We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki

Save
Share
2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2515
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
12 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Expedia.com
US$567
View deal
Free cancellation until 13/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
LuxuryCollection
US$567
View deal
Free cancellation until 13/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
travelup.com
US$529
View deal
TravelocityUS$567
Booking.comUS$567
Destinia.comUS$618
View all 18 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (4386)
Room & Suite (1178)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki
Updated 14/09/22

About

#35 of 94 hotels in Honolulu
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice

Built in 1927, The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki is an iconic resort hotel in Honolulu, Hawaii that ushered in a new era of luxurious resort travel to Hawaii.

Situated in the heart of Waikiki, the luxury hotel offers cultural activities, concierge service, valet parking, doctors-on-call, florist, currency exchange service, Japanese concierge, laundry and dry cleaning, world-class restaurants and bars, wireless internet access in rooms and all public areas, multi-lingual staff, 24-hour room service, business center, and beach and pool services at our Malulani Pool and Helumoa Playground.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Evening entertainment
Kids pool
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fitness classes
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Poolside bar
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
On-demand films
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Luxury
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
4969Reviews150Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 2,840
  • 1,139
  • 519
  • 264
  • 208
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
travel_bug_NYC_10 wrote a review Yesterday
New York City, New York7 contributions11 helpful votes
2 stars for only the view and location. This hurts to write as this hotel used to be THE place to stay in Waikiki. Unfortunately not much has been done to upkeep since the 80’s. Rooms were dirty, and very old. Great view and comfy bed, but just dirty. That would be ok if they weren’t charging $600+ a night but for what they are charging you are getting a 3 star quality at best. You book this hotel because you want to be on the beach - but beware you will need to pay $60 for a chair. I understand this charge for outsiders but for guests? It’s ludicrous. Not to mention the service. If you’re an elite member (I’m ambassador!) forget any special treatment. The “free” breakfast is a cup of fruit, a yoplait yogurt and a mini croissant. Anything else be prepared to pay up the nose. And if you try to talk to anyone you get a smile with a “I’m sorry.” No attempt to find solutions, no attempt to fix errors - they just don’t care. I realize Hawaii is not what it used to be but for the prices you’ll pay for a Hawaiian vacation - you’re better off going somewhere else. If you still go to Hawaii - trust me on this one - don’t stay at the royal hawaiian.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki
Responded yesterday
Aloha Mina A, First and foremost, mahalo for your loyalty to our hotels. Please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations. While you liked our comfortable bed, we regret the cleanliness issue you experienced in your accommodations. We were also sorry to read that you did not thoroughly enjoy our breakfast. We have reviewed your comments with our team to see where we can do better. We certainly understand your inconvenience and are grateful for your patience. While we know that this stay did not meet all of your expectations, we are hopeful for another opportunity to welcome you back for the flawless experience you deserve. Mahalo, Nicole Okuna The Royal Hawaiian, Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MommyoftwoLY wrote a review Aug 2022
Toronto, Canada11 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
This is our family’s favourite hotel resort of all time. A truly beautiful hotel with such character and lush grounds. The hotel staff were exceptional, especially Elaine from Surf Lanai. She was such a great example of excellence in customer service and always proactive in our needs. The onsite bakery was so yummy for light breakfasts or snacks. The resort activities includes were also a lot of fun, from lei making to kukui bracelet making (which was a nice respite from the sun when needed). The toiletries were also high quality from Malie, just gorgeous! RH guests also get access to Sheratons pools which includes a water slide that was a nice addition to beach time. The beach was nicely shallow which allowed for lots of safe water play and sun bathing. Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki
Responded 4 weeks ago
Aloha MommyoftwoLY, Mahalo for staying with us and also for the excellent review. It is always a pleasure to know that we exceeded our guests' expectations, and we appreciate you mentioning how much you enjoyed our facilities, activities, and courteous service. It is excellent to know that our associates made your stay more comfortable. Making our guests feel at home is what we love to do, and we will enjoy passing along your kind compliments to Elaine. Mahalo again for your recommendation, and we look forward to welcoming you soon. Mahalo, Nicole Okuna The Royal Hawaiian, Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Roadship wrote a review 2 Oct
Santa Maria Colotepec, Mexico2 contributions1 helpful vote
