We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites

Show Prices
#33 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,558 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,340: English reviews
Start your review of Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites
 Click to rate
Kaarina, Finland
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

We stayed here for one night before heading to airport. Positives first, the room was big with kitchen and sofa and so one. But it was very noicy. Even though our room was at 8th floor, the traffic is keeping you awake. And if that doesn't the AC is so loud you need ear plugs. So we came here to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CallMeCaspian
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

We are a family of 4 with 2 adults and 2 children. We stayed for 3 weeks in November, and were beyond comfortable in this unit. Everything we could possibly need was found in the unit; pots, pans, utensils, cups, beach towels and chairs, and more. We absolutely loved the location of the hotel, and were only a 10 minute...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Al0haL0ve
About Hotel's Favourite Review
AquaAston H, General Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for sharing your recent experience. We're thrilled you enjoyed our ideal location, beautiful views from the lanai and received excellent service from our staff. We appreciate your kind words and recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Mahalo!

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We enjoyed a two-night stay at Luana Waikiki and were graciously provided with a very early check in. The staff were helpful, friendly and welcoming. Everything was very clean and carpet on 6th floor was being replaced during our stay. The lifts are being replaced and apparently this is a slow process in Waikiki as a frequent guest told us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kb_3095
Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed for one night after a cruise, check in staff was very welcoming when we arrived and got us checked in quickly. There was an issue at check where the hotel would not accept my travel credit card as the security hold, and had to withdraw $200 + resort fee cash to pay as a deposit (ATM on site). Room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tassietravels2791
AA H, General Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you very much for taking the time to share your review. We are pleased to learn you were warmly welcomed by our friendly and helpful staff. We are also happy to hear you appreciated our spacious accommodations, but are very disappointed to learn about the aspects of your stay that were less than exceptional. Please accept our...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We are regulars in Hawaii and thought we would try the Luana and glad we did. I have read some reviews and was totally surprised. I think some people need to go and pay top dollar as The Luana offers value for money with style. The Luana offers, free coffee, tea and infused iced water in the lobby every day...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank katrinadenney
AA H, General Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Wow Katrina! Thank you very much for sharing your lovely review! We are beyond thrilled to hear you enjoyed our fabulous amenities, spacious accommodations, beautiful location, shuttle service and that you received excellent service from our friendly and dedicated staff! We are so glad you had a wonderful experience with us and that you plan on returning again in the...

Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Valet didn't come to our car when we arrived. My husband had to bring the keys to them. Check in staff were awesome. One of the 3 elevators was broken, which made wait times excessive. If you try to save time using the stair well, don't because it's a circuitous route around the building. Our room was larger than expected...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TrippingRose
AA H, General Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Aloha Rose! We are delighted to hear we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed our spacious and clean accommodations, water pressure and ideal location. We sincerely apologize for any discomfort and inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us. We appreciate your valuable feedback and will be sure to review it with our leadership team as we want all...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed a t the Luana Waikiki for one week the last week of March 2017. It was terrible. We booked a two bed condo with an ocean view. We got a room on the third floor with a view of the street and the smoking area in the alley next door. We could see the ocean if we stood...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Albertagirl4652
AA H, General Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review We are greatly disappointed to hear that your experience was less than exceptional and are embarrassed to hear about the lack of care and concern you received in regards to the state in which you found your room. This does not at all reflect the high level of service or...

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beds are comfortable and clean, and the service is great. Overall, I'd recommend staying here if you're looking a more economical place to stay. The value-for-money is good by Waikiki standards. I would love to come back....aloha...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _sanela_sin
AA H, General Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Aloha! Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our clean and comfortable accommodations, exceptional location and that you received excellent service from our friendly staff. We appreciate your kind words and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future. Mahalo!

New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My daughter booked an Airbnb at this hotel...not sure if certain people own suites w/in the hotel...must be. Anyway, it is a super location, nice pool, and we got the room for $99 a night during spring break. LOVED IT!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ms. Margaret G
AA H, General Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Aloha. We appreciate your kind words about our property, and while the unit that you stayed in is privately-owned, we are glad to know that your accommodations were comfortable and conveniently located. When guests book with us directly, they enjoy exclusive amenities, such as daily housekeeping, shuttle service, and more. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review....

Dunstable, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Luana for 5 nights in March 2017. The hotel is right next to Derussy Park which extends all the way to the beach and just a short walk away from all of the shopping and dining establishments. The hotel is clean and all of the folks were very nice. I have only two complaints: the elevators...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robert N
AA H, General Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Aloha Robert, and thank you for sharing your review. We are delighted to hear you received exceptional service from our friendly and helpful staff and that you enjoyed our clean accommodations, ideal location and had a wonderful stay. Please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience you experienced during your time with us. We appreciate your valuable feedback and we...

915 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (712)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (103)
Viewed
View from Room (128)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (176)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (242)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (166)
Viewed
Amenities (20)
Viewed
Grill area (5)
Viewed
Pool (9)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Standard Room with City View (38)
Viewed
Studio with Kitchenette (29)
Viewed
Studio with Kitchenette and Partial Ocean View (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Oasis
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
525 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#65 of 84 in Honolulu
483 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#55 of 84 in Honolulu
1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Park Shore Waikiki
#23 of 84 in Honolulu
1,324 reviews
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Overlooking serene Fort DeRussy Park, Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites is a boutique hotel located just a short stroll to Waikiki Beach, world-class shopping, and international dining at the Waikiki Gateway. Choose from a variety of exceptionally comfortable accommodations with Hawaiian style decor, including studios with kitchenettes and spacious ocean view suites with full kitchens. Take advantage of our yoga classes on Tues, Thur, Sat & Sun, cool folding & cruise bikes to explore Oahu, and beach chairs & towels. Come see what sets the Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites apart from other Waikiki hotels! With our daily hospitality fee, Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki shuttle (complimentary Waikiki shuttle service), daily newspaper, in room coffee, in room safe, local & toll-free calls, and water in lobby. Enjoy the manager's reception on Mon, Wed & Friday from 5p-6p which features wine, cheese, and craft beer service, and live Hawaiian entertainment. You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool, BBQ area & fitness center. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites

Address: 2045 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5118
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Price Range: €156 - €242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Luana Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Luana Waikiki
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites Hawaii/Honolulu
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites staff and other travellers.
60 questions
Ask a question
Mandan, North Dakota
Melbourne, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (60)

Questions? Get answers from Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Families are best choosing a one bedroom or two bedroom unit.”
katrinadenney, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“A/C units are loud, and filthy. We were on the third floor and it was awful!”
Albertagirl4652, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“look on airbnb to book a room here”
msmargaretg, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I do not have this knowledge our room looked out over machinery and works.”
283joang, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“go to another hotel”
Y713OSsusanm, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5