We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Yankee Peddler Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Yankee Peddler Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

200 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Yankee Peddler Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 178: English reviews
Texas
Reviewed 25 June 2016

I know the term economic has been used when describing the coach house rooms. Sorry but economic to me is Motel 6 at under $100, NOT a very small room with only one light, poor mattress, and at cost of over $250/night. The customer service was great-very nice guy at desk. There was wine and cheese at 5P with an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TexasFiona
Laura C, Manager at Yankee Peddler Inn, responded to this review

Dear TexasFiona -- I am glad to hear you enjoyed our wonderful staff, continental breakfast and complimentary wine & cheese but sorry you didn't consider the Yankee Peddler Inn to be the sort of "value" you were seeking. You are correct that inns and hotels located in central historic Newport are priced quite differently from Motel 6 which is located...

Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 June 2016

We booked this thru the local visitor centre, which were very helpful On check in the women (sorry I don’t Remember her name) was very helpfully, with things to do and see in the area, also places to eat. They also offers us a choose of 2 rooms, we chose the large room in the coach house, which was on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Still49
Laura C, Manager at Yankee Peddler Inn, responded to this review

Dear Still49 -- Thank you for very much staying with us. We are always grateful when guests take time to share their experiences -- and, in your case, photos as well! I am glad you enjoyed Room 19 in the Carriage House -- I happen to know that was your room, as it is the only Carriage House room with...

Ashland, Virginia
Reviewed 28 October 2015

We had a OK stay at this inn. Didn't realize when we made reservation that we would be on third floor. Room was OK, but needed electrical system updated, as the TV only worked if you really shoved the plug into the outlet. They used extension cords, which was kind of scary, so we decided not to watch TV. Location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ktmccaf
Laura C, Manager at Yankee Peddler Inn, responded to this review

Dear ktmccaf -- Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Newport. I am glad you enjoyed our central location in the historic district, continental breakfast, etc., but sorry if being on the third floor was not your ideal. Our "Standard" rooms are indeed located on the second and third floors. Many guests actually request the third floor...

Valley Stream, New York
Reviewed 28 October 2015

the customer service was wonderful, they advised me on what to see and do. also where to park and maximize my stay. we were so happy with there advise. The also upgraded me which was so nice. it was in a great location

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maggie13042
Laura C, Manager at Yankee Peddler Inn, responded to this review

Thank you, maggie13042. It was our pleasure to host you and to offer all the advice we could to make your time in historic Newport enjoyable. So glad you enjoyed your room upgrade! When we have the availability to do so, it makes us happy to give guests that extra value and special treatment. We hope you'll come see us...

Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewed 26 October 2015

My stay at the Yankee Peddler Inn was very nice. Nothing extraordinary, but I picked it for it's location as I was staying in the area for a wedding at the nearby Viking Hotel. The Yankee Peddler is a great value considering the area. The continental breakfast was passable, but really just average. I encountered a few frozen hard boiled...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steffiedear
Laura C, Manager at Yankee Peddler Inn, responded to this review

Dear steffiedear -- Thank you for staying with us and for taking time to share your impressions. I am pleased you enjoyed our central location in the heart of historic Newport and that you feel we offer a good value -- those are two very important considerations! That said, there is always room for improvement, and we take all suggestions...

Valley Forge
Reviewed 20 October 2015

We chose this place due to it's location - easy walk to downtown, and it's price. We stayed in the carriage house and were disappointed in the room. We expected it to be small, which it was, but it had no ambiance at all. Also, the building was very hot and we could not regulate the temperature. It was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank valleyforgejanice
Laura C, Manager at Yankee Peddler Inn, responded to this review

Dear valleyforgejanice -- We were very sorry to hear of your disappointment. Carriage House rooms may be our most economical option, but the last thing we want is an unsatisfied guest. If only we had known the room was too warm for your comfort while you were here, we might have been able to remedy the situation or perhaps move...

Lake Forest, Illinois
Reviewed 18 October 2015 via mobile

My family has been staying at the Yankee peddler for over 30 years. I was there for one night on a business trip and could not believe how run down it has become. I stayed in the cottage and electrical cords were hanging all over. The bathroom had mold, see photos. And the front door had a vacuum next to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sarah O
Laura C, Manager at Yankee Peddler Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sara O -- We are truly dismayed and sorry that your recent experience did not measure up to your many previous visits. You will be pleased to know the Carriage House, where you stayed, is undergoing a new paint job at this very moment. Each year we make MANY improvements, in fact, but for the past couple of seasons...

Reviewed 10 October 2015

We stayed at the Yankee Pedlar inn for 2 nights following the reviews on Trip Advisor. As other guests have commented the location was perfect for seeing Newport. We also found the staff very helpful and courteous. However, we were extremely disappointed with our room which was in the main house (room 5). The decor and furnishings were very dated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luba L
Crickhowell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2015

We stayed at the inn for one evening. The staff were very helpful with restaurant suggestions. The room was clean and warm ( the weather was very wet and cold). Breakfast was a little basic but was what was advertised- continental.the location is very central to Newport village. Good value. Would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheley B
St. Louis
Reviewed 27 September 2015

We would echo many of the recent reviews, that the location is excellent, everything within easy walking distance. The staff is very friendly, and C. J. at the desk was helpful in providing recommendations on dining. The breakfast is advertised as continental, and we found it to be just fine. Our room was a bit small, but that is the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leftee2202

598 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (533)
Viewed
Carriage House Room #17 (46)
Viewed
Carriage House Room #19 (53)
Viewed
Deluxe Room #14 (48)
Viewed
Deluxe Room #6 (51)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
Superior Room #1 (52)
Viewed
Superior Room #2 (51)
Viewed
Superior Room #7 (56)
Viewed
Superior Suite #3 (76)
Viewed
The Hotel (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 km away
Hilltop Inn
Hilltop Inn
#10 of 96 in Newport
114 reviews
0.1 km away
Kitt Shepley House 1932
Kitt Shepley House 1932
#47 of 96 in Newport
22 reviews
0.7 km away
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
#7 of 96 in Newport
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Jailhouse Inn
Jailhouse Inn
#19 of 96 in Newport
276 reviews
0.4 km away
Pelham Court Hotel
Pelham Court Hotel
#25 of 96 in Newport
124 reviews
0.3 km away
America's Cup Inn
America's Cup Inn
#24 of 96 in Newport
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A cozy, casual, authentic inn offering 20 guestrooms in the heart of Newport's "Historic Hill" neighborhood. Excellent location three blocks from the waterfront, wharves and Bellevue Avenue. Easy walk to restaurants, shops and downtown historic attractions. Parking, continental breakfast and wifi included -- and guests love the rooftop deck! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Yankee Peddler Inn

Address: 113 Touro St., Newport, RI 02840
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Price Range: €95 - €252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yankee Peddler Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Yankee Peddler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yankee Peddler Hotel Newport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Yankee Peddler Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Yankee Peddler Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Short walk to the harbor”
 of 5 bubbles patrickfws, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“You must be able to do stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles 239dianeb, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“3rd floor has a nice large open balcony”
 of 5 bubbles lpz2014, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“First floor room 3 has 2 bedrooms.”
 of 5 bubbles 755STEVEH, 9 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The carriage house with five rooms, provides lots of privacy and you should not be concerned about waking up the entire house.”
 of 5 bubbles yorellana, 6 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5