I have traveled to the Royal Hawaiian many times in my life, and when the travel restrictions to Hawaii finally lifted, we thought it was time to go back. The Royal holds many wonderful memories for me, and I am sad the luxury I used to enjoy has been cost cut away. I hope Marriott is happy with their green eye-shade management has wrought. We were happy to see many of our favorite staff members were still here, but even they hoped some of the luxury would return. Here are the specifics. The morning buffet on the beach was gone. When we asked about it, we were told nobody does buffets any more. The only problem with telling us this lie was the week before we had been feasting at the Four Seasons breakfast buffet in KoOlina. Then we were told the lounge was closed. No more pink champagne for happy hour. On past visits we had made friends from around the globe at the beautiful lounge just above the pool. Citizens from Japan, Australia and Europe mingled with American guests in what used to be one of the best lounge experiences in the world. Not all our memories were dashed. We had a wonderful dinner at Azure. Nestor our waiter was delightful as he served some of the best food we had on this trip. Also, I am happy to report the Mai Tai bar was as delightful as ever with live music starting at 11:00am. Great properties in iconic locations deserve exceptional management. The Royal Hawaiian needs a new management team.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki
Responded yesterday
Aloha Roadship, Thank you for your review and for your loyalty to our resort. While you liked some aspects of your visit, we apologize for not meeting your expectations. We are known for our exceptional service and attention to detail; therefore, we truly regret that this was not your experience. We have reviewed your comments with our team, and we hope you will give us another opportunity to regain your trust. Mahalo, Nicole Okuna The Royal Hawaiian, Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
barbara b wrote a review 2 Oct
Aarburg, Switzerland32 contributions12 helpful votes
I have been a guest twice in the past and I returned expecting to have the “ luxury experience” I had in the past. What a disappointment. No room service ( not re-established after COVID), concierge shared with Sheraton ( I could not have any privatized excursions organized, no booking of tee times, no booking of limo transportation). Please, let’s live up to the promise- a luxury collection.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki
Responded 2 days ago
Aloha barbara b, Mahalo for choosing us and for your loyalty to our resort. We are truly sorry that we did not deliver the exceptional stay you deserve. We continually strive to give each guest an enriching and memorable visit; therefore, we are disappointed we did not meet these expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for the concerns mentioned in your review, and we are grateful for your patience. We would welcome the opportunity to regain your trust and hope you will give us another chance in the future. Mahalo, Nicole Okuna The Royal Hawaiian, Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wicto wrote a review 1 Oct
Tucson, Arizona141 contributions226 helpful votes
If these walls had ears…. Such a timeless classic of a hotel whose guests featured icons from Duke Kahanamoku in pre-world war two times, to the Hip Cat guests of the 50’s, to Don Ho, featured in shows like the original Hawaii Five-0 and Magnum PI. The hotel grounds feature a large back lawn used for morning yoga (it’s free!) and a historical lobby of classic design. The pool is small by today’s standards but there is an arrangement with the Sheraton next door for Royal Hawaiian guests to use their larger pool. They have two options for beach lounge/umbrella rentals at a reasonable cost….about $63 for two chairs for the day. The savvy guest will show up at 6:30 AM at the beach desk to secure a front row rental on the beach. The Luau area has an exceptional grass lawn and makes for a cool setting to enjoy the show. The hotel staff was awesome; they were all professional and friendly and make every effort for guests to enjoy your stay. Historic hotel aficionado will want to stay in the historical wing; do your best to secure an ocean view. The timeless luxury does come at a price; some of the reviews reflect that. Unless you enjoy an old school experience and an accommodation that prices out the more bourgeois traveler, you may be a tad disappointed. The Mai Tai bar is a lively beach front bar with refreshing but expensive drinks - $25 for a signature Mai Tai. An eyebrow raiser was the add-on items to our bill. Although not total reflection of the hotel, with the ~$50 resort fee that is now commonplace at all lux hotels, were the taxes added on by the nice people of the Honolulu city government – about $70 per day. All in, we had a very memorable and a great vacation!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Ocean view room is a must!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Baylane61 wrote a review Sep 2022
Huntington Beach, California251 contributions75 helpful votes
This is an upscale and pricey hotel on the Main Street of Waikiki. We stayed there for 6 nights and enjoyed our stays. However we were disappointed that the hotel has a very small pool compared to the sister hotel next door Sheraton Waikiki. The ambience was not as good as the Sheraton Waikiki neither. One of the best things was that we were able to use the pools in Sheraton Waikiki so we stayed over there most of our daytime (we did not get access to the infinite pool though). With price that we paid, I’d rather stay at the Sheraton Waikiki instead.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki
Responded 1 week ago
Aloha Baylane61, Mahalo for choosing The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki, and for your review. We hope you enjoyed your overall stay. Mahalo, for your specific feedback regarding the size of our pool, we regret not meeting all of your expectations. We are glad to see that you could use the pools in Sheraton Waikiki made a much better impression. Additionally, we appreciate your sentiments about pricing and that we take careful consideration to be competitively priced for our area. Mahalo, once more, for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We hope to welcome you again soon. Mahalo, Nicole Okuna The Royal Hawaiian, Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
vanessa G wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
Walk past the chaos of waikiki, and you're back in the old days of waikiki. The banyan trees with the pink lights, the warm sweet smelling air, the birds chirping and as you walk through the gorgeous high ceilings with the old fashioned hand carved wood, you melt. The beds, after a long night of partying, you melt. I had a room facing the courtyard and it was better than the ocean view! I want to go back tomorrow. we decided to our anniversary every year here, and we live in Hilo, so yeah. It's our second home now. We love your service and staff, the warm fat delicious croissants and hot coffee and the strong Mai-Tai's. Thank you for bringing us into your beautiful ohana!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki
