We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

White Sands Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
White Sands Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

646 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 544: English reviews
Start your review of White Sands Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel is in great location and very centrally located, close to shops and restaurants and only about 6-7 min walk to Waikiki Beach.The staff are are very friendly but the room we had (and I'm pretty sure it is representative of them all) was really pretty dirty, the stove top especially around he switches was caked in old cooking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandmaitken
AA H, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to share your review. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed our ideal location and received excellent service from our friendly and helpful staff. We are very sorry to hear that your overall stay was less than exceptional, and apologize for the state in which you found your room. We are dedicated to...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

This is a fantastic hotel. It is minutes from the beautiful beach of Waikiki, Google maps makes you think it is a lot further. There is a large supermarket 2 mins away selling all you need for the self catering option and is a lot cheaper than the express supermarkets. There is loads of great restaurants around the hotel. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tom W
About Hotel's Favourite Review
mom1188l, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha Tom W, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. I am pleased to hear that you complimented our nice pool, helpful staff, our great location – walking distance to the beautiful Waikiki beach, restaurants and shopping. I am glad to hear they you enjoy our DVD movies, and shuttle bus to Ala Moana Shopping Center....

West Jordan, Utah
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is not even worthy of 1 star. It was in a sketchy part of town, a bar right next door where the language was only swear words, it smelled like vomit. The the rooms were old, dirty and hot. Our shuttle driver asked us if we picked this hotel? We said no it was part of a package and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank evansmaza
AA H, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are very sorry to hear that your stay was less than satisfactory, and apologize for the state in which you found your room. We are dedicated to a high standard of cleanliness for our guests and are embarrassed to hear that this was not your experience. We...

Lucenec
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel craves for refurbishing! we had to switch the room because the first was very smelly (probably former smoking room). The wifi is available in lobby only. Parking is convenient and for good price. it is definitely a budget hotel, with very friendly staff and kitchen amenities.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marian l
AA H, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha Marian, and thank you for sharing your review. We're delighted to hear you received excellent service from our friendly and attentive staff and that you enjoyed our amenities. We appreciate your feedback as we are always striving to improve the guest experience. Mahalo for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Hong Kong
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a two star hotel. It is good value for the money. I got a senior discount on the Internet and the rate was $125 with all taxes for a room with a kitchenette. That alone was worth $20 per person per night. This is an Aqua run property so the things they could control - like the really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annelisec
AA H, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you very much for sharing your review. We're thrilled to hear you had a wonderful experience with us and we're delighted to know you enjoyed our comfortable accommodations and good vibe. We appreciate your kind words and valuable feedback and hope to welcome you back again soon. Mahalo!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel looked great in the pictures. We were unpleasantly surprised when we got here. It is old and needs maintenance. Also, there are quite a few shady characters hanging around the street in front and coming and going from the backside of the complex. On the plus side, it had everything we needed and everything in our room worked...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dan D
AA H, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha Dan and thank you for sharing your recent experience. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your first time in Hawaii, but are disappointed to hear about the aspects of your stay that were less than exceptional. We have shared your valuable feedback with our leadership team for review. We hope to welcome you back for an improved experience soon....

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

So contrary to the date I indicated, I actually came here in 2015 on a school trip. The stay was amazing, forgo a view and fancy necessities we didn't need and it was great, use of the pool and spa were great and it was close enough to everything that it wasn't a struggle, but far enough so that it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Krystal W
Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

Loved our stay of one full week! Service is amazing! You need help with a lamp or using DVD player-- immediate help!!! Pool and hot tub open til 10 PM. Loved how we could walk up outdoor steps back to room from pool instead of slopping water 💦 inside a fancy elevator only to find couples all in tuxes ready...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Patsy D
Sooke, Canada
Reviewed 3 January 2017

bathroom tap dripped constantly, faulty light switch in kitchen, hair blower did not work, glass door lock broken had to use a stick to jam door shut, we got one serviette, one sugar, one creamer package for 2 of us, very seldom got soap, shampoo or moisturizer. sheets were too small for bed and bottom could not be tucked in....

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank elansooke
Reviewed 3 January 2017

2nd time I've stayed at this property, purely for the fact that it's in a great location (walking distance to the main shops and Waikiki beach) it's cheap and its clean accomodation. Yes the property is old and and the rooms dated, but Ive always found the staff to be super friendly and nice and the rooms clean and tidy....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris B

406 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (295)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (49)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (120)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (88)
Viewed
Amenities (4)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Studio with City Views (23)
Viewed
Studio with Pool Views (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
377 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#63 of 84 in Honolulu
1,593 reviews
Ewa Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#54 of 84 in Honolulu
1,851 reviews
Aqua Waikiki Pearl
#72 of 84 in Honolulu
1,159 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Breakfast Available
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This quaint low-rise hotel is your home away from home located just 1 1/2 blocks to Waikiki Beach, less than a block to shopping, dining and the best Waikiki activities. The lovely central courtyard features a swimming pool with sundeck and barbeque grill. All rooms offer lanai/balconies open to city or pool views and most rooms include kitchenette facilities with stove-top, microwave and refrigerator. With our daily convenience fee for all stays White Sands Hotel allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, and Local & Toll-Free Calls. Come experience quintessential Hawaiian hospitality! ... more   less 

Additional Information about White Sands Hotel

Address: 431 Nohonani St., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2622 (Formerly Celebrity Resorts Waikiki)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Price Range: €119 - €181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — White Sands Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your White Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from White Sands Hotel staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from White Sands Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Poolside may be a bit quieter and you might just get the wifi there”
 of 5 bubbles sandmaitken, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“try to ask for pool view and lower levels (as no lift available)”
 of 5 bubbles marianl821, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you can handle stairs, get the second floor on the corner.”
 of 5 bubbles OceanBoulevard, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Pool view room is best”
 of 5 bubbles pally1070, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you are a light Sleeper or Noise Sensitive DO NOT get room 236 or near entrance to building.”
 of 5 bubbles 527AnneB527, 2 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5