We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Black Duck Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Black Duck Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

101 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 99: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were in town with friends to run the half marathon. We were upgraded upon arrival to an amazing room. The bed was so comfortable and the accommodations were great. The staff was kind and responsive. The location was steps from Thames but tucked enough to be quiet and parking was convenient.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julianne S
blues966029, Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your stelar review! We hope to welcome you back soon. So glad to hear you were made to feel at home.

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Management was very accommodating,they left keys for our late arrival and gave us a free upgrade to a suite. Room was very comfortable with an electric fireplace and Jacuzzi tub. Breakfast was delicious both days, served hot by Monique, who was an excellent hostess. Also loved the chocolate chip cookies! Whole place was clean and nicely decorated. Rusk amenities in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suemcg820
blues966029, Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review! we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return. Watch your email for upcoming specials.

Newport, Rhode Island
Reviewed 24 October 2016

This B & B is steps from downtown but far enough away to be quiet so you can sleep and enjoy your stay at the Inn. They serve a full breakfast (not just coffee & breads) Very clean and comfortable. The Inn keepers are awsome and it has private off street parking. Will be returning in 2017.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank spierce77
blues966029, Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

What a nice review! Thank you and we look forward to your return visit.

South Carolina
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

The bad: No A/C, small room, toilet wouldn't stop, running, breakfast only between 8:30-10am, collection of dust bunnies under the bed. The good: Big bathroom and shower, price expensive anywhere else, but reasonable for Newport, easy walk to restaurants and shops. Bottom line, I've stayed in worse places, but not at that price. No attention to detail, but, if it's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SB_in_SC
blues966029, Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Please note that the house you stayed in has central heat and air. We had to make blind arrangements for a certain date to have the air switched over to heat, we chose Oct 5th because the weather indicated the evenings would be cool and we thought guests would be able to open their windows...

Long Island
Reviewed 5 August 2016

This was a Groupon getaway for 2 nights and 3 days. It included 2 nights stay, parking, and a full breakfast each morning. First of all, it's an excellent location. It's an easy walk into town and area restaurants, shops, etc. The room was very nice; with a queen bed, a jetted tub, and a nice roomy bathroom. The A/C...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mongcop3086
blues966029, Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

We are glad you liked the accommodations but are sad that you were disappointed with the breakfast. We do not claim to have professional chefs, and sometimes everyone comes all at once which can cause a glut in the space. Newport's historic hill was built on tiny fishing village and along with it's quaint charm comes crowded downtown streets and...

Atkinson, New Hampshire
Reviewed 27 July 2016

You will be hard pressed to find a hotel or inn for this price range in this location. I have been frequenting Newport for years and this Inn has the perfect location! You are equidistant from upper and lower Thames so no matter where you are going the walk isn't far. The inn itself was quaint, cute and clean. Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erica H
blues966029, Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for a great review. We are calling our hotel supplier to see if we can get some noise machines ASAP. What a novel idea!!!!

Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

The location is perfect. The people were amazing, delicious breakfast served every morning. We stayed in the champagne suite which was very spacious and included a large jacuzzi tub. Easy parking in the back. 30 sec walk to Thames street. Can't wait to come back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenna M
blues966029, Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

Very glad to hear that you liked your suite. We can't wait for you to come back too! Check your email for repeat guest specials.

Clifton Park, New York
Reviewed 17 June 2016

We stayed at Black Duck Inn for three nights in June. The Inn is located just one block from Bowen's Wharf and was a perfect location in Newport. Our room was small but quite comfortable. We were treated with a bottle of Chardonnay (the rooms in the Inn are all named after wine, and thus our room was "the Chardonnay")...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chrissy262014
blues966029, Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

Wow, how nice. Thank you for a great review and we look forward to seeing you again. Call us directly for our best rates.

Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 11 June 2016

Close to everything and great people that run the B&B. We had a few great breakfast with other friendly people that were staying at the Inn. And their was private parking at the Inn and only a few blocks walking to most activities and restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben1945
blues966029, Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

How nice! We are pleased that you had a good experience and hope to see you again. We will make sure you are on the return guest email list so you can see our special rates.

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 5 June 2016

We were booked for the Zinfandel room, I had told Susan that we were celebrating my husband's birthday and at check-in she upgraded us to the Champagne Suite. Great locations right in town, would definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suz64
blues966029, Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

Fabulous! Glad you both enjoyed the birthday stay! Thank you.

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 km away
Howland House Inn
Howland House Inn
#45 of 102 in Newport
4 reviews
0.2 km away
Newport Blues Inn
Newport Blues Inn
#29 of 102 in Newport
156 reviews
0.0 km away
Pelham Court Hotel
Pelham Court Hotel
#24 of 102 in Newport
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Almondy Inn
Almondy Inn
#12 of 102 in Newport
327 reviews
0.4 km away
Inn on Bellevue
Inn on Bellevue
#13 of 102 in Newport
462 reviews
0.2 km away
Historic Hill Inn
Historic Hill Inn
#34 of 102 in Newport
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Black Duck Inn is a unique and modern inn with updated amenities. This charming inn provides the luxuries of a hotel while maintaining the quaintness of a bed and breakfast. Black Duck Inn is our closest inn the Thames Street! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Black Duck Inn

Address: 29 Pelham St, Newport, RI 02840-3018
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Price Range: €92 - €325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Black Duck Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Black Duck Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in the 2 bedroom unit. Very nice for 2 couples or 2 friends”
 of 5 bubbles spierce77, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Second floor is quieter during breakfast hours.”
 of 5 bubbles EricaH24, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I would like to see a higher toilet. I am older and this would be helpful.”
 of 5 bubbles CarolynMM_13, 31 May 2016 | Read review
“We had an upstairs room and did not here a sound, even though the B & B was full”
 of 5 bubbles spierce77, 19 May 2016 | Read review
“Splurge on the Meritage Suite .”
 of 5 bubbles judithh560, 18 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5