Responded 1 week ago
Aloha Guide242735, Mahalo for staying with us and also for the excellent review. We are glad you enjoyed our pleasing atmosphere and the hospitality we offer. We are also happy our accommodations, beds, and food offerings were up to your satisfaction. We appreciate you for sharing that you will be returning in the future. It will be our pleasure to host you again at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki. Mahalo, Nicole Okuna The Royal Hawaiian, Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
misscarioca wrote a review Sep 2022
Chicago, Illinois616 contributions11 helpful votes
I knew right away I made the right choice in hotels. As I write this from Aulani, I find myself wishing I was back at The Royal Hawaiian hotel. The smell all throughout the lobby was amazing. I believe it was plumeria and the smell was heavenly! I stayed in a king, historic wing, garden view which overlooked the pool area with a partial ocean view actually. The bed was so comfortable- i meant to check uf it was a heavenly bed since it is a Marriott brand hotel like the Westin. The room itself was big enough although, yes, the bathroom is small. I loved the location. I loved the beach. I loved the chairs scattered throughout. My only complaint was noise at night from Duke’s (I assume it was Dukes since my wing faced it). I was tired enough that it didn’t matter but it you’re a light sleeper it could be an issue. I really hope I get back there soon.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
LC11 wrote a review Sep 2022
New Jersey227 contributions19 helpful votes
+1
This was our 3rd stay at the Royal Hawaiian. This hotel opened in 1927 and now celebrating their 95th year! We loved the atmosphere of this special place. We stayed in tan Ocean view historic room which was well appointed and spacious. A fun fact, each of the doors to the rooms are handcrafted and no two are the same. We discovered a mini museum on the lower level where the spa and gym are located. There are a multitude of items, photos, news articles from the years past. It was very very interesting and there is a tour several times a week by an employee who I believe has been with the resort for 50+ years! Service was great, no complaints given some prior reviews I have read. Housekeeping went out of their way and if we saw them they always asked if we needed anything additional. Bellman were readily available. We had breakfast included with our package so we ate at Surf Lanai each morning. Love the pink pancakes!! I do wish they would offer a buffet again but everything was delicious. Visited the Mai Tai bar several times for both dinner and drinks…..very lively and busy but the longest we waited was maybe 10 minutes for a table. I note in prior reviews that people complained about having to pay for beach chairs and umbrellas. It’s there on the hotel website with links leading you to set up a rental. Yes we too were not happy with the $60 fee for the day, but the beach gets very crowded. If you are from the east coast, NY/NJ region, you know how crowded beaches get at home-same thing here. We were glad to have our own chairs and space set back from the crowds. We booked about 60 days out. Do not wait until you are there as it gets filled up. You can choose where you want to sit on the booking page. There are other options available and listed on the hotel website. Hotel grounds are as lovely as ever and didn’t see any worn/torn/stained furniture. If anything we saw employees always making sure the areas were maintained. I would love to see what the resort will be doing to celebrate 100 years!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki
Responded 3 weeks ago
Aloha Guest, We are glad our 95th-year celebration brought you to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki, and we appreciate your loyalty to our hotel. We are pleased you had an excellent stay and that our devoted associates helped to make your visit memorable and loved our breakfast offerings. We are also glad you enjoyed spending time at our on-site outdoor restaurant and bar, Mai Tai Bar, and were impressed with our facility to enjoy our amenities. It was our pleasure serving you, and we look forward to your next visit. Have a wonderful day, and travel safely. Mahalo, Nicole Okuna The Royal Hawaiian, Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MonkeyStrawHat wrote a review Sep 2022
Vancouver, British Columbia2 contributions1 helpful vote
First time back since 2019 and it’s gone downhill. There are cheaper places with just as good a location. It used to do the little things well but all that is gone. Just seems shabby. Our furniture had rips. Place seemed kind of sad. Not sure if this is just neglect from Marriott
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki
Responded 3 weeks ago
Aloha Valued Guest, First and foremost, mahalo for your loyalty to our hotels. Please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations. We are truly sorry you felt our property needed updating. We are grateful for the feedback, and we will share these notes with the appropriate individuals for future modernization of our hotel. We would like to regain your trust and hope you will give us that opportunity in the future. Mahalo, Nicole Okuna The Royal Hawaiian, Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$525 - US$591 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the royal hawaiian, a luxury collection hotel honolulu, royal hawaiian honolulu
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiOahuHonoluluWaikiki
NUMBER OF ROOMS
528
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki
Which popular attractions are close to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki?
Nearby attractions include Waikiki Sunset Cruise with Live DJ (0.3 km), Breakout Waikiki Escape Rooms (0.3 km), and Fort DeRussy Beach Park (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki?
Conveniently located restaurants include STRIPSTEAK Waikiki, Honolulu Cookie Company, and Poke Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki have airport transportation?
Yes, The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Experience Nutridge (4.4 km), Iolani Palace (4.5 km), and Shangri La (4.2 km).