We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Viking

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
Panoramas (4)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,819 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,766: English reviews
West Hartford, CT
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

I spent a nice weekend at the Hotel Viking. We needed a little time away from the kids. We were looking for some relaxation. This is a nice enough hotel. The staff is very friendly and attentive. Our suite was lovely. One room with a couch, TV, mini fridge and side chairs. The bedroom was a bit on the small...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard J
Denville, New Jersey
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

My daughter and I very much enjoyed our night at the Hotel Viking. Room was clean and comfy. The staff is so helpful and friendly. They directed us to the lighthouse and other attractions. Slow time of year in Newport but the weather was nice! Blueberry pancakes were delicious for breakfast! Valet parking was very convenient and the guys were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine V
Warwick, Rhode Island
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is right near the mansions in Newport on Bellevue Ave. It's an independent older hotel that is unique. The staff was warm and welcoming. They took good care of all of us. We'll be back to visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RI02886
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

What a fantastic review! It is so nice that you found our hotel to be very unique as we always want to make a great impression on our guests. We are glad that you received such a warm welcome from our friendly staff. It is nice to learn how much you enjoyed their service as they genuinely care about providing...

Long Branch, New Jersey
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

It is a great hotel, the staff was very friendly, located right in the center of town, it has a mixture of contemporary and vintage that makes it charming. The serevice was great! I will definitely go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fernanda0381
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

We are delighted to learn that our property is a perfect combination of contemporary and vintage. It is such a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the charm of our hotel along with our amazing staff. Receiving excellent service is an important aspect of a stay, and we are glad that you were impressed by our team. Your compliments will...

Stamford, Connecticut
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Hotel Viking, on Bellview Ave., Newport, RI, is the essence of the Newport vibe. It was the site of my daughter's wedding in October 2016. The event staff was outstanding. The food was above average, both for reception and in the hotel's public dining room.. The main ballroom is vintage and elegant. The outdoor event space is delightful. If...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sdimattia
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

It brings us so much joy reading your thoughtful review! It is such a great compliment to us that you were very impressed with our venue and our event staff. We always love to provide the best customer service, and we are flattered that you had a nice time here. However, it is disappointing that you were not fully satisfied...

Cheshire, Connecticut, United States
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Went to the Hotel Viking for a relaxing escape from the everyday. Our room was amazingly comfortable and beautifully decorated. Everything we experienced from checking in, to grabbing a quick bite and drink at the bar, to dining at One Belleview was amazing! The staff was very accommodating and the hotel is centrally located to the shops and downtown. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rich G
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

It sounds like you had a perfect getaway with us! We are glad that you were able to spend a relaxing stay at our hotel and we appreciate your wonderful comments about our decor. It makes us smile to read that we made you feel like royalty. We truly love making our guests feel at home here and to provide...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

It's my second time going to hotel Viking. It's a great place close to everything. Always a good experience. Had an issue with our heat and the supervisor was there in two minutes. I believe his name was Tom. Had it fixed in minutes.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ralph D
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

It was such a pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel! We are so glad that Tom provided you with prompt service and that he helped you get back to enjoying your stay. We will certainly inform Tom about your kind comments as he will be pleased to hear how much you were impressed by his service. It is...

Maryland
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Really nice staff, lobby, breakfast. I would stay here again just for the breakfast and helpful staff. However, one critical elevator was not working. I was put in a ground floor room (as a female traveling alone). The bed was not great - perhaps broken springs? It was a warm room - even with the AC on it got hotter...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PlansAhead
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

It is such a great compliment to us that you would stay here again! We are delighted that you enjoyed dining at our One Bellevue restaurant for breakfast. We appreciate your recommendation of our sweet potato hash as this dish is a guest favorite. However, we regret to hear your frustrations in regards to your guest room. Please feel free...

Boston
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed at the Viking hotel for two nights over MLK weekend. We stayed in room 2030 and it was clean and charming but it was very old. We liked the swimming pool and sauna but they both felt a little dirty. I think that they generally do a good job at this hotel but it's definitely not any Ritz...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim D
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

It is our goal to exceed a guest's expectations while staying here, and we regret that you were not fully satisfied with everything. We will inform our housekeeping team of your concerns about the cleanliness of our facilities. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you had and we will discuss your experience with our team. It is nice to read...

Wales, Massachusetts
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had made the reservation several months ahead and asked specifically about the pool. When we checked in, the pool was closed for painting, along with the Jacuzzi and the fitness room. Although they offered passes to use the pool at another local hotel, it was very a disappointing way to start our anniversary. The hotel itself was clean. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank telulla311
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

We appreciate you choosing our hotel to celebrate this joyous occasion. We do regret to hear your disappointment in regards to our facilities not being available during your stay. However, we are glad that you still enjoyed many aspects of your stay. It is so nice to read that you were impressed by the prompt service provided by our valet...

860 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (434)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (87)
Viewed
Room/Suite (142)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (147)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (333)
Viewed
Amenities (73)
Viewed
Estate King Room (46)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (PRE-RENOVATION) (22)
Viewed
Newport King Room (68)
Viewed
Newport Standard Queen Room (45)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (PRE-RENOVATION) (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (93)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (36)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.8 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
507 reviews
0.6 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.5 km away
Hyatt Regency Newport
Hyatt Regency Newport
#10 of 21 in Newport
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.3 km away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#5 of 21 in Newport
592 reviews
0.3 km away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#4 of 21 in Newport
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Price Range: €105 - €550 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Groupon and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#4 Spa Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Viking staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
Rindge, New Hampshire
over a year ago
North Dartmouth, Massachusetts
23 days ago
Port Jefferson, New York
Charlotte, North Carolina
9 months ago

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Viking staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Marble House Suite was wonderful!”
 of 5 bubbles RichG235, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We went budget friendly, and opted for a room with a queen bed. The room was very small, but had all the basics.”
 of 5 bubbles telulla311, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“as it is on old hotel all rooms are a little different . But well decorated”
 of 5 bubbles Dude197, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Advise a 2nd floor room to avoid overhead noise.”
 of 5 bubbles frogsleap18, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Courtyard view is Christmas festive.”
 of 5 bubbles ConnecticutDivegirl, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay