We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Viking

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
Panoramas (4)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,811 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,758: English reviews
Boston
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed at the Viking hotel for two nights over MLK weekend. We stayed in room 2030 and it was clean and charming but it was very old. We liked the swimming pool and sauna but they both felt a little dirty. I think that they generally do a good job at this hotel but it's definitely not any Ritz...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim D
Wales, Massachusetts
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had made the reservation several months ahead and asked specifically about the pool. When we checked in, the pool was closed for painting, along with the Jacuzzi and the fitness room. Although they offered passes to use the pool at another local hotel, it was very a disappointing way to start our anniversary. The hotel itself was clean. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank telulla311
Woburn, Massachusetts
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Lovely room with a view of the back . was an Estate room that had an electric fireplace that was very nice . Nice shower . Bell staff is very always helpful with direction or a ride to your local destination . Front desk very friendly and always a greeting . If you don't want a cookie cutter hotel this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dude197
Marlborough, Connecticut, United States
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Our room was comfortable and the staff was very welcoming and friendly. The price was great and although it's not on the water the hotel is beautiful and within a short walk to the water and great neighborhood restaurants (try the Fifth Element!).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Renee G
hartford
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

The Viking was remodeled not that long ago and looks great! Clean rooms and common areas great service.kids loved the indoor pool, comfortable beds will be back soon! This time without the kids ha ha ha

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bigboy3
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed at the Viking for a family Christmas celebration during the holiday week and we were very happy with our rooms (we booked 4), the public areas, and the service. It is a lovely place and the rooms were comfortable. We had one suite which was a great place for our large group to gather in between activities. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bgs1316
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

It brings us joy to learn that you chose to celebrate the holidays with us! We are delighted that our guest rooms were very spacious and very accommodating to everyone. It is nice that you got to enjoy everything that we offer including our pool area. It is wonderful that you received great suggestions from our staff as they are...

Newport, Rhode Island
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

My fiancé and I were SO excited to stay at Hotel Viking. We were visiting for my birthday but also checking the hotel for our upcoming Rosecliff wedding as an option for our wedding suite and guests. Boy did our thoughts change quickly! First, we got a junior suite, which was smaller than we imagined, but had a disgustingly dirty...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ardita11
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your perspective with us. It is very disappointing to read that your stay was not enjoyable and that we let you down when it mattered the most. Please know that we take your concerns seriously and we will share your comments with our housekeeping team. We understand your frustrations about the technology in your room as...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The location is great. I've attended fabulous parties/functions at this hotel before & as an events place it's a great venue. As a hotel it's completely lackluster & has always disappointed. I've stayed over 3 times so far. The rooms are cute, but too small. We arrived during a snowstorm & right away felt cold air in the room which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pennwoman
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

We appreciate you sharing your experience with us. We are glad that you consider our hotel to be wonderful to host events. However, it is truly disappointing to read that you did not have a good time here and we apologize that we fell short of meeting your expectations. Comfort is the most important aspect of a stay, so we...

East Brunswick, New Jersey
Reviewed 1 week ago

Second stay on the Winter Getaway rate. Great location and breakfast is wonderful!! Location is 2 blocks up the hill from the Waterfront area. Its close enough to get downtown easily but far enough to escape all the noise and crowds. Staff is always professional and helpful. Breakfast on some rates is included and it is top notch.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lacinap1323
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

It is always nice to welcome back a returning guest! We are glad that you found great value in our hotel package and that you had a relaxing time here. What a wonderful compliment it is to learn that you consider our breakfast to be top-quality. We are delighted that we satisfied your taste buds with a delicious meal and...

Waltham, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 week ago

I traveled to the Hotel Viking the 26th and 27th of December thinking it would be a quiet time. I was wrong. The hotel was hosting a group of families for a hockey tournament which made the property feel like a playground. I've stayed at the hotel before and I was happy with my stay but this time didn't live...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey M
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

It was our pleasure to welcome you back to The Hotel Viking. We are pleased that you loved the beauty of our hotel and our amazing team. However, we sincerely apologize that we did not meet all of your expectations this time. We understand your frustrations in regards to the noise and it is disappointing to read that you did...

857 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (431)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (87)
Viewed
Room/Suite (142)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (144)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (333)
Viewed
Amenities (73)
Viewed
Estate King Room (46)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (PRE-RENOVATION) (22)
Viewed
Newport King Room (68)
Viewed
Newport Standard Queen Room (45)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (PRE-RENOVATION) (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (93)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (36)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.8 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
504 reviews
0.6 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.5 km away
Hyatt Regency Newport
Hyatt Regency Newport
#10 of 21 in Newport
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.3 km away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#5 of 21 in Newport
591 reviews
0.3 km away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#4 of 21 in Newport
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Price Range: €106 - €543 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Groupon, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#4 Spa Hotel in Newport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Viking staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
Rindge, New Hampshire
over a year ago
North Dartmouth, Massachusetts
19 days ago
Port Jefferson, New York
Charlotte, North Carolina
9 months ago

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Viking staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We went budget friendly, and opted for a room with a queen bed. The room was very small, but had all the basics.”
 of 5 bubbles telulla311, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“as it is on old hotel all rooms are a little different . But well decorated”
 of 5 bubbles Dude197, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Advise a 2nd floor room to avoid overhead noise.”
 of 5 bubbles frogsleap18, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Courtyard view is Christmas festive.”
 of 5 bubbles ConnecticutDivegirl, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Our room was a long walk from the lobby, so you may want to let them know if you have problems with that.”
 of 5 bubbles serkkinen, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay