We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Viking

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
Panoramas (4)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,920 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Viking
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,866: English reviews
Baton Rouge
Reviewed 6 May 2015

My wife went to a conference and I went for a rest. The hotel is in an excellent location. The rooms are very nice but a bit small. Housekeeping was excellent. The staff is also very excellent and very polite. Not very many restaurants close to the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VerbBatonRouge
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

We are delighted that our location was ideal for both business and leisure and that our staff, especially our housekeeping team, impressed you during your stay. We offer exceptional dining on-site at One Bellevue and the Top of Newport, however, if you desire recommendations for nearby eateries, our Concierge is happy to assist. Thank you for taking the time to...

Delmar, New York
Reviewed 4 May 2015

The Hotel Viking provides a professional, friendly, impressive, yet down-to-earth experience. Thanks to the intelligent parking design, one need not worry about where one's car is while scurrying to and from the rooms. The food was good, the decor is lovely (a framed photo of Teddy Roosevelt watched over us as we slept), and the hotel is quiet, stately, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wordsworth4711
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

Providing an experience that our guests can enjoy in every way – from service to décor to the finer details – is our goal at The Hotel Viking. It is a delight to read that your stay with us was a great one. Thank you for sharing about your time here, we can only hope it would be the first...

Herndon, Virginia
Reviewed 4 May 2015

We arrived in pouring rain so saw little of the town (it was raining when we left the next morning) so we spent a pleasant afternoon in the bar of The Viking. The staff were friendly, the food good. But the thing that I really appreciated was the decor of the room. Gone was the same old same old and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shenandoah1506
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you enjoyed the décor and atmosphere at The Hotel Viking and were able to make the most of your overnight stay despite the rainy weather. It was wonderful to read about your appreciation for our guest rooms, not to mention your dining experience at One Bellevue. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. It would be...

Reviewed 4 May 2015

This was supposed to be a special trip for my father's birthday. The welcome at the front desk was disinterested and defensive. They had sent me an email that morning alerting me to something odd was going on at the hotel and with my booking in that they had put up the rate and changed my room type. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Catherine T
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us and for selecting our property as the destination for your father’s birthday. We are always honored when guests choose to celebrate special occasions at our property which is why we were happy to upgrade your father’s accommodations at no charge. It is disappointing to learn that your stay was not as you...

Bristol, Connecticut
Reviewed 30 April 2015

Convenient location on trolly stop on Belleview Avenue. Central to waterfront shopping, fine restaurants, the public beach, Tennis Hall of Fame and much more. Can't say enough nice things about this hotel. We stayed for four nights arriving before Thanksgiving and leaving the Friday after which gave us a chance to enjoy Thanksgiving dinner at the Viking. Food was great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tootabelle
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

We cannot thank you enough for your wonderful review of The Hotel Viking. It is a treat to learn that you had a pleasant stay over the Thanksgiving holiday and enjoyed our Thanksgiving dinner. We are so glad our location was convenient for visiting some of your favorite places and that the service you received did not disappoint. It would...

r.i.
Reviewed 30 April 2015

I visited the Hotel Viking Spa recently, as I was visiting friends from Newport. I grew up in the area and always enjoy my visits to Newport. While visiting I decided to treat myself to a pedicure as it was a nice day, and I was excited to be wearing sandals. What I thought was an enjoyable pedicure by Rebecca,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank happytravlerR_i_
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

We always hope that our guests enjoy a tranquil experience at our on-site spa, so it is certainly disappointing to learn that your visit was not as you had hoped. We deeply regret if the service you encountered was anything less than exceptional and we will be sure to share your comments with our management team. Thank you for your...

Reviewed 29 April 2015

Recently stayed at this hotel with my boyfriend for a weekend to celebrate his bday. Chose the Viking based on reviews here, as well as recommendation from a colleague. The overall hotel is beautiful and the facilities look lovely. Location of the hotel within Newport is great. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, particularly the guys helping with parking-...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Rach1685
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing about your recent experience at our property, and happy birthday to your boyfriend. We are so glad that you chose our hotel to celebrate and to learn that the hospitality our staff delivered impressed you. We are so sorry, however, if your accommodations were not as you hoped or if any charges during your stay were...

Colorado
Reviewed 29 April 2015

Enjoyed our recent 10 days, 9 nights at the Viking. Outstand warm and friendly staff beginning with the greeting by the Valet and reception / front desk. This outstanding service continued with housekeeping, and the restaurant staff throughout our stay. That warmth was still there as the valet packed our rental car and sent us on our way with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Russ K
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

We couldn’t be more pleased that you enjoyed a comfortable, relaxing stay at The Hotel Viking and that our associates took care of you throughout your visit. We are delighted to read your review and hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back next time your travels bring you to Newport. Thank you!

Reviewed 27 April 2015

The room was beautifully appointed and couldn't have been more comfortable. The staff at the check-in was incredibly nice and efficient. I would definitely stay here again. We stayed in the breakers suite which had a lovely dining room, couch, fireplace and separate bedroom and bathroom.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hobbitgirl2012
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

How wonderful to learn that you enjoyed such a comfortable stay at The Hotel Viking. We are delighted our modernly appointed accommodations were to your liking and that the Breakers Suite fit your needs. Thank you for taking the time to share about your positive experience. We hope to welcome you again.

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 27 April 2015

At our check in, all things went well. Everyone was friendly and cared for our needs. Valet Joe and Evan where great and professional. Our room was perfect. We dined at One Bellevue and absolutley would return- the food was amazing, service was second to none, and the diding room was super clean. 5* for their top notch service.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bob b
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

Providing exceptional service at every turn is our top priority at The Hotel Viking. Our staff, especially those you took the time to mention by name, will be thrilled to learn that the hospitality you experienced throughout your stay was the highlight of your time with us. Thank you for your feedback, and for letting us know how much you...

881 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (455)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (91)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (144)
Viewed
Bathroom (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (152)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (333)
Viewed
Amenities (73)
Viewed
Estate King Room (46)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (PRE-RENOVATION) (22)
Viewed
Newport King Room (68)
Viewed
Newport Standard Queen Room (45)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (PRE-RENOVATION) (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (93)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (36)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.6 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.7 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
554 reviews
1.0 km away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.3 km away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#5 of 21 in Newport
606 reviews
0.7 km away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#9 of 21 in Newport
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Price Range: €162 - €619 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Viking staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question
Rindge, New Hampshire
over a year ago
North Dartmouth, Massachusetts
3 months ago
Port Jefferson, New York

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Viking staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quiet room in older section”
T4303RWlindag, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Many of the rooms are a long walk from lobby to the room.”
CathyS628, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you hear creaks, ask immediately for new room”
adamr146, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The hotel is surprisingly large and a little like a maze. If you have trouble walking distances, you should definitely let them know that.”
ireneh816, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“dont stay in 223 or its neighboring rooms youll be very sorry.”
jonathansJ4145LW, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5