Kulana Restaurant
Cuisines: American
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Named after the beloved wife of Hawaii's last reigning King, the historical Queen Kapiolani Hotel is conveniently located one block to Waikiki beach and near the Honolulu Zoo, Kapiolani Park, Waikiki Shell and Waikiki Aquarium. Most upgraded rooms feature views of Diamond Head and/or the ocean and the following FREE amenities: WiFi Internet access throughout the hotel, daily local newspaper, mini-refrigerator and coffeemaker. Additional hotel amenities include meeting and banquet facilities, pool with sun deck and restaurant with panoramic views of Diamond Head and the Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Address: 150 Kapahulu Avenue, Waikiki, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-4097
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Price Range: €140 - €222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen Kapiolani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 315
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queen Kapiolani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Kapiolani Honolulu
Hotel Queen Kapiolani
Queen Kapiolani Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu
Hotel Style:
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Queen Kapiolani Hotel staff and other travellers.
40 questions
Ask a question
Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (40)

Questions? Get answers from Queen Kapiolani Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid this hotel.”
edw369, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“book an ocean view or request a diamond head view”
marketcaptain, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“upper floor with view of diamondhead.”
tomsheryl, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Jr Suites are great. The penthouse with an ocean view is fabulous.”
beachbows, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Do your research before you book this hotel for your stay.”
jhashimo97, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5