We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Black Duck Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Black Duck Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Black Duck Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 106: English reviews
South Carolina
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

The bad: No A/C, small room, toilet wouldn't stop, running, breakfast only between 8:30-10am, collection of dust bunnies under the bed. The good: Big bathroom and shower, price expensive anywhere else, but reasonable for Newport, easy walk to restaurants and shops. Bottom line, I've stayed in worse places, but not at that price. No attention to detail, but, if it's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SB_in_SC
blues966029, Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Please note that the house you stayed in has central heat and air. We had to make blind arrangements for a certain date to have the air switched over to heat, we chose Oct 5th because the weather indicated the evenings would be cool and we thought guests would be able to open their windows...

Long Island
Reviewed 5 August 2016

This was a Groupon getaway for 2 nights and 3 days. It included 2 nights stay, parking, and a full breakfast each morning. First of all, it's an excellent location. It's an easy walk into town and area restaurants, shops, etc. The room was very nice; with a queen bed, a jetted tub, and a nice roomy bathroom. The A/C...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mongcop3086
blues966029, Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

We are glad you liked the accommodations but are sad that you were disappointed with the breakfast. We do not claim to have professional chefs, and sometimes everyone comes all at once which can cause a glut in the space. Newport's historic hill was built on tiny fishing village and along with it's quaint charm comes crowded downtown streets and...

Atkinson, New Hampshire
Reviewed 27 July 2016

You will be hard pressed to find a hotel or inn for this price range in this location. I have been frequenting Newport for years and this Inn has the perfect location! You are equidistant from upper and lower Thames so no matter where you are going the walk isn't far. The inn itself was quaint, cute and clean. Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erica H
blues966029, Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for a great review. We are calling our hotel supplier to see if we can get some noise machines ASAP. What a novel idea!!!!

Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

The location is perfect. The people were amazing, delicious breakfast served every morning. We stayed in the champagne suite which was very spacious and included a large jacuzzi tub. Easy parking in the back. 30 sec walk to Thames street. Can't wait to come back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenna M
blues966029, Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

Very glad to hear that you liked your suite. We can't wait for you to come back too! Check your email for repeat guest specials.

Clifton Park, New York
Reviewed 17 June 2016

We stayed at Black Duck Inn for three nights in June. The Inn is located just one block from Bowen's Wharf and was a perfect location in Newport. Our room was small but quite comfortable. We were treated with a bottle of Chardonnay (the rooms in the Inn are all named after wine, and thus our room was "the Chardonnay")...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chrissy262014
blues966029, Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

Wow, how nice. Thank you for a great review and we look forward to seeing you again. Call us directly for our best rates.

Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 11 June 2016

Close to everything and great people that run the B&B. We had a few great breakfast with other friendly people that were staying at the Inn. And their was private parking at the Inn and only a few blocks walking to most activities and restaurants.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben1945
blues966029, Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

How nice! We are pleased that you had a good experience and hope to see you again. We will make sure you are on the return guest email list so you can see our special rates.

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 5 June 2016

We were booked for the Zinfandel room, I had told Susan that we were celebrating my husband's birthday and at check-in she upgraded us to the Champagne Suite. Great locations right in town, would definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suz64
blues966029, Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

Fabulous! Glad you both enjoyed the birthday stay! Thank you.

Manchester, New Hampshire
Reviewed 2 June 2016

My husband had never been to Newport, so I booked 3 nights here for our anniversary celebration during Memorial Day weekend. I talked to Diane over the phone upon making the reservation and she was very friendly and accommodating. I was greeted by Susan upon check-in at the Blue Jewel, who took the time to show me a visitor's map...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gloria P
blues966029, Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your stellar review! We will definitely mention the pots and pan noise, and hopefully minimize it in the future. We want EVERYONE to have as good a visit as you did.

Westport
Reviewed 31 May 2016

Enjoyed the stay. Love the room and bath. Location was perfect especially liked having parking. I stayed in "Champagne" room and loved the design of room and large bed. Also ice in bags was great. Breakfast good but too sweet. (french Toast no egg with candied bacon)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn M M
blues966029, Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the sweet review.Maybe you can join us for a longer stay the next time. Keep an eye out for our return guest special emails.

Newport, Rhode Island
Reviewed 19 May 2016

Our room was A+ clean. Very safe as you need a key to get into the b & b and another to get into your room. FULL breakfast, not just bread and cereal. Two minute walk to town and free on site parking which is big in Newport during the summer months. We will be staying here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank spierce77
blues966029, Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

Yay! What a great review. We look forward to welcoming you back.

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 km away
Newport Blues Inn
Newport Blues Inn
#32 of 96 in Newport
157 reviews
0.1 km away
Howland House Inn
Howland House Inn
#46 of 96 in Newport
4 reviews
0.0 km away
Almondy Inn
Almondy Inn
#12 of 96 in Newport
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
#7 of 96 in Newport
332 reviews
0.2 km away
Burbankrose
Burbankrose
#33 of 96 in Newport
68 reviews
0.1 km away
Pelham Court Hotel
Pelham Court Hotel
#25 of 96 in Newport
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Black Duck Inn is a unique and modern inn with updated amenities. This charming inn provides the luxuries of a hotel while maintaining the quaintness of a bed and breakfast. Black Duck Inn is our closest inn the Thames Street! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Black Duck Inn

Address: 29 Pelham Street, Newport, RI 02840
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Price Range: €93 - €329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Black Duck Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Black Duck Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The pinot noir suite unlike the others on the second floor does not have a Jacuzzi tub.”
 of 5 bubbles B3016SHpauls, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in the Champagne Room which had a king sized bed, Jacuzzi tub, and gas fireplace. A lovely up grade!”
 of 5 bubbles nancyhL1645SE, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in the 2 bedroom unit. Very nice for 2 couples or 2 friends”
 of 5 bubbles spierce77, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Second floor is quieter during breakfast hours.”
 of 5 bubbles EricaH24, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I would like to see a higher toilet. I am older and this would be helpful.”
 of 5 bubbles CarolynMM_13, 31 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5