We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Francis Malbone House Inn

Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Management photos
Francis Malbone House Inn
Francis Malbone House Inn
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,120 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,114: English reviews
Start your review of Francis Malbone House Inn
 Click to rate
new haven, ct
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We're not strangers to Newport, and have stayed at many B&B's there over the years. This was our first at Francis Malbone House. I can't understand how that happened, but better late than never. This is now our place in Newport. Everything is perfection, down to the smallest detail, and Will and his staff are just wonderful. Bill Doyle and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bill d
Stamford, Connecticut
INNKEEPER’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 15 September 2016

The Location, atmosphere, staff, FOOD and the room were all just perfect. We generally pick a new location every time we stay in Newport, but it looks like we have found our favorite. Newport is a great place to see and stay. And there are so many places to choose from, it can be a little overwhelming. So I'm telling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ShakeNjake
About Innkeeper's Favourite Review
Innkeeper02840, Manager at Francis Malbone House Inn, responded to this review

Dear ShakeNjake, I am glad your search is over! Consider this your home away from home while in Newport. Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. Newport is a great community and there is so much to do. We are happy you enjoyed all we have to offer at the Malbone House. We look forward...

Pearl River, New York
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The road to perfection will lead you to the Francis Malbone House. It is said that the devil is in the details and the Francis Malbone house gets it right. From the extensive and delicious breakfast, the amazing afternoon tea, beautifully appointed & spotless rooms, friendly atmosphere, you will marvel and not want to leave. They are located by the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We spent a very special birthday weekend at the Malbone House... as always-- Will, Mary Ellen, Ann Marie and everyone affiliated with this property went above and beyond to make our stay extraordinary... it is more than just a B & B... superlative in every way.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 299kellieg
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewed 1 week ago

What a jewel this B & B is! The location is perfect for seeing everything Newport has to offer! We walked everywhere...our room was beautiful and the bed, heavenly...Be sure to bring your appetite...breakfasts are over the top and afternoon tea is incredible...you will not go hungry here! Found all the staff extremely helpful and they went over the top...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mpkliber
Francis M, Manager at Francis Malbone House Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mpkliber, It was so nice meeting both of you and having our daily conversations. We are thrilled you enjoyed Newport and took advantage of all it has to offer. The sailing weather worked out beautifully and luckily you were able to fit it in. As you mentioned, we are fortunate to be located in downtown Newport. It is so...

Oakdale, Connecticut
Reviewed 1 week ago

this place is perfect. the building is old, beautiful and well maintained. Close to everything. They have a nice breakfast. You can get your own table. I like that. I do not like sitting at big breakfast table with strangers first thing in the morning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jennydog2016
Francis M, Owner at Francis Malbone House Inn, responded to this review

Jennydog2016, Thank you for reviewing us. Glad we were able to accommodate you at a single table for breakfast. Come see us again soon! Will

Abilene, Texas
Reviewed 1 week ago

The adventure of five women from Texas was perfect due to Will and his staff at the Malbone House. They had the perfect suggestions for our itinerary including reservations for lunch and dinner at outstanding restaurants in Newport. The rooms are beautiful, the breakfasts were incredible and the afternoon teas, no matter how much we tried to avoid, were irresistible!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dbsmedia
Francis M, Owner at Francis Malbone House Inn, responded to this review

The entire staff wants me to call you and invite you back asap! We so enjoyed you all and pleased you were so happy with your stay. You sure packed a lot in each day! Thank you for staying with us and we hope you have a successful season at the store! Will

Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have been staying at this beautiful inn for almost 15 years. We just went back this weekend to celebrate a birthday and it did not disappoint. The rooms are extremely comfortable and the inn is very well taken care of. Desserts and tea were offered in the afternoon. The extra touch of chocolate-covered strawberries welcoming us when we returned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank K Z
Francis M, Owner at Francis Malbone House Inn, responded to this review

KZ, Thanks for returning year after year! Sorry I missed you on Sunday. We appreciate all of your kind words and look forward to seeing you in the Fall. Enjoy the boat this summer! Glad D had a nice birthday. Regards, Will

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This wonderful B&B was incredibly comfortable. We wanted a relaxing long weekend away and they absolutely delivered. They have surrounded their property with lovely gardens and the food was always delicious, both at breakfast and for tea. Their location among the major shopping and restaurants was an added bonus.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cathy O
Francis M, Owner at Francis Malbone House Inn, responded to this review

Cathy O, We are so glad you had a comfortable and relaxing weekend. Come stay with us again when it is fireplace season!! Have a nice summer- Will

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We recently stayed at the Inn for the first time and had a lovely visit. Being RI residents, we had not yet stayed at a Newport B and B. The room was beautiful and we did not hear any street noise. It is located within walking distance of downtown and wharf areas and convention free parking. Most importantly, the Inn...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ricky B
Francis M, Owner at Francis Malbone House Inn, responded to this review

Ricky B, So glad you made the long trip to Newport from RI ! We are very lucky to live in such a beautiful community! We are pleased we met your high standards and look forward to hosting you both again. Don't forget we are open year round if you need a quick escape (and the rates are lower too!...

706 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (175)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (75)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (496)
Viewed
Counting House Suite (67)
Viewed
Courtyard Room (40)
Viewed
Courtyard Suite (69)
Viewed
Gardenside Room (47)
Viewed
Harborside Room (50)
Viewed
Newport Room (Peach) (52)
Viewed
Newport Room (Yellow) (45)
Viewed
The Hotel (126)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (12)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
1,952 reviews
0.6 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.9 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
1.6 km away
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
0.7 km away
Hydrangea House Inn
Hydrangea House Inn
#4 of 95 in Newport
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Luxury Colonial Mansion in the heart of downtown Newport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Francis Malbone House Inn

Address: 392 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6604
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Price Range: €212 - €422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Francis Malbone House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Francis Malbone House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Malbone House Hotel Newport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Francis Malbone House Inn staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
East Windsor, New Jersey
2 months ago
East Windsor, New Jersey
2 months ago
Needham, MA
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Francis Malbone House Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No elevator in this historic B&B. Opt for courtyard rooms if you cannot do stairs.”
192annm, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“all rooms are nice”
jennydog2016, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“The Courtyard Suite was delightful. It was cool so we often used the fireplaces. Spacious and cozy all at the same time.”
dbsmedia, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“This was our second visit. First visit we were in Room 7 and this last visit we were in room 4. Both were just fine.”
paulcahill40, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“At this time of year the front was quiet but I guess it is different in the summer season”
jillpardey, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Booking.com
Hotwire.com
Orbitz.com
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates