We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Viking

Save
Traveller (551)
Room & Suite (277)
Storyboard
You may also like
Nearby
Ratings and reviews
GreenLeaders Bronze level
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good27%
  • Average12%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“rooftop bar”(103 reviews)
“valet parking”(108 reviews)
“beautiful hotel”(119 reviews)
View all reviews
What's included
Free Internet
Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
4 Star Hotel
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking.
Offers from Hotel Viking
Special Offer: Stay longer & save more !
Hotel deals
View all hotel information
Location and contact
1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Hotel website
28.1 km to Theodore Francis Airport
79 restaurants are within a 0.5 km radius
1.0 km from Cliff Walk
View nearby attractions and restaurants
You may also like
Nearby
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (2,349)
Filter reviews
2,281 results
Traveller rating
1,124
620
282
169
86
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
1,124
620
282
169
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barvalet parkingbeautiful hotelvalet serviceindoor poolsmall roomoff seasonhotel restaurantvisit newporttennis hall of famebellevue avenuethe entire staffking bedthames streetnew englandshops and restaurantscliff walk
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 2,281 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

AC in our room was not working properly, had to call 4 times in 2 days to have it fixed. Bathroom was tiny and old, the shower drain was rusted. Faucet on sink was very loose. Room was small but clean.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Richardson567
Hotel's Favourite
Reviewed 9 April 2018

Victorian Elegance in the heart of Newport. Everything in this hotel is up to snuff! Rooms are beautifully decorated and have plush mattresses and linens. Hotel staff are quick to attend to all needs. Great night life downtown. Would recommend this hotel for a fine...More

Thank Elizabth T
Response from Nicole B, Marketing Coordinator at Hotel VikingResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you very much for your kind comments, we hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 2 days ago

Disappointing remodel in a modern style that does not suit this historic hotel. Cheap furnishings. Remodeled rooms with old linens,tile and grout. Inattentive service in the restaurant. Definitely a three star hotel at best. If not for the great location, I wouldn’t return.More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Susan S
Response from Tim B, Manager at Hotel VikingResponded yesterday

Jimmmer248, We appreciate your feedback of your recent stay with us. We apologize that the remodel did not meet your expectations. We will look into your mention of the line and tile in your guestrooms to make improvements where we can. Thank you for your...More

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

First I got an email the week we were arriving with an increased price. I called and they said they had charged us the wrong resort fee $20 instead of $25. I told them that was their mistake but she didn’t care. Then received another...More

Thank Risa H
Response from Tim B, Manager at Hotel VikingResponded yesterday

Risa, Our apologies for the issues you experience while stay with us recently. We will look into what happened both with your reservation and the linen issue as well. We do not expect any of our guests to make up their own room on departure...More

Reviewed 2 days ago

Great hotel, location was perfect for walking downtown! The rooftop bar was beautiful and a nice place to grab drinks and food! Pool was nice and clean. Overall great place would definately stay here again!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Luana P
Response from Tim B, Manager at Hotel VikingResponded yesterday

Luana, We are happy to see you did enjoy our rooftop bar and pool area! Our location in Newport allows our guests the freedom to travel by foot to almost any location. We hope to see you again soon!

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Newport
See allSee all
About
Description
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ...More Less
Hotel class
Contact Information
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Bronze level
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Contact Information
Hotel Style
Onsen
,
Business
,
Romantic
,
Spa
,
Luxury
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Pool
Room Service
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Free Internet
Spa
Air Conditioning
Banquet Room
Business Centre with Internet Access
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Heated pool
Hot Tub
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Minibar
Multilingual Staff
Beachfront
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Bronze level
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Hotel Style
Onsen
,
Business
,
Romantic
,
Spa
,
Luxury
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Bronze level
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Contact Information
Hotel Style
Onsen
,
Business
,
Romantic
,
Spa
,
Luxury
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Hotel class
Contact Information
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Bronze level
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Contact Information
Hotel Style
Onsen
,
Business
,
Romantic
,
Spa
,
Luxury
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (551)
Room & Suite (277)
Dining (76)
Pool & Beach (21)
Amenities (42)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (18)
Family and Play Areas (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Crissy666
2 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Babygirl2018 | Reviewed this property |
I would contact the hotel. I would say that the renovations are probably completed by now or within the next two weeks.
1
Vote
Nelly218
17 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from ThereGoHappyPeople | Reviewed this property |
We just spent a weekend at the Viking for a wedding and also had a block of rooms. We paid the resort fee. Although we did not like/understand this fee at the time, we ended up utilizing the hotel amenities... and had fun... More