We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Modern Honolulu

Save
Share
1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$332
View Deal
Official Hotel
US$326
View Deal
Snaptravel
US$332
US$260
View Deal
SAVE US$72
Hotels.comUS$326
Expedia.comUS$326
Prestigia.comUS$293
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (2921)
Room & Suite (930)
Pool & Beach (409)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
A note from The Modern Honolulu
Updated 19/01/21

About

#49 of 91 hotels in Honolulu
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Perfectly situated, THE MODERN HONOLULU stands at the epicenter between the world renowned Hawaiian experience of Waikiki Beach, the blossoming Kaka’ako arts district, and Honolulu’s downtown cosmopolitan scene. We are the hub of contemporary culture and creativity in Honolulu. Our boutique luxury is as refined as it is relaxed. An empowered team delivers THE MODERN HONOLULU experience -- alluring, personalized and innovative – surrounded by an award-winning design concept that creates an urban chic beach aesthetic. Two stylish pools overlook the ocean for daytime fun. It’s no wonder Thrillist magazine called us “The best boutique hotel in Hawaii.”
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Poolside bar
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
24-hour security
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
ATM on site
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Modern
4,795Reviews158Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 3,203
  • 1,021
  • 326
  • 130
  • 116
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
516onders wrote a review Yesterday
New York City, New York1 contribution
Please stay away, they are cheater and they collect monry from your account: we just call police officer and get our money back. They are selling tours and once you call place you found out there is no reservation.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Relax Hotels Hawaii wrote a review 15 Feb
9 contributions1 helpful vote
I must say this property is by far the worst stay I have ever had in waikiki. The minute we arrived it started than we have dinner last night and it really was bad never the less we are checking out and going to the Hilton... The manager should be ashamed and really Diamond Resorts you need to hire some truly qualified personal if you want to call this resort 4.5 star you should hire the staff to support that rating... We will never come back.. Ed Bushor typical slop shop
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Diamond Resorts, Owner at The Modern Honolulu
Responded 1 week ago
Patrick, we are sad to hear you were disappointed with your stay. We'd like to hear more about your experience and use this as a learning opportunity to improve for our future guests. If you have some time, we'd love to hear from you - feel free to email us at CustomerServiceSM@diamondresorts.com. -HN
Read more
Zachary K wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution
We stayed here last weekend of January and had a great time. Disclaimer..we got these nights free as we sat through a three hour time share presentstion a couple weeks prior. The hotel was EMPTY. I think there are more staff than guests right now. We had the pool to ourselves both mornings so my daughter played and she could laugh and yell (as a 4 year old does) as much as she wanted. The other times we've been here it's more of a young adults hangout so we may have been more self conscious. We also played in the adult pool upstairs since no one was there. The Grove restaurant is actually pretty good for a quick brrakfast. The staff was friendly. It's a semi self service style. There are some hot menu items and cold grand and go stuff. We ordered pancakes both mornings and they were really good. Usually hotel pancakes come out dry and chewy but these were actually moist and tender good. These are ricotta pancakes and better than Bills IMO and only $10. We had the entire restaurant to ourselves both mornings which was nice. No fear of covid. I understand Diamond is redoing the rooms but we got the older room. TBH it is pretty good condition and not dated. The shower had a bit of mold growth in one corner, but overall the room was clean and we had a great nite sleep. I do like the furniture, but the bed platform sticks out from the mattress and is a sharp wood corner. WATCH your ankles. It got me one night. The shower had great water pressure and I like the Lather toiletries. Staff were all very friendly. Location for me is good. We didnt plan to go to the beach, but you can take a nice walk to the beach in front of the Hilton or surf bowls. Pro tip, the beach by the Hilton actually exists and is way less crowded than other parts of waikiki. There isn't much "beach" left by dukes or queens. There aren't that many good restaurants walking distance unless you like red lobster. Katsumidori has good.sushi. it's at the prince but make reservations days ahead they book up fast.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Diamond Resorts, Owner at The Modern Honolulu
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for choosing to stay with us! It is a pleasure to know you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back at our resort in the future. -GP
Read more
gloria B wrote a review Jan 2021
Grand Canyon National Park, Arizona16 contributions2 helpful votes
Great stay, the rooms were cozy, there is no balcony in the standard room which was kind of disappointing because we were told there were balconies in all rooms and they could have totally extended into balconies. The lobby had a bar/club area that was not being used but that was a nice area, they offer several EV charging stations but they don't monitor who parks there. we had to fight every night with gas vehicles parking in our spots and the FD said that it is a first come first served basis. Other than that the stay was wonderful, the pool areas are very nice!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from The Modern Honolulu Front Office, Guest Services / Front Office at The Modern Honolulu
Responded 19 Jan 2021
Aloha Gloria, Thank you so much for staying with us and we're glad to hear you had a wonderful time! Please note that all of our rooms with a king bed do have balconies but the doubles do not. We hope to see you again.
Read more
Amanda T wrote a review Jan 2021
2 contributions2 helpful votes
This hotel in ala Moana is chic, updated, and nice bathroom. I was able to check in early. The staff from the front desk, bell service, and pool/bartenders were great. After a terrible stay at another place, this place was wonderful. It was night and day Even the city view was nice for me since it was facing the ocean partially. Theres coffee in the room with cups and variety of coffee pod choices. Another great thing about this place is the charging outlets and there’s a Bluetooth speaker so you can listen to your jams while on the spacious balcony. They also will hold your luggage if you have a late flight back. I’ll be back to this place and recommend this place in Oahu.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Diamond Resorts, Owner at The Modern Honolulu
Responded 18 Jan 2021
Thank you for letting us know you had a great stay with us. We hope you will come back and visit us again soon! Warmest regards. -GP
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$159 - US$445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the modern honolulu hotel honolulu
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiOahuHonoluluWaikiki
NUMBER OF ROOMS
353
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Modern Honolulu
Which popular attractions are close to The Modern Honolulu?
Nearby attractions include Honolulu Cookie Company (0.3 km), Friday Night Fireworks at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort (0.4 km), and Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Modern Honolulu?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Modern Honolulu?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Modern Honolulu?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a poolside bar, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Modern Honolulu?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Modern Honolulu?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tropical Tribe, Lappert's Ice Cream, and goofy cafe & dine.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Modern Honolulu?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Modern Honolulu?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to The Modern Honolulu?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Shangri La (5.5 km), Iolani Palace (3.2 km), and Queen Emma Summer Palace (5.7 km).
Does The Modern Honolulu have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is The Modern Honolulu accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.