We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Kahala Hotel & Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,535 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Kahala Hotel & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,848: English reviews
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 13 December 2013

This is place is really amazing. The private beach is hard to beat. The hotel offers a shuttle service to the main shopping area which is great because you are 20 minutes away from the city. Friendly service also.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elie B
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Aloha Elie B~On behalf of the entire staff and myself, thank you so much for taking time to write about your experience. We certainly appreciate your wonderful compliments about our secluded location and our friendly service. Many mahalos and we look forward to welcoming you back again!

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We spent three nights at the Kahala. The resort is gorgeous and we found the service to be polite and prompt. The hotel is a 15 to 20 drive from Wakiki, but I liked being away from the noise and crowds. We did not use the spa services or attend any exercise classes. We loved the breakfast in the Plumeria...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debbiturk
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Aloha debbiturk~Thank you so much for choosing to stay with The Kahala Hotel & Resort. We are so glad that you found your stay elegant and restful.Thank you again for your loyalty to our resort and for taking the time to write such wonderful words about your stay with us. We can't wait to welcome you back again! With many...

Morgan Hill, California
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We have been coming to Kahala Resort to celebrate our anniversary for many years. Mahalo, Kahala, for the welcoming touch of a chilled bottle of champagne waiting in our room! Thank you, Herin for the room with a balcony, a wonderful way to dine on our first night! This year, my impression is that service and attention to details seem...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Molly C
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Aloha Molly C~ Mahalo Nui Loa for your very kind compliments and for choosing to stay with us for your anniversary. Nothing makes us happier than to hear that our guests are so happy with our exceptional brand of Aloha and find everything from our guestrooms, dining and service to be exceptional. Thank you again for taking the time to...

Helmetta, New Jersey
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I've been wanting to stay at the Kahala for awhile now having stayed at the Halekulani and Royal Hawaiian in the past.....I was not disappointed. The resort is beautiful has that quiet elegance and is away from the hustle /bustle of Honolulu. We were there Thanksgiving week and while the resort was busy it was not overcrowded. At the check...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LC11
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Aloha LC11~Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We greatly appreciate all your kind compliments about our resort and for all your valuable feedback. We are so happy to hear that you found your room to be spacious and beautiful, we are sincerely sorry that we were not able to provide you any alternative upgrades. I will...

new york
Reviewed 5 December 2013

a nice resort with a very attentive staff. The wifi is very unstable and the prices are a bit inflated, but the setting is beautiful, there are free dolphin shows all day due to the dolphin research facility on site. We had an issue one morning when we did not get the wake up call that we had requested, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gnewyork
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Aloha gnewyork~Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We greatly appreciate all your valuable feedback and for recommending our property. We are very sorry that you had an issue with your wake up call, we are happy that our management took prompt actions. We can't wait to welcome you back again! With many thanks and aloha from...

Macungie, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Our family of 4 (children 12 and 9) stayed at The Kahala Hotel and Resort during Thanksgiving week for 7 nights and had a wonderful time. Just about everything exceeded our expectations. Our room was a spacious mountain-view room, with tub, shower, and “his and hers” sinks and closets…and immaculate! Some of the niceties on our arrival included cookies with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CarolynC869
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Aloha CarolynC869~• Thank you ever so much for your very kind words about our resort. We are so pleased that you found The Kahala Hotel & Resort to be the perfect place to vacation, in an excellent location and that can't think of a single complaint. We appreciate you taking the time to share such lovely feedback and we look...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I've stayed at the Kahala twice previously and in the interest of full disclosure I'm going to be staying there again this year. Very candidly, just being honest here, I’ve never written a hotel review before and I’m doing so now in the hope the management reads this review and takes the necessary steps to make sure my family has...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank WILLIAM K
The_Kahala_Hotel, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Aloha William K.~ I want to thank you for your feedback from your 2012 Holiday stay with us that you posted on Dec 2nd, 2013. We are a family friendly resort, and we welcome the many families that keep returning to enjoy the beauty of the Kahala over the Holidays. We are proud of our legacy as an elegant and...

San Francisco, CA
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Great location to be with teens. Wonderful and spacious beach, nice neighborhood away from the bustle of Waikiki. Easy 15 minute drive into Waikiki for great dining and shopping. Also 15 minutes away from fun outdoor activities, snorkeling, hiking, parasailing, etc. Breakfast buffet every morning is a great way to start the day, so much food options we skipped lunch....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FastenYourSeatbelts2
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Aloha FastenYourSeatbelt~Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is so good to hear that over all you enjoyed your stay. However we are very sorry to hear that you felt our resort is tired. To hear that your lanai chairs did not match is not our usual luxury standard. We sincerely apologize...

Seattle, Washington, United States
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This was our 4th visit in the last 5 years (during Thanksgiving), 2nd time in a suite, and I believe the service has improved, esp around the pool and beach area. The staff have clearly made an effort to remember your names and preferences for cabana locations on the beach and at poolside. While some of the lunch food choices...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pamela K
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Aloha Pamela K~ We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and for choosing to stay with us over the years. It is our goal to deliver the best service to our guests and to hear that our guests are noticing the improvements we have been making is so rewarding. I will definitely share all...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We went to this hotel for our 25 wedding anniversary and we were not disappointed. On our arrival we were treated to a bottle of champagne-a lovely touch. All the staff try to get to know you by name which is a nice touch. The rooms are large, comfortable and the views are wonderful. we had a partial sea view...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darren S
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Aloha Darren S~ Congratulations on celebrating 25 wonderful years of marriage! We are thrilled to hear that your stay was exceptional and that you enjoyed your dolphin encounter. Thank you for your loyalty to our resort and for taking the time to write such wonderful words about your stay with us. We can't wait to welcome you back again! With...

2,563 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1768)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (330)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (236)
Viewed
View from Room (157)
Viewed
Dining (67)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (206)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (694)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (620)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Beach (49)
Viewed
Beach Front Lanai (3)
Viewed
Children's Pool (7)
Viewed
Dolphin Lanai Room (3)
Viewed
Dolphin Quest (38)
Viewed
Fitness Centre (30)
Viewed
Jacuzzi (2)
Viewed
Koko Head Ocean Front Lanai Room (9)
Viewed
Koko Head Suite (20)
Viewed
Mountain Lanai Room (120)
Viewed
Pool (25)
Viewed
Dining (79)
Viewed
Spa (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (180)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (175)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (37)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#3 of 84 in Honolulu
3,579 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#6 of 84 in Honolulu
2,374 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Arancino at The Kahala
Arancino at The Kahala
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Plumeria Beach House
Plumeria Beach House
Cuisines: Hawaiian, American, Fusion
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Kahala Hotel & Resort is Hawaii's reigning luxury resort, set on a secluded beach just ten minutes from the world class shopping and entertainment of Waikiki. This legendary hideaway resort in Honolulu's plush Kahala district is a favorite with presidents, international royalty and celebrities. From the moment you arrive, you will know that you are truly somewhere special. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Address: 5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816-5411
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Price Range: €332 - €971 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kahala Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Kahala Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kahala Hotel And Resort
The Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Kahala Resort Honolulu
Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Mandarin Oriental Oahu
Kahala Hotel & Resort
Kahala Mandarin Oriental
The Kahala Hotel & Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Kahala Hotel & Resort staff and other travellers.
48 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (48)

Questions? Get answers from The Kahala Hotel & Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“if you do not like heights, the fifth floor works well. High enough to clear the side buildings, but not so high as to induce vertigo.”
 of 5 bubbles WestLAFamily, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Dolphin Room definitely”
 of 5 bubbles rob93, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There are several views. There is a view of the golf course, view of golf course with dolphin pool, or view of the ocean.”
 of 5 bubbles F1475TXkimb, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If you want quiet get a room on the back side of the hotel facing the golf course.”
 of 5 bubbles josephmH7388VF, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“golf course view - great for people watching and enjoying the trees, birds, and views of the hills”
 of 5 bubbles Dayzleeper, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay